We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Cades Cove
from US$60,00
More Info
Reviews (5 275)
Filter reviews
5 275 results
Traveller rating
3 753
893
383
139
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 753
893
383
139
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the loop turkey saw deer middle of the road black beans abrams falls wild animals beautiful scenery traffic jam s cove grist mill take pictures mother bear slow drive beautiful drive long drive be patient
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 5 275 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

Over the years, the people visiting have grown more inconsiderate. Constant stopping and not pulling off, so holding up traffic while they snap a few photos of the 37th squirrel they pass...as if it were any different than the previous 36 they stopped to photo. It is no longer worth visiting...inconsiderate people have ruined this once great place to visit.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank wckdtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

We were staying in Pigeon Forge so it took us about an hour to get to Cades Cove? However the views of the river along the road is worth stopping n seeing without rushing on up to the valley area. Many pull-off points yield great points of interest like Meigs falls where there is a parking area. The cove is a 11 mile loop that takes you through the old settlement where homes, churches, and fields existed before people moved toward Gatlinburg. We saw deer, hawks, and lots of turkeys on the very slow traverse around the loop. Slow because of much traffic.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank S1849DHmichaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Cades Cove is truly a gorgeous area! It was a very rainy day when we visited, so we were not able to appreciate the surroundings, except through our car windows! Most of the wildlife must have been sheltering from the storm, as we only spotted a few deer and wild turkeys. Cades Cove is a popular attraction, so the narrow one-way roadway is busy and can be frustrating with the long lines of cars. There is a Visitors Center with bathrooms about halfway through the loop.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

We have been coming to the Smoky Mtn’s for 25 years. We always loved Cades Cove but it just isn’t worth the time any more. Up to about 10 years ago it was great. Lots of animals to see and traffic wasn’t bad. The last few years it has been terrible with hardly and animals out and the traffic is out of control. Yesterday it took over 3 hours to do the loop and that was taking one of the cut offs. You can’t get past people who constantly stop. In 3 hours there were a total of 3 deer out. If people kept moving it would help but people stop and everyone in line has to wait. Unless you have nothing better to do with 3-4 hour I would stay away.

Date of experience: December 2020
1  Thank mfisher1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

Everyone told us how this was a must do. We did it but won’t again. We left Pigeon Forge around 9 so we got there early. Nice drive after a snow a few days ago. Once in the park things went ok. Saw a few deer but nothing new to us. Traffic was ok. Stopped to do the Abrams Falls hike (trail hiking was why we went) and it was a 5 mile hike round trip to a great photo op. All good so far. Then when we got back the traffic was horrible. We were only about half way in the loop and it took forever to get out. Bumper to bumper. We saw the line of people coming in as we left and gave a “good luck but I’d turn around” wave to them.
Probably better places to hike to get in and out.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank hillyp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews