We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Davidbignose!
Woodstock, Vermont

Personal smaller property with cheery staff and good beds, a/c and delightful garden and small pool.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2020
We have stayed twice on our way to/from Namibia and found the place to be delightful and personal. Our room was spacious, excellent king size bed, clean and quiet. The super served simple and tasty. Good wi-fi and cable tv.

We could not fault the value for money offered and feel that the place is an oasis in a sea of tomatoes and vines.
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liezel Bekker, Agency / Consultant at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. It means the world to us and to our entire team!
Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark!
We are looking forward towards your next stay

Regards

Melkboomsdrift
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Dining room
    12.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Garden
      11.1 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      POOL Area
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • ZenHotels.com
        R 1 011
      • Booking.com
      28.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      73.8 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Booking.com
      • eDreams
      0.0 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      At Dassie Den, sit on comfortable loungers on your deck, observing the magnificent Cederberg roc
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      84.2 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      78.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      78.5 km from Melkboomsdrift Guest House
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Vredendal
      Reviews (291)
      Filter reviews
      291 results
      Traveller rating
      185
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      185
      83
      14
      5
      4
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews guest house cape town olifants river excellent stay beautiful place pleasant stay hidden gem stay there again stunning views electric blankets peaceful surroundings enjoyed our stay comfortable rooms business trip south africa beautiful room warm hospitality
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      135 - 140 of 291 reviews
      Reviewed 20 February 2020

      Very friendly hosts that go out of their way to accommodate you. Comfortable rooms providing everything you might need. Great ambiance. I have stayed there twice. It is for me the preferred place to stay when up in that area.

      Date of stay: February 2020
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank yvettephillips2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Liezel Bekker, Agency / Consultant at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

      Thank you for the wonderful review and for taking the time to share your feedback with Melkboomsdrift. Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure.
      We are looking forward towards your next stay.

      Regards
      Melkboomsdrift

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 February 2020

      Thank you so much. Beautiful location and lovey surroundings. I enjoyed breakfast as well and the service was good. No complaints at all. Keep up the great work. It's a lovely place to stay and relax. WiFi performance was good as well.

      Date of stay: February 2020
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank andymehale
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Liezel Bekker, Agency / Consultant at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

      We are thrilled to have you as part of the Melkboomsdrift family! Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. It means the world to us and to our entire team!
      Our aim is to keep you connected to the world from this beautiful wine region.
      We look forward to serving you again soon!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 February 2020

      Based on my regular travels across SA, this was one of our best stays. Great reception, with beautiful rooms and outdoor entertainment/

      Thanks, Liezel for a hearty welcome and great stay!
      hjvxjhvjhvjhvvv

      Date of stay: January 2020
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank tmbarnard
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Melkboomsdrift, Front Office Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020


      We are thrilled to have you as part of the Melkboomsdrift family! Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. It means the world to us and to our entire team!Liezel is indeed a special lady and one of the greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift. We look forward to serving you again soon!

      Regards

      Melkboomsdrift

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 19 January 2020

      Melkboomsdrift is a property that has great location and could get away with that alone, but thankfully the staff working there are the true gems. Nothing was too much for them to handle, everything was on point. The team was great but one stand out was Malcolm who was on the ball and made the stay even more special.

      Date of stay: January 2020
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank shane d
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      1807DigitalMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

      Thank you for taking the time to write this very uplifting review of our establishment. Malcolm is indeed a special human and one of the greatest team players here at Melkboomsdrift, someone we all know we can count on 24/7/365.

      It is so encouraging to receive a review lauding our services and personnel since we strive always to deliver only the best to ensure that every guest enjoys a 5 star experience with each and every visit.

      We look forward to hosting you again soon!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 26 December 2019

      We booked a house but ended up with 3 rooms which was totally unnecessary as we are a family of 4. We still had to pay for the 3 rooms, R3000 for one night is quite expensive. The staff did give us breakfast on the house which was a small consolation.

      Date of stay: December 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank retha767
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      1807DigitalMarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Melkboomsdrift Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

      Thank you for your review albeit that you appear to be confused in terms of the rates and conditions of your accommodation booked with our establishment.

      Your booking was for 4 pax at R750.00 per person sharing, which included our lavish breakfast. You were placed in one of our units which comprises a home with 3 double rooms and kitchen and lounge area, which is let on occasion as a self catering unit when guests book it as such. In most cases guests book the bedrooms on a bed and breakfast basis which was exactly the case with your party - 2 double rooms at ZAR1500 - including breakfast.

      We trust that the matter is clarified and look forward to hosting you again soon.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews