We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 21:00
Save
Review Highlights
Kayak expedition

The Everglades surprised us for good! Dave was a very good guide and the set up of the camping was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
301juanat
via mobile
Great 5 days in the Everglades

My husband and I went on the 5 day trip. We had a wonderful time. Dave and Adam took good care of... read more

Reviewed 7 March 2021
162katherineg
Read all 85 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Everglades National Park
from US$78,00
More Info
from US$126,33
More Info
from US$152,83
More Info
from US$90,68
More Info
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
70
13
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
13
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour sleeping bags highly recommend this trip plenty to eat camping equipment enjoyable adventure his assistant beautiful beach great trip shore birds airboat ride bird life fish dave paddle tents dolphins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We went with Dave K on the 3-day trip, which was a great choice for us, since we had never kayaked before. It was super fun, and the distance was really manageable!

On the first day, we kayaked out to a beach where we would stay the next two nights. Dave packed all the camping supplies and food, and sent us a list of what we needed to bring (the only thing we didn't already have was water shoes, but they were a great purchase). All of the equipment was in great shape. Dave's cooking was really good, and he obviously had a lot of experience leading this type of trips.

The second day we took a loop trip from the beach, visiting a mangrove tunnel. In the afternoon, we had a great time looking at shells and crabs in the tidal pools at the beach.
We saw a lot of ospreys in the nest and in flight, as well as herons, pelicans, and some funny jumping fish.

On the last day we sadly had to kayak back to the dock, but via a different (and extremely scenic!) route from the more direct path we took on the first day. After three great days it was a shame to leave the Everglades!

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

the trip was very enjoyable, Day 2 and Day 3. The camping equipment and kayaks were excellent, the food was more than adequate. The campsite was pristine with a lovely beach and views of both sunrise and sunset. The kayaking meandered around large lakes with mangroves all around. We watched an osprey sitting on a branch keeping us company most of the afternoon. Dave is very competent and we all felt very safe under his guidance.

At the outset, there was some confusion. My husband believed he reserved a double kayak but when we arrived, we were told there was no double kayak for us. I was very disappointed. The first day was very difficult for me as the current was very strong. My advice is to check and recheck with Dave prior to the trip to be sure you get what you want. Joyce B

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank jlwb523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave K, Owner at Florida Outdoor Adventures - Guided Everglades Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you Joyce for writing a review. I'm so sorry for the confusion and that you and Ron didn't get a double kayak. Everyone is absolutely able to use either a single or double, whatever they prefer. Just make sure you specify your choice on the reservation form when you make your booking to avoid any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I never knew that the Everglades were so wild and deserted. Our group hardly saw any other people during the five days we were paddling and camping. Amazing birds and sea life. Camping was comfortable and the mosquitos were manageable. Our guide, Dave, did a great job cooking and keeping us moving along. Loved it!

Date of experience: March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Perfect three day adventure for us and our daughter! Beautiful paddling, wildlife galore, camping on a beach, exploring mangroves, swimming, and of course the exceptional fresh food. Dave has this trip perfectly worked out and he is a pleasure to travel with. He is an exceptional guide and a really nice, easygoing guy who could relate to both the young and the old. I'd like to return for one of his longer trips. Thanks Dave!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

So much wildlife on this trip! We enjoyed the open water sea kayaking escorted by dolphins, rays, manatees, birds and jumping mullet. The mangrove tunnels were also fun to explore. Dave was a laid back guide who quietly made sure everyone was safe and together but could go at their own pace.

I have been on a few guided paddling trips over the years and Dave really impressed me with the little luxuries he was able to bring a long. Pillows, brie and wine, apple pie, and fresh fruit are a few examples. He is an excellent backcountry cook and his gear is great quality, the tents held strong in a blustery thunderstorm.

This trip and it was just the right length for going with an elementary school-aged child. She was enchanted by the entire experience. If you are not a seasoned paddler and plan to bring a child you might want to test out how it feels to paddle solo in a tandem kayak for 6 miles so you know what to expect.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Sansodhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews