We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Neil S
Boca Raton, Florida

A Great time at Sibuya Game Reserve

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2024
Just returned from a wedding at Sibuya and all I can say is that everything was absolutely perfect. 10 out of 10 for hospitality. The accommodations were as good as it gets in the bush and the food was fantastic. The game drives were great , the boat rides along the river were fantastic and the guides were fun, funny, knowledgeable, safe and made the experience what is was. I highly recommend Sibuya Game reserve.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 01 May 2024
Hi 'NeilsW7612JH'
Many thanks for the great Review - we all certainly appreciate the fact that you've taken the time to let us know that you enjoyed the diverse aspects which make Sibuya what it is. The Team do their utmost to give guests the best experience ever & hope they leave feeling like extended family with wonderful memories to share.
It was a privilege to host Jason & Caty's guests during their joyful three-night celebration - culminating in the most beautiful & certainly memorable wedding. Great fun was had by all.
Hoping that one day you'll be returning!
Very best wishes from Carol & the Team.

wedding!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 14 991
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 991
10.8 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
R 14 740
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 740
  • Booking.com
10.0 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 12 417
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 12 417
11.2 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 21 724
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 21 724
12.8 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.5 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Vio.com
1.6 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
3.4 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
487
39
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
487
39
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river camp game reserve boat ride camp staff luxury tents bird life south africa wonderful experience bad weather hot water bottles his job his knowledge memorable stay whole team exceeded our expectations whole experience from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2024

Cannot praise Sibuya highly enough. We spent 2 nights at the reserve after an organised tour. The check in was simple. The boat ride into camp was lovely, stopping to look at various birds along the way. We stayed in Forest Camp and the Lodge was beautiful where you meet for meals, drinks at the bar or relax in the lounge area. Our luxury tent with large bathroom was nicely laid out and very comfortable. Our daughter had an adjoining tent with its own bathroom. The team were amazing and the service was exemplary. The game drives were spectacular, despite unseasonable rain, which made things tricky, our guide made sure we had the best experience possible.

Room tip: Thoroughly recommended, a fantastic experience, we could not have been looked after any better and we saw so many animals.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avyrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Greetings 'Avyrog'
It's great to hear that you had a lovely time in Forest Camp & enjoyed so many differing aspects regardless of the weather, as it certainly can be a dampner! As a result of all the rain, the Reserve is looking spectacular - not at all like late autumn - & the animals are spoilt for good grazing.
Our Guides love to share their passion so I'm sure they did their best to ensure you had great sightings - I'll pass on your kind comments - thank you.
Wishing you happy memories,
Carol & the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

A wonderful experience from start to finish. The boat trip up to river camp was stunning and gave us a sense of brewing in the heart of the reserve. The tented rooms were stunning and the staff were so welcoming and helpful. Our children adored being there! Wonderful game drives with a passionate guide, Nicolas. We loved every minute of our stay there. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank docall863325
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Greetings 'Docall863325' to you & your family
We're very happy to hear that you all 'loved every minute of your stay' at River Camp & that Nicolas was an inspiration with his passion for the bush & his life-style - he loves to share his enthusiasm & knowledge! We do our best to make our guests & their children relax & feel at home, so your praises are most welcome - thank you - I'll certainly pass them on to the team & I know they'll be thrilled.
We hope that one day you'll venture away again from the' Green Isle' & return for another visit to Sibuya!
Wishing you happy days.
Carol, Nicolas & the River Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

It is the best experience ever! Connection with the group and nature are guaranteed! The tents, the staff and the food and drinks are amazing. I would recommend it to everyone. We had 2 great game drives with a lots of animals and nature. Our ranger told us everything we needed to know. If we come back to Africa we will return here!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank klaasvanvenrooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Greetings 'Klaasvanvenrooij' - it's wonderful to see ''Best Experience in SA" - a positive & glowing Review makes our hard work worthwhile as we're passionate about what we do & strive to give our guests the best possible experience to treasure.
Thank you for the feedback - it's great that your stay with us was such a success! We appreciate the support.

Looking forward to welcoming you back - 'Sibuya' means 'We will return' - so here's hoping!

Wishing you happy memories.
Carol & the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

Worst place possible. Extremely overpriced and worst service ever. We have stayed here for 2 nights. The tent was very basic and unfortunately full of hols. Very bad maintenance. So: We warned the staff. Unfortunately they were reluctant to act on our complaints. If you like safari during the night ? This is your place. We had scorpions, bats and all different insects inside our tent. Didn’t sleep at all. The next day they weren’t willing to relocate us. It ruined our safari the next day. Also the safari is just like a zoo here. Nothing special . After the trip this company acknowledged the problem. So we requested out money back for at least one night. Off course that was the least we expected. But unfortunately even after ruining our trip and acknowledging our complaints, they could only come up with a very minor refund. I would never advise anyone to go to this place.

Room tip: Avoid this place.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GoPlaces41613548740
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Greetings Oosterwerff family

In pursuit of excellence, we welcome Reviews and suggestions in order to maintain our standards, so it saddens us terribly when guests simply do not tell the truth because their threats for a bad Review are not met with a full refund.
This is extortion and we do not give in to that!
So, once having interviewed all staff concerned, let’s put the situation in perspective:

We have two tented Camps situated in a beautiful natural indigenous forest and yes, that forest is home to a myriad of wonderfully interesting animals and insects. That’s the intention of a tented Camp – being close to Nature.
Forest Camp, where you were, has bathrooms open to the forest but the tent itself is sealed from the bathroom with a screen door, the tent all way around with netting and there is a fly screen door onto the deck overlooking the Estuary. All guests are requested to please keep the two screen doors closed to ensure that ‘unwanted forest dwellers’ do not come into the tent. And yet, despite requests, many guests choose to leave them open.
We had a massive wind storm the day before you arrived and there was a slight tear in one of the tent panels of tent 6, where the two adult sons were housed. The tear was so small that regrettably housekeeping did not notice it.
During the early hours of the morning the Camp Manager & Guide were summoned because there was a bat in the tent & the occupants were so terrified they could not sleep. Although there was no longer evidence of the bat, the two men apparently dragged the mattresses & bedding into the bathroom, where they spent the rest of the night. They had requested to be moved to another tent, but this was not possible in the middle of the night and anyway, the Camp was fully occupied.
The maintenance team arrived promptly in the morning to repair the damage but had to wait until 11.30am to gain entrance to the tent because the occupants were still asleep. They had of course missed the early morning game drive.
The repair having been completed, there was no need to move the occupants to another tent.
That evening two checks were carried out on the tent prior to entry, by concerned Saff, to ensure there were no ‘forest dwellers’ present - so that there would be no need to be afraid to enter.

Whether the bat and the scorpion came in through the wind tear or a door inadvertently left open, we will never know, but as the occupants had a disturbed night’s sleep and missed the morning game drive, as they wanted to sleep in, we took responsibility and gave them both a full credit for the accommodation and game drive for one entire day. We felt that a generous conciliatory offer. But to credit the entire family, or even the two of them, for the full two-day stay was just not acceptable as far as we were concerned.

So again, to get to the crux of the matter and a fairer perspective – the tents are not basic – they are 4-Star luxury tents with en-suite bathroom.
They are not full of holes – tent 6 had a slight tear in one panel.
Staff were not unsympathetic or reluctant to act on the compliant - the problem was remedied as soon as possible.
Relocation was not necessary because the maintenance had been completed.
The Reserve is not like a zoo – we are over 36 square kilometres in size and find this comment unacceptable.

If our Staff are at fault, we acknowledge it – our Housekeeper did not notice the tear and that was an unfortunate error – but being in the bush, these things do happen in our business.
But to try and extort free accommodation, all meals, game drives, drinks, boat excursions etc. for the entire family of four, because of a simple housekeeping error, is unacceptable and shameful.

Give credit where credit is due - Hans, in your own words to your Tour Operator: “Everything else is arranged wonderfully”.

Carol & the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024

We had an amazing time at Sibuya. From the first contact at reception to our departure , the level of service, genuine friendliness and quality of experiences was top notch. The team at Forest Camp was incredible!

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank renatadX7829LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Hi 'RenatadX7829LW'
We're all thrilled to hear that you had a 'once in a lifetime' experience at Sibuya's Forest Camp - thank you for the great Review. We really appreciate the support.
Hopefully your lasting memories will bring you back for a revisit in the future.
Wishing you happy days
Carol & the Forest Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews