We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Relaxing setting, friendly staff, fantastic game. Oh and the food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Our room was lovely, huge comfortable bed, hot shower and a free standing bath. Very clean and private with a view across the open land from the patio at giraffe and buck feeding, all sorts of birds.
Main lodge clean and comfortable seating, log fire.
Staff wonderful, relaxed but professional and friendly, nothing is too much bother,without being bothersome.
Food fresh and varied.
The game, well, as close as you could wish for without being a safari park! Natural habitat, huge variety of.
Lions, both rhinos, elephants, warthogs , lots of antelope of various types, hippos, etc.
The river setting is beautiful, relaxing and so quiet.

Room Tip: Room 6 for closeness privacy and game watching from your terrace, room 7 for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2016

Lovely location on the river and right in the heart of the Kariega game reserve.
The hotel and grounds are perfect for the real African experience. This was an all inclusive resort so no worries about what you indulged in. Both the food and wine was excellent including the free mini bar in your room.
I did have a few encounters with Impalas and snakes walking around the grounds and even as we drove into the reserve encountered wild hogs, water buck etc.
The room itself was rustic and very large, bathroom included a walk in shower and roll top bath that was probably a prop in the film Zulu.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The game drives were an awesome experience and managed to see just about everything on our list, up close and personal. Including Lions, Elephants, Rhino's, Giraffes etc.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

WE had an unbelievable stay at River Lodge facilities great .Number 8 lodge was ours down the river a short way away from main lodge amazing solitude. Our stay for 3 nights with a total of 6 drives available which were all wonderful made all the better by our amazing ranger CHRIS. Thanks to all the happy smiling staff for your attention to detail in all aspects which enhanced a superb vacation.

Room Tip: Lodges away from main lodge, only 3 available give your stay even more a feeling of being in the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspanner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

The game drives (early morning and late afternoon) were well organised and informative. The accommodation was luxurious; there are shared pools, shady areas and sun loungers, and further opportunities to see Impala wandering through the garden. For the lodges furthest from the main house, golf buggies are provided for the drive along beside the river - great fun! Food was good and there was additional hospitality in the form of a free minibar, braziers and hot towels on our return in the twilight from the afternoon game drive, and river cruises.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank croatiabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

So glad to read that you enjoyed your safari and stay with us at Kariega River Lodge. We love the golf buggies and wonderful location along the river too! Thank you so much for posting your feedback. Kind regards from the team at River Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

Rustic accommodation in idyllic setting. Exceptionally large and very comfortable bed. Meals are adequate and staff very friendly and helpful. The highlights of the stay however are the game drives twice a day. We did five drives during our stay and each one offered different delights. A close viewing of a variety of animals and birds kept us enthralled. Between drives there is a pool, canoeing,river boat or fishing to entertain one.
Wifi is variable to poor.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 634christophert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Dear Christopher,
So glad that you had a great safari and stay with us at River Lodge. Thank you for adding your review. Glad you enjoyed the big comfy bed too!
We are sorry about the poor connection and speed of our wifi. As we are located very far from the nearest telecommunications point we sometimes have difficulty with our internet connection. We are always trying to find new ways to improve this. We offer free wifi at our main lodge building and not in the suites.
With kind regards from the River Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
38,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
39,7 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
30 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29,2 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
390 reviews
29,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
335 reviews
7,6 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge

Address: R 343 | Between Alexandria and Kenton-on-Sea, Near rural route R72, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R8 930 - R12 301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the Bushman's River, this Lodge is unique in that it connects a Big-5 Kariega Game Reserve to the sea. Our optional daily boat cruises ferry guests through the quaint sea side village of Kenton-on-Sea. Inside the Lodge guests can find a quiet spot in one of the lounges, page through a book in the library, enjoy the pool or take in the view from the magnificent deck which overhangs the river. Twice daily safari drives, guided walks, river fishing, canoeing and river trips are included. Accommodation, all meals and local beverages are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
River Hotel Kariega Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing