We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
218
32
11
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
32
11
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river lodge golf cart breakfast and dinner wonderful experience game reserve boat trip our honeymoon his knowledge bush pig garden route south africa black rhino sense of humour herd of elephants three days food was fantastic watching the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The main lodge is fantastic, a big comfortable seating area with a roaring fire going in the evening - we were there mid September so it still got really cold in the evening so the fire was very welcome. The bar and restaurant were really nice, and lots of places outdoors to sit and relax and read - not that there was much time for that with all the activities! The pool wasn't a bad size but the weather was too cold for us to take advantage of it, but I imagine it's nice to have a quick dip in it when the weather gets hot! We had a lovely lodge (room 7, Zebra Lodge) I have read some complaints about the rooms and I agree that when you first enter the room, you think WOW!! It is so big and spacious and I've never seen such a big bed in my life! When you look closer, yes, there are some cobwebs, the walls do look like they need a coat of paint and the floor could do with re-tiling but is that what really matters??? (you're on SAFARI for goodness sake!) The room was lovely and clean, the towels and bedding were good quality, the bathroom was enormous and we were provided with toiletries, dressing robes, a stocked FREE mini bar, fridge, air conditioning (which also acted as a heater!) There was no safe in the room, but a safety deposit box was available in the reception area and you entered your own passcode. The safari trips with Thomas were amazing. Thomas was lovely, very helpful and informative. We saw lions, giraffes, rhinos, elephants, kudos, wildebeest, zebras and loads of other animals. The food was lovely, breakfast was great and a good choice - whatever you wanted - also good fun when the monkeys were around trying to steal the toast! I was unwell for a day while we were there and a hot 'concoction' of some kind was especially made for me by one of the staff and it really helped to settle my stomach. I was very grateful for that! All of the staff were lovely, friendly and professional. A wonderful experience that we will NEVER forget! Thank you!!!!

Room tip: Room 7 Zebra Lodge overlooking the river - enormous room!!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holiday-Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Thank you for such an amazing holiday. Our guide Nick was just the perfect ranger..Informative, easy going, had a keen eye for animals, and was fun to hang around with. Your whole staff treated us like kings. Special thanks to the gentlemen who ran the curios shop (Cedric) who we had lots of fun chats with. Trip of a lifetime!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 179Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

So glad you had a great safari and stay with us. We've passed on your thanks to the team. Thank you so much. Kind regards from Kariega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 5 nights at the river lodge where we had the most fantastic time. Our rooms were over looking the game reserve and when we arrived we saw giraffe grazing - a totally unexpected delight. Our Ranger Thomas was so helpful showing us how to track prints on bush walks and finding animals which we hoped to see. We feel privileged to have been guided by you Thomas - thank you. Watching lion hunting, a stand off between a bull elephant and a rhino, being trumpeted at by an elephant, hippos, kingfishers and porcupine are a few wonderful memories.
Thank you to all of the River Lodge staff. Every meal
was delicious.
If you want top quality safari in a quiet location this is the place to go. Only 10 lodges so a max of 20 guests. night game drives as well as the standard morning and afternoon drives as well as bush walks, canoeing and a trip to the coast in the lodge boat. Amazing does not come close to the memories we have made. Our 14 & 17 year olds loved every minute - totally fantastic

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

After arriving Port Elizabeth we were met by a very friendly and knowledgeable driver who took us on the short ride to the wonderful Kariega Game Reserve,River lodge.On arrival the staff were extremely receptive and we,all four of us felt at home straight away. After a welcome drink and some food that had been prepared we are shown to our lovely rooms where our luggage and been delivered.
One of the rooms overlooked the river and the other one the hills,they were very close to one another and only a few seconds walk from the main lodge.There are other rooms that are a bit further away from the main reception but even these are only a short walk.Available on request i would imagine.The rooms have everything you need and are a great size.We had an extra bed put in our room as we had our 13 year old son with us and there was still plenty of space.A wonderful deep bath and shower area where all of the items you use are replaced on a daily basis as was the coffee tea and mini bar items.Beds were always turned down for us and the room was always made tidy and clean by the the very friendly staff. Remember where you are though this is not your 5 star Hilton this is the 5 star Kariega Game Reserve and you are there for safaris and some african experiences you will never forget!
Ater unpacking and familiarising ourselves with the area it was soon time for our first game drive....yes you are on the move straight away and of into the bush.We were met by our Ranger and he would be taking us for all of our game drives for our time at the lodge.(Two a day) His name was Tallent and he certainly had a lot of that.He made all of our drives extremely rewarding with his knowledge of the area and the animals that we could see there. The drives are taken in open vehicles and you are in a small group.If the weather is cold they supply you with ponchos and waterproofs to keep you comfortable.
It is an early start for the morning drive but if you want to get the best out of your stay don't miss it.You then go back to the lodge for your breakfast and then have time to spare before you go on the afternoon drive.You always stop at some time for a break,refreshments and some nice little touches.We went on all the drives to see all that was one offer.
All the food is lovely, cooked on site by the small group of staff that work there and there is more than enough.The choice is good and everyone could not be more helpful.The wine was to die for!!! And for non drinkers there are lots of other options but you must try the hot chocolate.We honestly felt they would do anything for you to make your experience something you would never forget.
There are also lots more things to do at the lodge and i could go on for quite a while about these but we found nothing negative about our stay.The area,staff and drives were absolutely perfect for us.
Just one last thing,we did have our son with us and at 13 you no what they are like about WiFi. You won't get it in the rooms but they do have it in the main lodge.Saying that he didn't use it much because he was worn out with all the activities we undertook.
Would we recommend Kariega..without a doubt!!
A really wonderful experience in a wonderful area with staff that can't do enough for you.Well done to everyone involved in our stay...hopefully we will return one day.
Glyn B

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Glyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Stunning river lodge with beautiful rooms and common areas.
The food( all inclusive) and drinks were delicious. We saw they big 4 and had approx 2 x 3 hour game drives per day.
Highly recommend this for first time safari goers as you will see all the big animals quickly and it’s a luxurious place to stay

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bourkecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews