We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$486
US$432
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$514
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The House Quarters(Kenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Manor B & B(Kenton-on-Sea)
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers(Kenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$29
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$745
US$724
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$616
US$599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Intaka Bird Lodge(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
127
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssettlers drifttented lodgeluxury safari experienceherd of elephantsour honeymoonwet towelsevery aspectinfinity poolbush walkthe main lodgenice wineprivate dining experienceglass showeramazing driverright place at the right timeamazing placeboat transfer
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

With the multitude of different reserves we have visited in the past this was our 4th visit to Kariega although our first stay at Settlers Drift. Not surprised in as far as the welcome, Game rangers, and staff were all as we previously remembered and just went the extra mile. Game Drives were excellent. Unfortunately the kings were sleeping but who could blame them after a successful wildebeest kill and feast that night .

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge close to the Main lodge, unless you feel you need the exercise.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RodandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Stunning in every way. A really magical experience. Rooms are truly amazing, food was first class and the games drives were one a life time experience. Our range Wayne was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, as were all the staff in fact. You do feel the exclusivity

Room Tip: There is only 9 rooms, all stunning
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

What an incredible start to our honeymoon! (We visited in late June, 2017 for 4 nights)

To begin by describing the room... there are no words. No picture on their website or of my own can do that tent justice. It was BEYOND INCREDIBLE and I've stayed in no room as jaw dropping before or since. We were visiting in Winter, so to have a roaring fire, a bubble bath with a stunning view and a lovely deck... was really special. You're not overlooked but your view overlooks stunning grassland and we could see girafee and ostriches from our room. The team were wonderful and made our honeymoon very special. We had champagne left in our room every night and a romatic bubble bath with candles on our last night.

The facilities on site were great. There was a lovely communal fire and lounge area. Again, because we were visiting in Winter, we we're really at the lodge by ourselves other than on 2 nights so... it felt like we had all of this lovely private space to enjoy. The only thing I will add is the pool isnt heated and it was far too cold to use throughout our stay. The food was wonderful. Breakfast was fantastic (a la carte choices). Afternoon tea was served after your first game drive and this was beyond a standard sandwich but delicious pizzas, salads, rolls: everything freshly prepared. Dinner however was a highlight (again a la carte). A lovely red or white wine was always available with the meal but the chef even asked what sort of food we like and tailored the menu to us!

Finally the game drives! We saw a beautiful male lion, female lion, lots and lots of elephants, giraffes, rhino and more! Because we visited in Winter and it got dark early, we also managed to sneak in a noctural safari search which was fun! I should add because it was colder, I think fewer animals were out and about... we may have seen more if it was warmer but what we did see was great! On a side note, because it was Winter it was too windy for us throughout our stay to do a boat safari or a boat transfer to and from the lodge. Everyday though we were kept warm with blankets and hot drinks and snacks while on safari.

Really a highlight and I'd love to go back one day! Thank you Kariega!!

Room Tip: All the tents are fabulous! Don't worry!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

actually there are no words to describe that extraordinary experience, it‘s unique, amazing just „delightful“. an adventure never ever experienced before. it makes you feel speechless. a dream come true.
luxury pure in the middle of nowhere. wonderful, helpful, friendly and charming employee - experienced and passional rangers (Louis) - fabulous food, nice wine - you realise the beauty of this spot not until you have left this undiscribeable lodge. it is definitely worth the price - we deeply recommend this spectacular experience - come back again, at least will recommend it to our friends.... THANK YOU!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank René C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Undoubtedly the best 5 star experience in all the Eastern cape reserves. Wonderful attentive staff who are professional yet make you feel at home. The food is top notch and the rangers so knowledgeable .Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1984win338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews