We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
201
31
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
31
10
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver lodgebreakfast and dinnergolf cartgame reserveboat triphis knowledgewonderful experiencegarden routebush pigsouth africawithin secondsbig comfortable bedsafari experiencesense of humourwould return in a heartbeatblack rhinolovely group
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The ranger was attentive and ensured we had a great time. All activities were well co-ordinated and not only did we see 4 of the big five but spend the afternoon taking a boat trip to the beach. My husband caught some fish from the jetty and we went canoeing. Great service and food.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The location was excellent as was the lodge. Vicky our guide went above and beyond to make this a very memorable safari experience. ( She may be the next David Attenborough ! ) The staff , food, bed comfort , were first rate and the animals added the icing on the cake. Very beautiful and peaceful setting.

Room Tip: ours was no 6 near the main lodge.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hannah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Our room was lovely, huge comfortable bed, hot shower and a free standing bath. Very clean and private with a view across the open land from the patio at giraffe and buck feeding, all sorts of birds.
Main lodge clean and comfortable seating, log fire.
Staff wonderful, relaxed but professional and friendly, nothing is too much bother,without being bothersome.
Food fresh and varied.
The game, well, as close as you could wish for without being a safari park! Natural habitat, huge variety of.
Lions, both rhinos, elephants, warthogs , lots of antelope of various types, hippos, etc.
The river setting is beautiful, relaxing and so quiet.

Room Tip: Room 6 for closeness privacy and game watching from your terrace, room 7 for a river view.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Lovely location on the river and right in the heart of the Kariega game reserve.
The hotel and grounds are perfect for the real African experience. This was an all inclusive resort so no worries about what you indulged in. Both the food and wine was excellent including the free mini bar in your room.
I did have a few encounters with Impalas and snakes walking around the grounds and even as we drove into the reserve encountered wild hogs, water buck etc.
The room itself was rustic and very large, bathroom included a walk in shower and roll top bath that was probably a prop in the film Zulu.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The game drives were an awesome experience and managed to see just about everything on our list, up close and personal. Including Lions, Elephants, Rhino's, Giraffes etc.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

WE had an unbelievable stay at River Lodge facilities great .Number 8 lodge was ours down the river a short way away from main lodge amazing solitude. Our stay for 3 nights with a total of 6 drives available which were all wonderful made all the better by our amazing ranger CHRIS. Thanks to all the happy smiling staff for your attention to detail in all aspects which enhanced a superb vacation.

Room Tip: Lodges away from main lodge, only 3 available give your stay even more a feeling of being in the bush.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspanner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews