We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
221
32
11
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
32
11
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river lodge golf cart wonderful experience breakfast and dinner his knowledge game reserve boat trip our honeymoon bush pig south africa garden route black rhino sense of humour herd of elephants three days food was fantastic watching the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015

My friend and I stayed for 6 nights at River Lodge (following 6 nights at Ukhosi Lodge). Most people stay here for about 3 nights as a finale to their South African holiday. We were interested to see if we would continue to be surprised and excited and we were not disappointed!
The Lodge is in a very special position, the river setting is beautiful. The sunrises and mist on the river early morning is breathtaking. There was a profusion of birdlife along the river which made relaxing on the decking both tranquil and eventful! I even had a go at fishing off the decking. You can also canoe which is great fun.
We were very lucky in that we stayed in Elephant Suite. It is part of a cluster of 3 suites sharing a large outdoor (thatched roofed) sitting room and its own pool and private jetty.....but we had it to ourselves! Elephant suite is 6 mins walk from main lodge (fantastic for a group of friends or large family) and golf buggies are provided in case you don't want to walk. Nyala and warthog have made their homes by the pathway so you never knew who you would meet! The room was very spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was beautifully designed, we loved the two handpainted washbowls, very pretty.
My friend needed a special diet and the management team and cooks made a huge effort to see that she had variety and nutritious meals. I thought the food and wines were superb. The management staff here worked very hard and were clearly an efficient and caring group of people.
The best bit is of course the safari experience. Our rather fantastic ranger was Victor. Victor is extremely knowledgeable and passionate. He made the whole 6 days a great adventure. We learnt so much about the animals and birdlife around us. His driving skills outshone Jeremy Clarkson! Victor worked tremendously hard to make our 6 days totally different. We went on a walking safari where he taught us about tracking and the development of the Reserve; and we went on the river, very exhilarating! Every couple of days new people would join or leave our cruiser group and Victor was so patient and keen to answer their questions making the safari experience special for them. We learnt so much, had many laughs and felt very cared for (thank you Victor!).

Room tip: I would choose a room facing the river, all rooms are fantastic. There wasn't any problem with flies by the river.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We arrived at Kariega River Lodge and found it very different to our previous game reserve at Shamwari. This one is situated along the Bushman River with the main building opening onto decking with seating to watch life on the river. There are also speed boats to take you on a trip down to the beach at Kenton-on-Sea. Be prepared to hold on tight as the ranger moves through the gears to full speed ahead. We were able to get out and walk on the beach. There are also canoes for guests to do their own thing on the river. One night we had a BBQ in a boma at the rear of the lodge with plenty of winds flowing. All drinks are included in the booking.

The Rangers were excellent, the only thing I would say is that the vehicles do not have a canopy so when it rains, you are given a poncho but still get rather wet. Also they do not have seat belts so when wet, the ride is a bit hairy but good fun. We saw plenty of elephants, giraffes, a magnificent adult male lion and rhinos.

I would thoroughly recommend Kariega to anyone wanting a slightly different game reserve.

Room tip: Wifi in main lounge area.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GwenC422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Our stay at River Lodge was the finale to a birthday/anniversary trip around South Africa and turned out to be a highlight. Staff at the lodge are friendly and welcoming and we felt very spoilt. Rooms are huge and the rustic style bathrooms were delightful. Our guide, Victor, took us out twice each day. He was always cheerful and patiently answered even our dumbest questions. The camaraderie which developed among the group made for some interesting conversations over dinner! Victor is passionate about animals and has an extensive knowledge of all the large mammals and birds. He made every drive different, encountering different animals each time and he builds up the drama leading to each sighting very effectively. It was his skill and knowledge that made each drive so enjoyable. He is a great driver and negotiated some tricky tracks very deftly. He got us up close and personal with most of the animals including an impressive male lion with his lionesses and an absolutely huge bull elephant. He perfectly judged the right balance of respect and fear when getting us close to wild animals. For us this made our holiday and was a perfect ending to a visit in which we fell in love with SA.

Room tip: Rhino room is first floor with a viewing deck. You will see giraffes when you open your curtains!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrymc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Hi Terry,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of you stay with us at River Lodge. We have passed on your thanks and comments to Victor and agree that he is a fabulous guide. We are so glad to read that you fell in love with South Africa and Kariega during your holiday. We love both too! We hope that you will be able to visit us again sometime - and we hope to get a full 5 stars when you do :)
With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We've just returned from an amazing holiday at Kariega Game Reserve (River Lodge). The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and getting the most from our visit. We stayed for a week and despite a very rainy first few days the whole holiday was very enjoyable. Victor was our guide for the week and was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The food was excellent and abundant and the service was attentive and friendly. Overall it's the best safari we've ever been on and we're already saving to come back!

Room tip: Rhino (Room 2) is near the reception if you don't want to walk far for dinner etc.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Warm welcome from the minute we arrived, friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Excellent game drives however very weather defendant at this time of year, we were not able to see all aspects due to heavy rainfalls. Food & Dink was great and lots of it!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irish0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us at River Lodge. We are sorry about the rain although it is great for the vegetation and wildlife! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality, food and beverages. We really try to ensure that all our guests have a great safari experience. We hope to see you back again. With kind regards from all at Kariega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews