We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy 5 stars....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

From start to finish everything was perfect...Location, service, food, drinks etc....faultless.
Our guide Thomas was excellent and made each game drive interesting and exciting. He has great knowledge and was a pleasure to listen to all the information.
The accommodation was perfect...everything you could want...stepping on to the balcony to see a variety of wildlife is a very good morning.
All the food was excellent and staff went that little extra to make your stay fantastic.
Hope I can get back sometime to experience it all again
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at River Lodge 4 nights, and could have stayed longer! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by absolutely warm staff with towel and drinks on hand. The main lodge is a beautiful log and thatch construction, and is overlooking the beautiful river. The suites are individual constructions with the same characteristics; tall thatch roof, mud walls and concrete floors. Very spacious main room and bath. Ours was open the the rear plains, where antelopes, giraffes, zebras and a plethora of birds would often stop by.
Our game drives with JC were fun, very entertaining and informative. JC is passionate for his work and it shows. The food was always awesome and plentiful and the staff, whether immediate supporting staff or ground staff were all happy to give you their best smile or give you a hand with everything. Overall, it was a fantastic stay and we would return in a heartbeat. Thank you Kariega!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank javosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 5 drives as well as joining the boat trip to Kenton on sea. We were hoping for a guided bush walk on our last day but heavy rain meant we couldn't go.

The drives were fantastic, you felt safe at all times. The drivers had set distances they would stop away from the animals but if the animals were comfortable and calm they would allow them to get incredibly close to the jeep. The rangers also managed traffic very well never avoiding having multiple jeeps all crowding the same animal.

The lodge itself was lovely, the rooms are relatively basic but you aren't expected to spend much time in them. It was great to try a variety of game meat at dinner which was all very flavoursome. The inclusive wine selection was incredibly extensive

The lodge also has an onsite spa. The prices of which were incredibly reasonable for such a fantastic treatment in a very picturesque treatment room

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank meridian-payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Within seconds of driving through the gates, which reminded me of entering Jurassic Park, we had seen giraffe, warthogs and various antelope. A short 2 km drive from the gate to the lodge and we were met by a welcoming team with warm face towels, are luggage was taken for us and car driven away.

Our room was Zebra Suite and has a river frontage. It is roomy with a large bathroom and wet room style shower. There is no TV (brilliant) and no wifi but there is wifi in the main lodge.

We were immediately out on our first game drive at 15:30 and saw elephant, giraffe, numerous antelope, white rhinos, etc. Shattered by the time we finished we couldn't stop beaming!

JC our ranger is superb!

Over three days we saw so many birds and animals it was incredible. The hosting at the lodge is wonderful with great food and drinks.

During the day the weather was pleasantly warm but early morning and evenings the temperature drops and you need jumpers and long trousers or jeans. The jeeps are provided with blankets.

Absolutely amazing way to end our holiday in SA.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I can't speak for Donna, but I had the most amazing time in Kareiga Main Lodge this past September. We arrived mid morning to a warm welcome, met our guide Daniel, who took our bags to the cabin while we had breakfast. When our cabin was ready he collected us and showed us the way. We were both take aback by our cabin, especially the view.
Our first trip around the reserve was that evening, his enthusiasm for his lifestyle was infectious. Watching the sunset as we had a drink chatting about random stuff felt so natural.
His knowledge of the terrain and its' wildlife was extensive, but not reeled off as though he'd said them a thousand times already. His love for the Rhinos, Thandi more than most was obvious, no matter how much he tried to hide it. As our group grew not once did it come across as a chore, each new addition greeted with more than professional curteousy.
I could go on and on, which is temtping. But, I really really do want to go back, it was a wrench to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
38,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
39,7 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
30 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29,2 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
391 reviews
29,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
335 reviews
7,6 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge

Address: R 343 | Between Alexandria and Kenton-on-Sea, Near rural route R72, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R8 930 - R12 328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Bushman's River, this Lodge is unique in that it connects a Big-5 Kariega Game Reserve to the sea. Our optional daily boat cruises ferry guests through the quaint sea side village of Kenton-on-Sea. Inside the Lodge guests can find a quiet spot in one of the lounges, page through a book in the library, enjoy the pool or take in the view from the magnificent deck which overhangs the river. Twice daily safari drives, guided walks, river fishing, canoeing and river trips are included. Accommodation, all meals and local beverages are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
River Hotel Kariega Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing