We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House Quarters(Kenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$607
US$585
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Milkwood Manor B & B(Kenton-on-Sea)
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers(Kenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$29
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$507
US$449
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$1 106
US$1 076
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
203
31
11
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
31
11
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver lodgegolf cartbreakfast and dinnergame reserveboat triphis knowledgewonderful experiencebush piggarden routewithin secondsbig comfortable bedsouth africaour honeymoonblack rhinosense of humourwould return in a heartbeatlovely group
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Our room was lovely, huge comfortable bed, hot shower and a free standing bath. Very clean and private with a view across the open land from the patio at giraffe and buck feeding, all sorts of birds.
Main lodge clean and comfortable seating, log fire.
Staff wonderful, relaxed but professional and friendly, nothing is too much bother,without being bothersome.
Food fresh and varied.
The game, well, as close as you could wish for without being a safari park! Natural habitat, huge variety of.
Lions, both rhinos, elephants, warthogs , lots of antelope of various types, hippos, etc.
The river setting is beautiful, relaxing and so quiet.

Room Tip: Room 6 for closeness privacy and game watching from your terrace, room 7 for a river view.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Lovely location on the river and right in the heart of the Kariega game reserve.
The hotel and grounds are perfect for the real African experience. This was an all inclusive resort so no worries about what you indulged in. Both the food and wine was excellent including the free mini bar in your room.
I did have a few encounters with Impalas and snakes walking around the grounds and even as we drove into the reserve encountered wild hogs, water buck etc.
The room itself was rustic and very large, bathroom included a walk in shower and roll top bath that was probably a prop in the film Zulu.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The game drives were an awesome experience and managed to see just about everything on our list, up close and personal. Including Lions, Elephants, Rhino's, Giraffes etc.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

WE had an unbelievable stay at River Lodge facilities great .Number 8 lodge was ours down the river a short way away from main lodge amazing solitude. Our stay for 3 nights with a total of 6 drives available which were all wonderful made all the better by our amazing ranger CHRIS. Thanks to all the happy smiling staff for your attention to detail in all aspects which enhanced a superb vacation.

Room Tip: Lodges away from main lodge, only 3 available give your stay even more a feeling of being in the bush.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspanner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

The game drives (early morning and late afternoon) were well organised and informative. The accommodation was luxurious; there are shared pools, shady areas and sun loungers, and further opportunities to see Impala wandering through the garden. For the lodges furthest from the main house, golf buggies are provided for the drive along beside the river - great fun! Food was good and there was additional hospitality in the form of a free minibar, braziers and hot towels on our return in the twilight from the afternoon game drive, and river cruises.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank croatiabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

So glad to read that you enjoyed your safari and stay with us at Kariega River Lodge. We love the golf buggies and wonderful location along the river too! Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Kind regards from the team at River Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Rustic accommodation in idyllic setting. Exceptionally large and very comfortable bed. Meals are adequate and staff very friendly and helpful. The highlights of the stay however are the game drives twice a day. We did five drives during our stay and each one offered different delights. A close viewing of a variety of animals and birds kept us enthralled. Between drives there is a pool, canoeing,river boat or fishing to entertain one.
Wifi is variable to poor.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 634christophert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Dear Christopher,
So glad that you had a great safari and stay with us at River Lodge. Thank you for adding your review. Glad you enjoyed the big comfy bed too!
We are sorry about the poor connection and speed of our wifi. As we are located very far from the nearest telecommunications point we sometimes have difficulty with our internet connection. We are always trying to find new ways to improve this. We offer free wifi at our main lodge building and not in the suites.
With kind regards from the River Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews