We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful - would visit again.

Visited Mammoth cave national Park on our way from Louisville to Gatlinburg. For us, it was an... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Tnye2018
very nice quiet NP

Visited on a rainy day but it wasn't a problem as we were kept dry underground and in the forest... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
WTH9
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Read all 3 934 reviews
  
Reviews (3 934)
Filter reviews
3 934 results
Traveller rating
2 539
987
291
74
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 539
987
291
74
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dripstones tour national park in advance historic tour self guided tour visitor center ahead of time domes dripstones frozen niagara make reservations two hours hour tour on line stalactites and stalagmites bring a jacket above ground hiking trails
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3 934 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2021

Very nice park for hiking and picnicking. We did the cave tour, which is currently self guided only. It was a very nice tour through the cave, easy to walk through, nice paved walkways. The cave itself is not the most exciting, but we still had a good time.

Date of experience: March 2021
3  Thank rxmom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021

Very Disappointed. It's like the Griswalds going to Wally world!! We wasted so much money on gas and hotel, going there and find out there's only one set of tickets for 9:30 and space is limited. Feel sorry for those senior citizens and handicapped. Hiking trails are the only thing open unless you know how to use the internet and research the park info. The parking lot was not full and this country is losing money.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank meld808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2021 via mobile

We visited here whilst traveling through Kentucky, we paid $63 to go into the cave on a self tour, most sections were blocked off and honestly found this cave interesting by its size but in general rather boring, did not see any stalagmites or stalactites or anything that interesting, very small number of information boards etc. We were in and out the cave in 45 mins. The war memorial was probably the best feature in the cave.

This tour should 100% be included in the National Park Pass and is not really worth the price paid. They also charged $2 each for junior ranger guides and the ranger did not even get my kids to do the pledge after completing it! The exhibit was closed due to CV, no reason to close it if everyone had masks and practiced social distancing.

It seems this National Park just wants more and more money. Why they needed about 300 junior rangers throughout the cave I don’t know. We have also visited Carlsbad Caverns in NM and this is 100% better and more interesting. It’s difficult giving negative reviews to this natural wonder but the National Park management need to seriously sort this out if they want people to visit this park.

Date of experience: March 2021
2  Thank The_Travel_Family123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

The only tour currently available on the Recreation.gov website is the self-guided tour. This is a little bit of a misnomer as there are rangers in the cave every 200 yards. We were able to interact with the rangers and get all our questions answered. We drove up from Nashville for the day. Able to catch a morning cave tour (10:45) and still have time to see the National Corvette Museum in the afternoon. This is a great rainy day activity. The caves stay dry with a steady temperature around 55 degrees. Overall this was a fantastic day.

Date of experience: March 2021
5  Thank krogersku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021 via mobile

Went here on a Wed and caught the 2:45 self guided tour and it was good. As a result of COVID, most of the tours have been reduced to the single “self” guided tour. This doesn’t make it a bad experience, but you certainly see a smaller amount of the cave. Put that aside, it was a great experience to see underground caves of this size. You also weren’t really alone as rangers were posted inside the cave every 200 yards or so. This allowed you to stop and learn more about the cave. We learned about the orgins of this particular cave, the history of black tour guides dating back to the 1800’s, as well as falling rock possibilities. This made the tour more fun. I would recommend to see even though tours have been limited.

Cheers!

Date of experience: March 2021
3  Thank jackbauerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews