We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
201
31
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
31
10
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver lodgebreakfast and dinnergolf cartgame reserveboat triphis knowledgewonderful experiencegarden routebush pigsouth africawithin secondsbig comfortable bedsafari experiencesense of humourwould return in a heartbeatblack rhinolovely group
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I can't speak for Donna, but I had the most amazing time in Kareiga Main Lodge this past September. We arrived mid morning to a warm welcome, met our guide Daniel, who took our bags to the cabin while we had breakfast. When our cabin was ready he collected us and showed us the way. We were both take aback by our cabin, especially the view.
Our first trip around the reserve was that evening, his enthusiasm for his lifestyle was infectious. Watching the sunset as we had a drink chatting about random stuff felt so natural.
His knowledge of the terrain and its' wildlife was extensive, but not reeled off as though he'd said them a thousand times already. His love for the Rhinos, Thandi more than most was obvious, no matter how much he tried to hide it. As our group grew not once did it come across as a chore, each new addition greeted with more than professional curteousy.
I could go on and on, which is temtping. But, I really really do want to go back, it was a wrench to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The staff were all amazing and couldn’t do enough to help, Allen was our guide and was very friendly and knowledgeable very often going above and beyond where he could to help us get the best out of our time at the lodge. The lodge itself was very nice and there is the option of fishing, canoeing and trips to the beach in the speedboat during downtime between the game drives, all of which we took advantage of. We were very lucky with the animals and saw lots in the 3 days we spent at the reserve

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We spent wonderful days in Kariega River Lodge. The facility is very well decorated and the food is amazing. We had opportunity to see a lion hunting a guinu, which was one of the most exciting moments in our trip! Absolutely fantastic! All staff really attentive, especially the ranger Gladman! Unforgettable!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you Elisa. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and safari with us at River Lodge. We've passed on yoru thanks to Gladman. We really appreciate you posting your feedback. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This is my last report and after so many others it is hard to better all the other superlatives used but here goes. First safari so not sure what to expect. Lovely reception very relaxed from the second we arrived and our car keys were taken from us everything was done for us. All inclusive so any drinks at any time always makes relaxation so easy. Initial disappointment that we had no river frontage was soon dispelled as you spend so little time at your room. However the room was large as was the bathroom and very private. The itinerary for the days were busy with Safari and food seemingly taking up most of the day. We were there for 3 nights so were able to get in 5 trips out with Thomas our ranger who was excellent as well as a river trip down to Kenton on sea. Wildlife on the reserve was truly amazing, and the knowledge of Thomas really gave you an understanding of the lives of the animals in the wild which you obviously don't get in a zoo or a sanctuary situation. Didn't see the leopards but that is the beauty of a safari it isn't a zoo its wild animals in a wild place so any sightings are a privilege not an expectation. The peace and tranquility of the dawn safaris were only matched by the sunsets of the evenings making it difficult to choose our favourite part. The pairings of our group were either well thought out or we were very lucky to have such a lovely group to share our experience with. The food was excellent throughout as was the setting, with the main lodge having ample space to relax, when you had time to.
Make sure you do the river trip if you like your birds, and plenty to see on safari of the avian kind.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caggyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Kariega was the perfect end to our South Africa trip, it was recommended to us by a friend that had lived in South Africa who had visited many game reserves. We stayed at the Ukhozi lodge which was excellent, from our private deck area we could look out over the plains and spot lots of animals through the binoculars. Our ranger Juan was a great guy and so knowledgeable. We had two game drives a day 5.30am and 4pm and seen so many different animals which included elephants, white and black rhino, giraffes, zebra, buffalo, hippo's, various antelope, lions, lioness's, warthog, jackal, baboons, monkeys and loads of different bird species. On our last night after dinner Juan took us out on a night game drive and we managed to track the lions again this time they were out hunting and we were so lucky to witness a kill just a few metres from our jeep, it was an amazing experience. All of the staff at Kariega went out of their way to look after us, the food was really good and there was never a shortage of drinks also the pool area was really nice and we were kept entertained by the vervet monkeys whilst we relaxed on our sunbeds. After we checked out we visited Kenton-on-sea before we drove to PE airport which was beautiful and well worth a visit for a beer at the little restaurant on the beach to admire the view.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Becca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews