We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ybout611393

Home away from home.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jul 2023
What a beautiful homely place, with warm and helpful staff. Thank you for the warm reception, the delicious food, I really felt like I was home. I definitely will be coming back to Melkboomsdrift Guest House.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jul 2023
Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
We do home cooking like your mama did, country cuisine.
WE are looking forward to your next visit with is
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 960
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 898
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 892
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 960
0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Pool
POOL Area
R 1 055
R 950
  • Priceline
    R 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 950
28.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
28.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
Closed in winter or
if water restrictions requirement
R 979
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 979
28.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 650
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 650
7.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
courtyard area
R 750
  • Priceline
    R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
31.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
31.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
R 965
  • eDreams
    R 965
  • Vio.com
33.7 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Room service
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 000
31.9 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Aant Dorpseind
R 999
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 999
  • Agoda.com
    R 999
32.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vredendal
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
188
83
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
188
83
14
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2023

Slightly off the main beaten track you can find this hidden gem. If you are after some peace and tranquillity this is for you. The guesthouse is hidden just off the banks of the Oliphant's River and provides guests with great South African hospitality and food (like only your mama can cook). We had a lovely stay with a warm welcome and the most amazing views.

Room tip: The pool was bit cold, but expected this time of the year, I can only imagine it would be a lovely addition in the warmer summer months.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

We are thrilled to have you as part of our family Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback. Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2023

This is a hospitable guest house that provides great service and a peaceful environment. It has stunning views and very friendly staff. They think of everything to make your stay a lovely one. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sicelomlangeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

“We are overjoyed that our staff made your stay so memorable.
Customer service is everything to us, and it’s made my day to hear you had such a pleasant stay.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2023

I had a great time staying at your guest house. The atmosphere was awesome, the staff gave a great service and the friendly staff made is so easy for to out reach out to them, the rooms are beautiful and I slept like a baby. The food was to die for. I am a foodie and I had a ball. Thank you for the awesome experience.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank komaneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Melkboomsdrift.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

Outstanding hospitality
Such willingness to help
Accomodation very casual and sufficient
Food , home cooking
Liezel a treasure, a help and could read context and customer needs so well
What a pleasant stay
Dining area very characteristic
Staff go out of their way to assist
Thank you!

Room tip: No load shedding facility other than a lamp And sometimes no water when load shedding But the staff and venue make up for any shortcomings
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sergioa549
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

Liezel is indeed a special lady and one of our greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift. Someone you can count on 24/7/365
Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments. That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day! It was a pleasure to have you. The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2023

I went on a business trip to Lutzville and stayed overnight at this amazing little gem. It surpassed any expectation I had in my mind. The room was beautiful, neat and had a lot of character. The staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They clearly have a passion for clients. The food was amazing - old school and hearty meals with plenty of flavour. To highlight the owner, manager (Stefan - apologies if I misspelt it) and James (server) - were amazing. Perfect venue for a little getaway.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jet40153906227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2023

“Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments.
That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!
It was a pleasure to have you.
The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews