We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$587
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House Quarters(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Intaka Bird Lodge(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
203
31
11
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
31
11
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver lodgegolf cartbreakfast and dinnergame reserveboat triphis knowledgewonderful experiencebush piggarden routewithin secondsbig comfortable bedsouth africaour honeymoonblack rhinosense of humourwould return in a heartbeatlovely group
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 5 drives as well as joining the boat trip to Kenton on sea. We were hoping for a guided bush walk on our last day but heavy rain meant we couldn't go.

The drives were fantastic, you felt safe at all times. The drivers had set distances they would stop away from the animals but if the animals were comfortable and calm they would allow them to get incredibly close to the jeep. The rangers also managed traffic very well never avoiding having multiple jeeps all crowding the same animal.

The lodge itself was lovely, the rooms are relatively basic but you aren't expected to spend much time in them. It was great to try a variety of game meat at dinner which was all very flavoursome. The inclusive wine selection was incredibly extensive

The lodge also has an onsite spa. The prices of which were incredibly reasonable for such a fantastic treatment in a very picturesque treatment room

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank meridian-payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Within seconds of driving through the gates, which reminded me of entering Jurassic Park, we had seen giraffe, warthogs and various antelope. A short 2 km drive from the gate to the lodge and we were met by a welcoming team with warm face towels, are luggage was taken for us and car driven away.

Our room was Zebra Suite and has a river frontage. It is roomy with a large bathroom and wet room style shower. There is no TV (brilliant) and no wifi but there is wifi in the main lodge.

We were immediately out on our first game drive at 15:30 and saw elephant, giraffe, numerous antelope, white rhinos, etc. Shattered by the time we finished we couldn't stop beaming!

JC our ranger is superb!

Over three days we saw so many birds and animals it was incredible. The hosting at the lodge is wonderful with great food and drinks.

During the day the weather was pleasantly warm but early morning and evenings the temperature drops and you need jumpers and long trousers or jeans. The jeeps are provided with blankets.

Absolutely amazing way to end our holiday in SA.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I can't speak for Donna, but I had the most amazing time in Kareiga Main Lodge this past September. We arrived mid morning to a warm welcome, met our guide Daniel, who took our bags to the cabin while we had breakfast. When our cabin was ready he collected us and showed us the way. We were both take aback by our cabin, especially the view.
Our first trip around the reserve was that evening, his enthusiasm for his lifestyle was infectious. Watching the sunset as we had a drink chatting about random stuff felt so natural.
His knowledge of the terrain and its' wildlife was extensive, but not reeled off as though he'd said them a thousand times already. His love for the Rhinos, Thandi more than most was obvious, no matter how much he tried to hide it. As our group grew not once did it come across as a chore, each new addition greeted with more than professional curteousy.
I could go on and on, which is temtping. But, I really really do want to go back, it was a wrench to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The staff were all amazing and couldn’t do enough to help, Allen was our guide and was very friendly and knowledgeable very often going above and beyond where he could to help us get the best out of our time at the lodge. The lodge itself was very nice and there is the option of fishing, canoeing and trips to the beach in the speedboat during downtime between the game drives, all of which we took advantage of. We were very lucky with the animals and saw lots in the 3 days we spent at the reserve

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We spent wonderful days in Kariega River Lodge. The facility is very well decorated and the food is amazing. We had opportunity to see a lion hunting a guinu, which was one of the most exciting moments in our trip! Absolutely fantastic! All staff really attentive, especially the ranger Gladman! Unforgettable!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you Elisa. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and safari with us at River Lodge. We've passed on yoru thanks to Gladman. We really appreciate you posting your feedback. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews