We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hike with Family”
Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$178,99*
and up
Grand Canyon Day Hike Tour from Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This was a challenging hike, but very worth the effort. The views were amazing. Going down is fairly easy. I have bad knees and can see how some might feel it on the way down. The tough part is on the way up. We made it to Cedar Point - about 1.5 miles down. We paced ourselves on the way back. I took my time while kids and hubby forged ahead.

Suggest lots of water and drinks with electrolytes - frequent stops for hydration. Best tip of all is to go early. Most of the trail was shaded early in am. We got to trailhead around 730 am. Took about 2 hours for the round trip hike. But as we ascended to the top we could see the trail exposed to sun most of the way. Hiking in full sun definitely would have changed our experience.

Following the hike we walked about 2.2 miles along the South Rim trail to the visitors center to catch everything we missed.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank teammandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ooh aah point"
in 221 reviews
"skeleton point"
in 199 reviews
"cedar point"
in 49 reviews
"bright angel"
in 197 reviews
"phantom ranch"
in 166 reviews
"south kaibab"
in 99 reviews
"ridge line"
in 14 reviews
"great hike"
in 83 reviews
"day hike"
in 99 reviews
"mule trains"
in 31 reviews
"grand canyon"
in 257 reviews
"hiking poles"
in 44 reviews
"start early"
in 33 reviews
"bring plenty of water"
in 37 reviews
"miles round trip"
in 30 reviews
"mule poop"
in 16 reviews
"turn around"
in 24 reviews
Filter

70 - 74 of 1 550 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We hiked the South Kaibab Trail to the bottom of the canyon. We took the hiker’s express bus and got to the trail at 7am. It took us 3 1/2 hours to get to the bottom. This trial is 7.5 miles to the phantom ranch and it feels like you are running down hill. My son is 14 and daughter is 11 and both had no problems. The views down into the canyon are just amazing.

The key thing to remember is that there is no water on this trail. I brought 3 liters and my kids 2 liters each and we were fine. We also brought lots of granola bars and trail mix which we stopped and ate about two thirds of the way down. Get going early and enjoy the views.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JKLS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Much quieter than Bright Angel and with similarly gorgeous views. Not a trail for first-time canyon hikers. Not much shade, steep, unforgiving ascent and ZERO water available. Most people hike to "OOH AAH" point and after that the trail is fairly empty. Highly recommended, but bring plenty of a water !

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank TheScanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

It is very warm and you need to pace yourself. THere is NO place to refill your water at the 1.5 mile bathrooms, unlike the Bright Angel Trail. Allow plenty of time to get out. It is a beautiful hike.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Scooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We did not realize how steep this hike was. We went down to Cedar Ridge, and it took about 2 hours round trip. Coming down, we thought it wouldn’t be too bad because we were in the shade when we started, but coming back up was very rough and we almost ran out of water. Wear good shoes/boots, and don’t push yourself. That being said, the views were very worth it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing