We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families ”

Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Grab n' Go sandwiches, salads, soups and gourmet local coffee. Tons of snacks, souvenirs and ice cream. Located next door to the Visitor Center at the Grand Canyon.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We booked the Yaki Tour on one day and the Hermit Tour on a different day. Both tours were easy to bike (mostly flat or downhill) and the guides were excellent.

We brought our own food and drinks however, the guides did bring extra water for riders.

The guides stopped periodically throughout both tours and would assist with taking pictures and educating us on the wildlife and the history of the Grand Canyon.

The cost was a bit steep for a family of 5 which is why I removed one star.

I’d recommend Bright Angel Bicycle tours to others as a fun family activity.

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright A, Manager at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi Mark!
We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our tour! Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Happy journey's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Recently my husband and I stopped into the Bright Angel Cafe for a bite and a coffee. My cappuccino was "okay" and pretty watery, but after visiting the park, the water was very likely better for me than the espresso (or percolated coffee...whatever). However, my husband ordered a salad. Seniors on the road need rouffage and he was not hungry, but wanted salad (or vegetables). Opting for salad he had a lovely charger plate (underplate) lined with a pretty paper doily and upon the doily a pitiful offering with some shredded carrot (very few slices) and some previously shaved purple cabbage on a piece of iceberg lettuce. Now the salad was approximated eight dollars. Really? He is just over 20 lbs and was shocked. Despite the mention on the menu of beans, none were present. Well, he is not one to complain, but he was underwhelmed. Our server, a young student from California, was more than sympathetic when I told him the salad was lacking. He offered up a second. Of course, it seems the kitchen lacked the necessary and a repeat was simply about 15 calories of carrot cum cabbage. Now the server, the host who greeted us, the other wait-staff filling up water glasses were ALL extremely congenial and helpful. I believe it is Xanterra or the contractor who orders up the ingredients that is responsible. AVOID buying food in the GCanyon. Carry water AND bread!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PRiver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

I gave this place "very good" and not "average" because the people at the bike shop were very nice and helpful. The café food was not very good.

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright A, Manager at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello Jennifer,

Sorry to hear that our café food was not to your liking or standards but we are very happy to hear that our customer service was so good that you gave us a higher rating! Thank you for writing a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We took the guided tour in early June and had a great time. Our guides Ken and Joe were full of information. The tour goes on a part of the park that is closed to consumer vehicles. Only the park bus system is allowed, so it is a nice quite ride and you stop at about 5 points and have great views of the western part of the south rim

Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright A, Manager at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello Tony!

We are glad you enjoyed our bike tour! Thank you for writing a review and happy journey's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Bright Angel Bicycles is the only vendor for bikes/bike tours at the Grand Canyon, but that's ok because they are doing an awesome job. My husband and I rented bikes and road the Hermit's Rest route. Bright Angel provided transportation to the starting point and picked us up at a designated location. We had the absolute best time riding on a road closed to all traffic but tour buses. We could stop when and where we pleased and take our time enjoying the indescribable Grand Canyon and taking pictures as long as we wanted. The morning ride was perfect, bright, beautiful sunshine, cool temperatures. We are late 50's and physically fit and this route was perfect for us. Bikes were in great condition and the helmets are sprayed and UVd after each use. Just an altogether great experience!

1  Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright A, Manager at Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hi Cathy!

We are so happy you and your husband were able to enjoy the Grand canyon using our services! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Happy journey's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Bright Angel Bicycles and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing