We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Absolutely brilliant. Our ranger Ben knew so much and couldn't do enough for us. Great food. Can't fault it. Saw so many animals and habitat. Walked amongst the giraffes and zebras. Boat to Kenton. Fabulous

Room Tip: We Rooms are in the grounds. All goid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank saffronDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in Kariega River Lodge. That was too short. The game drives were a fantastic experience. Saw many animals and ranger JC is a great guide. The lodge is pure luxury. All meals are fine. After Breakfast you can take the Boat to the beach. Worth it!! Didn't want to leave... and we will come back!

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at River Lodge for 3 nights. It is set in a wonderful location . The staff were excellent but the accommodation didn't quite live up to my expectations. The game drives were awesome and we saw things that will remain with us for a very long time. Our Ranger JC was amazing and gave us the experience of a lifetime. Definitely definitely recommend Kariega River Lodge and JC.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Where do I start? The Kariega reserve is sensational and the River Lodge was the perfect place to stay for our safari.
Within 24 hours we had seen the BIg Five (and much more) and now looking back through our huge portfolio of pictures I realise with some trepidation just how close we got to truly wild lion, hippo, rhino and elephant. But we never felt nervous at the time, such was the competence and enthusiasm of our guide Zolani.
Each day you are offered two three-hour game drives (dawn and late afternoon) and Zolani made them magical; often we got back only minutes before dinner because he found something extra and special to see.
True, if you ride in the rear of the Land Ranger, you do get bumped about a little, but that is unavoidable if you really want the best experience. If we had stuck to the tracks we would have seen so much less. And everyone takes turns.
The River Lodge is one of five accommodations on the safari property, which is huge. The lodge has 10 lovely rooms and a very relaxing communal area. Although you are on safari and the buildings are designed to reflect that, they were extremely comfortable and functional. Everything worked well and the food was to a high standard.
The advantage of staying at River Lodge is that you can idle beside the peaceful Bushman River with a drink at your elbow or take a boat trip to the beach at the river mouth. Canoeing is available, as are guided nature walks during "non-safari" time.
We we go back? Yes, as quickly as we could book flights. If you are doing the Garden Route, make the effort and travel the easy 100 miles or so east of Port Elizabeth for a couple of nights at Kariega. You wont regret it

Room Tip: Opt for one of suites apart from the central lodge. Beautifully quiet and you get to and from centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonSW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights and made five trips out in the wild. Excellent wine and fine beer was served along with great food. Our ranger really knew it all and had us experience some unforgetable moments including close encounters with the most exotic animals. Birdwatching and river trips by boat was arranged. Unforgettable trip.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jojje3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
38,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
39,7 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
30 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29,2 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
390 reviews
29,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
335 reviews
7,6 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge

Address: R 343 | Between Alexandria and Kenton-on-Sea, Near rural route R72, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R8 930 - R12 301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Bushman's River, this Lodge is unique in that it connects a Big-5 Kariega Game Reserve to the sea. Our optional daily boat cruises ferry guests through the quaint sea side village of Kenton-on-Sea. Inside the Lodge guests can find a quiet spot in one of the lounges, page through a book in the library, enjoy the pool or take in the view from the magnificent deck which overhangs the river. Twice daily safari drives, guided walks, river fishing, canoeing and river trips are included. Accommodation, all meals and local beverages are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
River Hotel Kariega Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing