We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
9
26
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
26
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lower loop flush toilets camping experience furnace creek death valley rvs privacy tent campers dishwashing gravel sites shoshone park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

The views from sites are wonderful, especially from the upper rv/trailer loop. We really appreciated that generators are not allowed, and it was a quiet campground. Would be more solitude at Mesquite Springs campground, but it is an hour north of Furnace Creek. Location of Texas Springs is central to hikes/drives throughout the park.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

Death Valley campgrounds lack charme and atmosphere as any guidebook will tell you. Texas Springs was therefore a welcome surprise. Slightly up the hill above busy Furnace Creek the lower loop reserved for tents offers at least a little bit of scenic appeal. It has a rustic traditional style restroom block with (fairly clean) flush toilets and a dishwashing station with potable water. The campsites feature mesquite bushes large enough to allow some shelter and privacy. The ground is gravel and quite hard so you have to either use big heavy rocks or bring that hammer for your pegs. Sudden strong gusts blew over a number of tents during my stay (and this was on a pleasant nice weather day)! A couple of short strolls get you up on those mud hills for an even better view of the sunset whereas the actual Sunset campsite seems to be a misnomer. I can’t see the appeal of watching something as romantic as a sunset from a car park. Texas Springs is definitely the better choice (where RVs still can get their car park environment on the upper loop but with a better view of those sunsets). It’s less than a couple of minutes drive to Texas Springs or you can just walk (bearing in mind that I did visit in December with daytime temperatures a pleasant 20 degrees Celsius).

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank ntalabany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

Good campground. Price is fair. Bathrooms are clean. I was here with a group of 12 and the only thing I'd say is some of the campers here want to be in complete silence. We had two different sets of people ask us to keep it down when we were not loud at all. The first time was at 8:00PM at night and the next time was at 11:00AM when we were playing Sublime at like a 3/10 on the radio as we were packing.

People, just because you hear sound, doesn't mean it's loud. And if you want total silence, don't stay in a campground with lots of other people. Remove said stick from thy bum. Honestly, I think it was because most of us were Mexican and old white people are scared and lame.

Date of stay: April 2019
3  Thank LuchaLibre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

We were lucky to get a spot here. The sites are close together and if you are lucky you might have a view. This campground is above the valley and was a bit cooler. There is water and bathrooms are clean. There is a dump station.

You might here coyotes at night.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8212jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018

So it's better than Furnace Creek as the views are much improved. But like FC, people don't seem to care about anyone else. Here, we found our neighbors talking out load every hour throughout the night. Then they got up at ~4:00am to make a fire! Yes, I suppose I could have chased down the campground host, but by then, it's too late.

FWIW, the whole park seems a bit like this.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank C_William_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews