We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Velandre
East London, South Africa

Lovely getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Jan 2023
The views are absolutely spectacular, the rooms are comfortable and spacious, the staff (Malcolm) was so friendly and accommodating and even though we stayed over the New Years period, the noise levels were always at a respectable level.
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Take rechargeable lights with incase of loadshedding.Be mindful that the premises is pet friendly.
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Malcolm is indeed a special person and one of our greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift.
Someone you can count on 24/7/365
I am so glad he made your stay memorable and that you relaxed en rest here.

Hope to see you again.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Dining room
    12.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Garden
      11.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      R 1 989
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • Priceline
      0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      POOL Area
      R 955
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      • Booking.com
      28.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Front View
      R 1 033
      Fully refundable
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      • Booking.com
      32.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Pool
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      73.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      83.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      At Dassie Den, sit on comfortable loungers on your deck, observing the magnificent Cederberg roc
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      84.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      78.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Vredendal
      Reviews (291)
      Filter reviews
      291 results
      Traveller rating
      185
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      185
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      41 - 46 of 291 reviews
      Reviewed 8 November 2022

      We had a lovely sleep-over at Melkboomsdrift. Everything is neat, well-equipped and staff are very helpful. Dinner in the restaurant offers beautiful views over the valley. We stayed in the "river chalets" as named on the website, but they are a few 100 meters from the main complex in the orchard which gives a lot of privacy.

      Date of stay: October 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank hendrik368
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2022

      "Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments.
      That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day!
      It was a pleasure to have you.
      The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 November 2022

      I stayed at Melkboomsdrift Guest House on business for a few days. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the view and surroundings are beautiful, the food is great, and everyone is very friendly and attentive to your needs. Would highly recommend it.

      Date of stay: October 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank cisco_itu
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2022

      Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review.
      We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day.
      So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.
      Regards Mlekboomsdrift Team

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 29 October 2022

      We were not expecting to find such a nice place and outside the town.
      We managed to relax and enjoy the vineyard views after work. I wish we had stayed for a bit longer.
      We are coming back again soon.

      Date of stay: October 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank MokgatlaMORA
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2022

      Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
      Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
      Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 24 October 2022

      fantastic guesthouse with views in a relaxed setting, hosts go out of their way to make sure you have the best experience, all staff friendly and smiling
      breakfasts are value for money and yummy
      I will be back again

      Date of stay: October 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank westmanh
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2022

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back with us.
      The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful.
      Welcome to the Melkboomsdrift family.
      We are looking forward to host you again.
      Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 14 October 2022

      They provide warm dinner if you like to have one, the Chef know what they doing they prepare your breakfast while you wait and have a choice to choose how will you like your egg to be done. The staff very friendly and professional.

      Date of stay: October 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank tshilasb
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Stefan Bekker, General Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2022

      Thank you very much for your beautiful response.
      It is always nice to have guests like you and that makes it all worth while.
      Welcome to our Melkboomsdrift Family.

      Regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews