We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
55ChrisMA
London, United Kingdom

Kariega Safari - Settlers Drift

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 May 2024
Had an excellent Safari holiday at Settlers Drift. Very knowledgeable guide on the drives, animals sighted exceeded expectations including lions and cheetahs. Accommodation very good with views of the plain. Staff very friendly and helpful
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kariega Marketing, Marketing at Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed an excellent safari holiday and that you were so well looked after by our staff and your Guide. With warm regards from the Kariega Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Entrance to Woodlands Reception
R 865
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    R 865
10.2 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
Free parking
Pool
R 765
R 727
  • Priceline
    R 765
  • Agoda.com
    R 765
  • eDreams
    R 727
12.4 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 595
  • Priceline
    R 1 595
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 595
  • Vio.com
    R 1 592
12.8 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunwerkin Self Catering
R 1 300
    13.0 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    R 2 675
    R 2 180
    • Agoda.com
      R 2 675
    12.3 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    R 1 900
    • Priceline
      R 1 900
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 900
    12.8 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    R 12 540
    R 12 200
    • Expedia.com
      R 12 111
    • Hotels.com
      R 12 540
    • Agoda.com
      R 12 200
    8.0 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 15 157
    R 14 800
    • Hotels.com
      R 15 140
    • Expedia.com
      R 15 134
    • Priceline
      R 14 800
    8.1 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    Free parking
    Breakfast included
    R 15 140
    R 14 800
    • Hotels.com
      R 15 140
    • Expedia.com
      R 14 877
    • Priceline
      R 14 800
    2.9 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 9 176
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      R 9 172
    • Tripadvisor
      R 9 172
    12.8 km from Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
    Reviews (314)
    Filter reviews
    314 results
    Traveller rating
    306
    5
    1
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    306
    5
    1
    1
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews settlers drift tented suites our honeymoon luxury accommodation guide michael the main lodge out of this world unforgettable trip bath and shower safari experience kariega game reserve private dinner sundowner drinks whisked away electric blankets his knowledge lodge manager
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 314 reviews
    Reviewed 8 May 2024

    Went to Settlers Drift as part of our honeymoon. From start to finish the service and experience was exceptional!

    The game drives were amazing, Richard, our guide, his knowledge was above and beyond, and we had the most amazing experiences seeing so many animals. The best moment was seeing Cheetah and 2 cubs swimming across the river!!

    Date of stay: May 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Jon_nott123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kariega Marketing, Marketing at Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had the most amazing experience and that you were so well looked after by your Guide, Richard. With warm regards from the Kariega Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

    We had a great stay. The quality of the rooms, the food and the game drive were excellent. This park is very green and we saw a lot of respect for nature and wildlife conservation.

    Our guide Richard and all other employees of Settlers Drift have given us an unforgettable memory.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank 840martinev
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kariega Marketing, Marketing at Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your staff and that you were so well looked after by our staff and your Guide, Richard. With warm regards from the Kariega Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 April 2024

    Our trip in April was our second trip to South Africa in just over 12 months. During these trips we have visited 4 game/safari lodges and whilst they have been good, clearly to us, Settler's Drift is the best experience we have had. From the stunning scenery of wooded hills and grassy plains, set in a magnificent rivered valley, the variety of animals easily seen from up close, the quality of the the staff and their happiness and professionalism, the very high standard of the lodge and our accommodation cabin, the catering /restaurant facilities and the quality of the meals, and lastly but by no means, the least, the absolute love of his job, his knowledge and passion for the animals, birds and landscape, his ability to find targeted animals in such a huge game reserve and a great personality to go with these attributes, our guide, Wayne , was an absolute professional.
    If we return at any time, Settler's Drift will be our only destination.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Peter B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kariega Marketing, Marketing at Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

    WOW!! Thank you so much for wonderful review and for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted that you had such a stunning experience and that you were so well looked after by our staff and in particular your Guide, Wayne. We would certainly love to host you again should you return at any time. With warm regards from the Kariega Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 March 2024 via mobile

    We have just stayed at Settlers Drift for three nights on our honeymoon and there are not enough superlatives to describe our stay. From the wonderful staff to our exceptional guide Michael, every aspect of our stay has been perfect and beyond our expectations. We experienced some breathtaking moments on our game drives that will stay with us for the rest of our lives and the lovely couples we were lucky to share some of the experience with. Thank you for everything, Kariega!

    Room tip: Cherish every minute - every game drive is different and offers something new!
    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank tomjmid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kariega Marketing, Marketing at Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon with us and that you were so well looked after by our staff and in particular your Guide, Michael. With warm regards from the Kariega Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 March 2024

    We stayed for 3 nights at Kariega Settlers Drift. This is true luxury tented safari experience with all food/beverages/drives included. Our guide Gladman was excellent - very knowledgeable and made us feel safe with the animals at all times. Lions, Cheetah, Elephants, Cape Buffalo and even Hippos along with Giraffe and plenty of other plains animals (warthogs antelope etc) A magical experience. Expensive but well worth it.

    Date of stay: March 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Thegilmours
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kariega Marketing, Marketing at Kariega Game Reserve-Settlers Drift, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2024

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that your stay was a magical experience and that you were so well looked after by your Guide, Gladman. With warm regards from the Kariega Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews