We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Within seconds of driving through the gates, which reminded me of entering Jurassic Park, we had seen giraffe, warthogs and various antelope. A short 2 km drive from the gate to the lodge and we were met by a welcoming team with warm face towels, are luggage was taken for us and car driven away.

Our room was Zebra Suite and has a river frontage. It is roomy with a large bathroom and wet room style shower. There is no TV (brilliant) and no wifi but there is wifi in the main lodge.

We were immediately out on our first game drive at 15:30 and saw elephant, giraffe, numerous antelope, white rhinos, etc. Shattered by the time we finished we couldn't stop beaming!

JC our ranger is superb!

Over three days we saw so many birds and animals it was incredible. The hosting at the lodge is wonderful with great food and drinks.

During the day the weather was pleasantly warm but early morning and evenings the temperature drops and you need jumpers and long trousers or jeans. The jeeps are provided with blankets.

Absolutely amazing way to end our holiday in SA.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

I can't speak for Donna, but I had the most amazing time in Kareiga Main Lodge this past September. We arrived mid morning to a warm welcome, met our guide Daniel, who took our bags to the cabin while we had breakfast. When our cabin was ready he collected us and showed us the way. We were both take aback by our cabin, especially the view.
Our first trip around the reserve was that evening, his enthusiasm for his lifestyle was infectious. Watching the sunset as we had a drink chatting about random stuff felt so natural.
His knowledge of the terrain and its' wildlife was extensive, but not reeled off as though he'd said them a thousand times already. His love for the Rhinos, Thandi more than most was obvious, no matter how much he tried to hide it. As our group grew not once did it come across as a chore, each new addition greeted with more than professional curteousy.
I could go on and on, which is temtping. But, I really really do want to go back, it was a wrench to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The staff were all amazing and couldn’t do enough to help, Allen was our guide and was very friendly and knowledgeable very often going above and beyond where he could to help us get the best out of our time at the lodge. The lodge itself was very nice and there is the option of fishing, canoeing and trips to the beach in the speedboat during downtime between the game drives, all of which we took advantage of. We were very lucky with the animals and saw lots in the 3 days we spent at the reserve

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We spent wonderful days in Kariega River Lodge. The facility is very well decorated and the food is amazing. We had opportunity to see a lion hunting a guinu, which was one of the most exciting moments in our trip! Absolutely fantastic! All staff really attentive, especially the ranger Gladman! Unforgettable!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you Elisa. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and safari with us at River Lodge. We've passed on yoru thanks to Gladman. We really appreciate you posting your feedback. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This is my last report and after so many others it is hard to better all the other superlatives used but here goes. First safari so not sure what to expect. Lovely reception very relaxed from the second we arrived and our car keys were taken from us everything was done for us. All inclusive so any drinks at any time always makes relaxation so easy. Initial disappointment that we had no river frontage was soon dispelled as you spend so little time at your room. However the room was large as was the bathroom and very private. The itinerary for the days were busy with Safari and food seemingly taking up most of the day. We were there for 3 nights so were able to get in 5 trips out with Thomas our ranger who was excellent as well as a river trip down to Kenton on sea. Wildlife on the reserve was truly amazing, and the knowledge of Thomas really gave you an understanding of the lives of the animals in the wild which you obviously don't get in a zoo or a sanctuary situation. Didn't see the leopards but that is the beauty of a safari it isn't a zoo its wild animals in a wild place so any sightings are a privilege not an expectation. The peace and tranquility of the dawn safaris were only matched by the sunsets of the evenings making it difficult to choose our favourite part. The pairings of our group were either well thought out or we were very lucky to have such a lovely group to share our experience with. The food was excellent throughout as was the setting, with the main lodge having ample space to relax, when you had time to.
Make sure you do the river trip if you like your birds, and plenty to see on safari of the avian kind.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caggyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
38,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
39,7 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
30 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29,2 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
388 reviews
29,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
335 reviews
7,6 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge

Address: R 343 | Between Alexandria and Kenton-on-Sea, Near rural route R72, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R8 946 - R12 342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Bushman's River, this Lodge is unique in that it connects a Big-5 Kariega Game Reserve to the sea. Our optional daily boat cruises ferry guests through the quaint sea side village of Kenton-on-Sea. Inside the Lodge guests can find a quiet spot in one of the lounges, page through a book in the library, enjoy the pool or take in the view from the magnificent deck which overhangs the river. Twice daily safari drives, guided walks, river fishing, canoeing and river trips are included. Accommodation, all meals and local beverages are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
River Hotel Kariega Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing