We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sergio A
Johannesburg, South Africa

Great overnighter ( or longer)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2023via mobile
Outstanding hospitality
Such willingness to help
Accomodation very casual and sufficient
Food , home cooking
Liezel a treasure, a help and could read context and customer needs so well
What a pleasant stay
Dining area very characteristic
Staff go out of their way to assist
Thank you!
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: No load shedding facility other than a lamp And sometimes no water when load shedding But the...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 29 Jul 2023
Liezel is indeed a special lady and one of our greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift. Someone you can count on 24/7/365
Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments. That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day! It was a pleasure to have you. The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 960
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 960
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 960
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 960
0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Pool
POOL Area
R 950
  • Expedia.com
    R 950
  • Hotels.com
    R 934
  • Priceline
28.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
28.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming pool
Closed in winter or
if water restrictions requirement
R 1 033
R 979
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 033
28.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 200
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 200
  • Priceline
7.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 650
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 650
7.6 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
courtyard area
R 750
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • Priceline
31.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 965
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    R 965
33.7 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Room service
R 1 500
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 500
31.9 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Aant Dorpseind
R 999
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 999
  • Priceline
32.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Vredendal
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
185
83
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
83
14
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2023

I went on a business trip to Lutzville and stayed overnight at this amazing little gem. It surpassed any expectation I had in my mind. The room was beautiful, neat and had a lot of character. The staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. They clearly have a passion for clients. The food was amazing - old school and hearty meals with plenty of flavour. To highlight the owner, manager (Stefan - apologies if I misspelt it) and James (server) - were amazing. Perfect venue for a little getaway.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jet40153906227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2023

“Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments.
That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!
It was a pleasure to have you.
The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2023 via mobile

The staff at Melkboomsdrift are what makes a normal stay away from home, turn into a fantastic experience. Stefano and Liezl treated us like VIP's. Their attention to detail and genuine concern about their guest's well-being is refreshing to see. The meals enjoyed in the dining lapa were delicious. The staff were very attentive. I would certainly recommend this place for anyone wanting to relax in beautiful surroundings and enjoy home comforts whilst on a business trip, Melkboomsdrift will not disappoint. Thank you to Stefano and your competent team.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Vacation60406858183
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2023

We are thrilled to have you as part of the family
Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Melkboomsdrift Guesthouse
We are always here to help and sort you out.
Good that have feel better, and we are looking forward to host you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

Really great place.
Welcoming and friendly staff.
Amazing views across the valley and river and overall great location.
Clean bright rooms with excellent showers.
Great dinner and breakfast offering.
Can’t fault it.
Would stay again longer for sure.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank williamrH1363KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2023

We are overjoyed that our staff made your stay so memorable.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2023

We stayed a night in December as a stopover on the way to Namibia. It was the perfect spot. Beautiful scenery and nice clean rooms. It has a nice bar and restaurant with a small pool. The food was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeterVis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2023

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2023

What a beautiful guest house.
Lovely and clean room, perfect for a family of three.
Friendly bar and restaurant staff. We had a yummy dinner and breakfast. Peaceful surroundings and refreshing pool, especially after five hours of driving.
We really enjoyed our quick stopover on the way to Cape Town.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mariette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2023

Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

We are looking forward to your stay again with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews