We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Chinese food ever”
Review of China Chef

China Chef
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Just got a takeaway was dreadful fried rice was mushy overcooked, crispy shredded beef was stodgy and tasted like pickles, chow mein was more stodge and the rest was much better will not be going back there could if last Chinese in Devon yuk

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank 337shaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2020

Always go here rather than You and Me. Wonderful Singapore noodles, chicken balls and sesame prawn toast. Plenty of it and always hot. Thanks!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Flippingfish23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2020

I’ve had some bad Chinese food in my life but this somehow has managed to top it. Went in to order, the person who took the order was rude and zero knowledge of customer service. The chicken was foul and everything was soggy. And on top of that we had to wait 45 minutes for the order to be done. Even tho we ordered for 2 people. Oh and it’s very over priced for terrible quality food. Will definitely not be going back there, even if it was the only Chinese available !

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Goz0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019

We had a takeaway from China Chef whilst on holiday in the area, we had already had a takeaway from 'You and Me' the other Chinese takeaway in Ottery but we preferred this one.
The food was cooked to order whilst we waited and was fresh. The food was tasty, good quality and the portion sizes really generous. We enjoyed our takeaway.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MinnieM1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

We've just moved to the town. You and Me was closed tonight, so thought id try china chef. I so regret it.
We had 2 types of chow mein, a rice dice and 2 types of chicken sweet and sour dishes. None of them tasted like they should and we threw the most of it in the bin. If we are not ill tomorrow i will be surprised.
I am even more surprised that there was a queue when i walked in (usually a good sign on a sunday night).

The 'chef' who took my order was wearing a filthy apron, the place looks very tired and quite dirty and the manner of the service was quite rude. All a sign that there is little passion and a lack of pride in what they do.

But my biggest compliant is that the food was simply disgusting and the worst takeaway i have ever eaten.

AVOID

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank OtteryBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Chef also viewed

 
Ottery St. Mary, Devon
Ottery St. Mary, Devon
 

Been to China Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.