We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
41
85
41
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
85
41
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tent camping death valley gravel lot wifi access closed due sites rv campers pits middle spring dv pros cons picnic texas desert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020

November 2018-Amazing! November 2019-Yuck. The good part is you have free access to their pool at the resort, which is your shower location also, but the showers can be a LOOONG line as the national park campers pay to use them also. Additionally (good) you are close to their restaurant and gift shop. Bad part the restroom (with 3 toilets) is co-ed, so our 9 year old grandaughter was uncomfortable going in with a guy going poop. The National Park Service bathrooms are close, so that is an option to walk a wee bit further and have mens and womens bathrooms.The National Park HQ are close which is nice. The bad part: They do not let you pick your own campsite and they will line you up next to each other with other campsites open. There are not individual picnic tables so you have to share and people will pull them into their area making them inaccessible. There are communal fire rings in the middle, but not individual. They have NO campground rules about generators (for RV people) so as a tenter it was awful. Now why Nov. 2019 was BAD. They had no power but did not inform us as we checked in, everything was on generator power, located NEAR the campground-it ran all night and it is not a small generator, we left a day early. Additionally they were awful about caring. They care about the hotel guests, but as a tenter forget anybody caring about you.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Journey608045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2019 via mobile

Pros
In Death Valley and central.
Gives access to a spring fed pool
Wifi access at resort but not at campground
Ok amenities
Next to visitors Center

Cons
Dry camping
Wifi was told accessible at campsite but absolutely not true
No site fire only communal
Restaurant staff and bar staff were rude an not helpful which was really disappointing considering our awesome DV experience

Overall a good stop but left not feeling the service. Hope this helps

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 949tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Next to Furnace Creek and run by the hotel. Only one hookup site. At first we were ready to balk at $24 a night for such a place. Then we found out the price includes the use of the hotel pool, grounds and showers. That made it well worth it. We lounged and swam laps (great pool and warm). Took two showers in 24 hours. We noticed the big remodel since our last visit. Did not try the restaurants. You can walk back and forth from facilities to the campground.

Camp sites are right on top of each other so no privacy at all and as said, they are bare, hot sand spots. A few have picnic tables and there are community fire rings.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 296almar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019

Simple parking lot type camping gets you close to the Death Valley hiking you want. The bathrooms leave something to be desired but there are other options ( NPS) bathrooms close too. The best part of this site is a 360 degree veiw of the most star filled sky you have evere seen. We were there for the astromomy event put on npby the Las Vegas Astromomy group and it was impressive!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Travel818750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2019

This campground worked for us, but i would not recommend it unless you cannot get into the park campground instead. It is a parking lot with large stone ground covering, only suited for RV's. Be prepared for people to run generators all night, even if there are rules against it there is nobody watching over the campground so people do whatever they want. And there is a lot of ambient light from the gas station and visitor center and golf course buildings, sad considering the great night sky at Death Valley.

The bathrooms are one building, all men and women mixed in together, with 3 stalls and 1 sink. It is bad, really bad.

We had 2 people in an RV, 1 in a van and 1 in a tent who had an off the ground cot, so it worked well for our group. Split 4 ways, the cost was almost nothing, and we got access cards for the pool and showers as part of the booking so that was actually really great.

Forget about anything said about including WiFi, there really isn't any signal at the campground and even at the hotel and restaurant area the bandwidth is so limited you can only use the signal at 3 in the morning.

Xanterra should either get rid of this campground completely, or put some effort into making it better. Seriously, not good.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews