We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
301
26
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
26
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kariega river game reserve boat ride narina trogon bird life small boat south africa lion cubs wonderful experience two nights close range amazing days his passion our night stay exceeded our expectations knowledgeable guide sense of humour
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Having never been to a game reserve we dipped our toes in the water at Sibuya. From the boat trip up the river to our final drive we enjoyed every moment. We could not have asked for better hospitality from Michelle and her team nor a more knowledgeable and entertaining guide than Daniel. We never thought that we would be within a few feet of a lioness and her cubs as they investigated our vehicle, nor that we would find out so much about the wildlife around us. A highlight of our trip.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you Terry J for the great Review!
We're so happy to hear that 'dipping your toes in the water at Sibuya' was such a rewarding experience and a highlight of your trip!! Dan & Michelle will be delighted at your kind words & personal mention - thank you.
A couple of snippets of news from the Reserve which you'll be sorry to have missed - one of the other Lionesses gave birth last weekend & the Ellies also revealed a very unexpected tiny weeny new baby!
Never a dull day at Sibuya!
We hope that one day you'll return to re-live the memories.
Best wishes & happy adventures.
Carol, Dan, Michelle & the rest of the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Fantastic experience beyond all our expectations
The experience starts from the moment to check in a gentle boat ride on the river the welcome when you arrive at Bush Lodge every detail of your stay is catered for and more besides our hosts Corbus and Megan are an absolute credit to the reserve. Megan's attention to detail to ensure your stay is memorable nothing is too much trouble . Our ranger Corbus (Jacob) was so knowledgeable and managed to even track the elephants down on our last day the encounter we had was unreal. We will live on the memories for years to come Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kinloss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

What a fabulous Review kinloss21 - you made our day - thank you!
it's always so rewarding to hear that we've achieved what we set out to do - create dreams to treasure! Kobus & Megan will be delighted at the personal mention as they're passionate about sharing their life-style.
I wonder if your Elephant experience included spotting the new baby for the first time - it's creating a small sensation as the Ellies were so illusive for a while & now the reason has become evident!
Please share your memories & we hope that one day you'll return to re-live them!
Best wishes for happy days!
Carol, Kobus, Megan & the Bush Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Peace, tranquility, family hospitality, indulgence and excitement all rolled into one.
Arriving by boat is awesome - you get a feel for what the team at Sibuya are all about from the first moment. The reserve is relatively small, which results in very satisfying game drives and enables the staff to really get to know you - their passion for what they do is infectious. The accommodation and food at the forest camp exceeded our expectations.
Our big thanks go to (mum) Lorraine for sharing Cameron with us. He is an awesome ranger - never destined to be a lawyer ! He made learning fun and left a lasting impression. His passion for his country and his craft were wonderful - a great ambassador. If only he had a sense of humour !!!
I feel lucky to have stayed here and wish Sibuya all the very best with its conservation efforts and plans for the park.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SandyA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hello SandyA_10
What a lovely enthusiastic Review - thank you very much for taking the time to post one.
We try to give our guests a personalised, informed but informal Sibuya Experience to treasure & it certainly seems that we hit the mark with you - Cameron will be thrilled to hear because you're absolutely correct in saying that he is totally dedicated & passionate - he truly loves his lifestyle! Thank you for the kind words!
We hope that one day you'll return to share the magic.
Wishing you happy days. Carol, Cameron & the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We stayed three nights at Forest Lodge and were lucky enough to have two of those on our own. The boat trip up river to the lodges was a wonderful introduction, to be greeted by a delicious buffet lunch and then escorted to our 'tent' (we had No.6 overlooking the river) before the evening game drive. The tents are large, with rustic wood furnishing, sofa and armchairs, plenty of storage, a large bathroom with outdoor shower and a stove for cool evenings. The food was excellent, our guide, Cameron, was very knowledgeable and informative, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

We saw lots of wildlife but this is not the place to see massed iconic big game as you do in east Africa, where we have also been on safari. All these eastern Cape safari lodges are relatively new creations, cover a relatively small area and are constrained by fenced public roads and other safety rules. The lions at Sibuya, for example, are in an enclosure of their own and are fed with meat thrown by catapult. Still, we were able to watch the antics of two delightful lion cubs, and watch their father mating with another female. We also saw buffalo, elephant and white rhino, so four of the big five, as well as other animals.

While big game numbers are few, Sibuya is fantastic for its huge variety of birdlife (we spotted 65 different species, with Cameron's help), the clouds of beautiful butterflies, including three types of Swallowtails and the African Monarch, carpets of colourful flowers, along with the stupendous views. We had fun filling in the checklist of what we saw and the only negative I can think of for Sibuya is that it does not have a good butterfly identification book!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Cloech
What a lovely informative Review - Cameron will be delighted at the personal mention - thank you for the kind words!
It's great to hear that you liked the newly replaced Tent 6 - it unfortunately burnt down last year & we had a hectic time getting it re-built & furnished before Season kicked in! The outdoor shower was a new idea & has proved a very popular & romantic addition...
February is the month of butterflies & there were truly 100s around - a gorgeous sight! Many varieties of Swallowtails & the fast-flying Green-veined & Pearly Charaxes (candiope) on the forest margins...a specialist butterfly book is really 'a must'...I'll have to invest in one for the Camps! The existing books are possibly too general.
I think you must have missed the exciting arrival of 'the little-big surprise' - a baby ellie that nobody anticipated!
We hope you have fun recounting your memories of Sibuya & that you'll return to re-live them.
Wishing you happy days. Carol, Cameron & the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Stunning from start to finish - the exhilarating boat ride to camp and the game drives with knowledgeable approachable rangers . Superb accommodation and excellent food and drink - an unforgettable experience .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi James H
Thank you for the lovely Review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your multi-faceted 'Sibuya Experience' & hope you'll return one day soon to re-live the memories!
Best wishes for 2018.
Carol & the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews