We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Loola B
London, United Kingdom

Room with a rural view

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 May 2023
Slightly off the main beaten track you can find this hidden gem. If you are after some peace and tranquillity this is for you. The guesthouse is hidden just off the banks of the Oliphant's River and provides guests with great South African hospitality and food (like only your mama can cook). We had a lovely stay with a warm welcome and the most amazing views.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: The pool was bit cold, but expected this time of the year, I can only imagine it would be a...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jul 2023
We are thrilled to have you as part of our family Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback. Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Dining room
    12.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Garden
      11.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      73.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • eDreams
      0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      At Dassie Den, sit on comfortable loungers on your deck, observing the magnificent Cederberg roc
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      84.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      78.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      78.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
      33.7 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Room service
      View more hotels in Vredendal
      Reviews (291)
      Filter reviews
      291 results
      Traveller rating
      185
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      185
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      32 - 37 of 291 reviews
      Reviewed 10 May 2023

      This is a hospitable guest house that provides great service and a peaceful environment. It has stunning views and very friendly staff. They think of everything to make your stay a lovely one. I highly recommend it.

      Date of stay: May 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank sicelomlangeni
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

      “We are overjoyed that our staff made your stay so memorable.
      Customer service is everything to us, and it’s made my day to hear you had such a pleasant stay.”

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 May 2023

      I had a great time staying at your guest house. The atmosphere was awesome, the staff gave a great service and the friendly staff made is so easy for to out reach out to them, the rooms are beautiful and I slept like a baby. The food was to die for. I am a foodie and I had a ball. Thank you for the awesome experience.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank komaneth
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

      Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Melkboomsdrift.
      Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

      Outstanding hospitality
      Such willingness to help
      Accomodation very casual and sufficient
      Food , home cooking
      Liezel a treasure, a help and could read context and customer needs so well
      What a pleasant stay
      Dining area very characteristic
      Staff go out of their way to assist
      Thank you!

      Room tip: No load shedding facility other than a lamp And sometimes no water when load shedding But the staff and venue make up for any shortcomings
      Date of stay: April 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank sergioa549
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2023

      Liezel is indeed a special lady and one of our greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift. Someone you can count on 24/7/365
      Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments. That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day! It was a pleasure to have you. The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 March 2023

      I went on a business trip to Lutzville and stayed overnight at this amazing little gem. It surpassed any expectation I had in my mind. The room was beautiful, neat and had a lot of character. The staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They clearly have a passion for clients. The food was amazing - old school and hearty meals with plenty of flavour. To highlight the owner, manager (Stefan - apologies if I misspelt it) and James (server) - were amazing. Perfect venue for a little getaway.

      Date of stay: March 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Jet40153906227
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2023

      “Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments.
      That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!
      It was a pleasure to have you.
      The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
      Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
      Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 March 2023 via mobile

      The staff at Melkboomsdrift are what makes a normal stay away from home, turn into a fantastic experience. Stefano and Liezl treated us like VIP's. Their attention to detail and genuine concern about their guest's well-being is refreshing to see. The meals enjoyed in the dining lapa were delicious. The staff were very attentive. I would certainly recommend this place for anyone wanting to relax in beautiful surroundings and enjoy home comforts whilst on a business trip, Melkboomsdrift will not disappoint. Thank you to Stefano and your competent team.

      Date of stay: March 2023
      Trip type: Travelled on business
      Thank Vacation60406858183
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2023

      We are thrilled to have you as part of the family
      Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Melkboomsdrift Guesthouse
      We are always here to help and sort you out.
      Good that have feel better, and we are looking forward to host you again.
      Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews