We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ellesmere, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AlexKent3...
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

As a party of four adults, two infants and two dogs we booked pear tree cottage for Easter bank holiday. The cottage was just big enough, clean,well equipped and had some great features including the mezzanine bedroom, original beams and quirky skylights.
great location, close to various towns and villages by car; Whitchurch and Llangollen being two of the larger tourist attractions, and on foot, close to ellesmere and its lakes, parks and farmland walks.
For larger parties there is an adjoining cottage too. Both equipped with decent outside seating and BBQ. There is also a large enclosed meadow area across the yard which was great for the dogs who enjoyed running around first thing in the morning and before bed.
Owner really friendly. Overall we had a great time and will be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having not holidayed in Shropshire before it was a bit of an unknown however what a hidden treat. Just over a mile from Ellesmere this cottage is in the middle of farm land. A lovely presented cottage with all you could need. The owner greeted us on arrival and said that if we needed anything just to ask. A beautiful cake was waiting for us and was soon demolished. We had bought our small terrier with us and she was free to roam the area around the cottage as well a the owners field opposite, again the owner was welcoming of her.
We would love to visit again.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Wellesbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely barn conversion which has everything you could need for a week away. The property was clean and well presented and the owners were very helpful prior to our holiday. There are 2 cottages at this location and we were not bothered during our stay but we had contact numbers and the owners are located just behind the property should they be needed.
The property is located well for Chester, Llangollen and the aqueducts and we also visited chirk castle.

This is our 3 rd visit and we would definitely recommend it - we stayed during May half term with our 2 daughters

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top relaxing 3 days”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was a last minute booking. So glad we did. We had a totally relaxing stay. The cottage is central to so many great Shropshire places. The layout is superb. The kids loved the mezzanine bed room. Our nine year old grand daughter said it is like a hometel :) We are already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout, location and relaxation
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing