We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Peace, tranquility, family hospitality, indulgence and excitement all rolled into one.
Arriving by boat is awesome - you get a feel for what the team at Sibuya are all about from the first moment. The reserve is relatively small, which results in very satisfying game drives and enables the staff to really get to know you - their passion for what they do is infectious. The accommodation and food at the forest camp exceeded our expectations.
Our big thanks go to (mum) Lorraine for sharing Cameron with us. He is an awesome ranger - never destined to be a lawyer ! He made learning fun and left a lasting impression. His passion for his country and his craft were wonderful - a great ambassador. If only he had a sense of humour !!!
I feel lucky to have stayed here and wish Sibuya all the very best with its conservation efforts and plans for the park.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SandyA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello SandyA_10
What a lovely enthusiastic Review - thank you very much for taking the time to post one.
We try to give our guests a personalised, informed but informal Sibuya Experience to treasure & it certainly seems that we hit the mark with you - Cameron will be thrilled to hear because you're absolutely correct in saying that he is totally dedicated & passionate - he truly loves his lifestyle! Thank you for the kind words!
We hope that one day you'll return to share the magic.
Wishing you happy days. Carol, Cameron & the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at Forest Lodge and were lucky enough to have two of those on our own. The boat trip up river to the lodges was a wonderful introduction, to be greeted by a delicious buffet lunch and then escorted to our 'tent' (we had No.6 overlooking the river) before the evening game drive. The tents are large, with rustic wood furnishing, sofa and armchairs, plenty of storage, a large bathroom with outdoor shower and a stove for cool evenings. The food was excellent, our guide, Cameron, was very knowledgeable and informative, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

We saw lots of wildlife but this is not the place to see massed iconic big game as you do in east Africa, where we have also been on safari. All these eastern Cape safari lodges are relatively new creations, cover a relatively small area and are constrained by fenced public roads and other safety rules. The lions at Sibuya, for example, are in an enclosure of their own and are fed with meat thrown by catapult. Still, we were able to watch the antics of two delightful lion cubs, and watch their father mating with another female. We also saw buffalo, elephant and white rhino, so four of the big five, as well as other animals.

While big game numbers are few, Sibuya is fantastic for its huge variety of birdlife (we spotted 65 different species, with Cameron's help), the clouds of beautiful butterflies, including three types of Swallowtails and the African Monarch, carpets of colourful flowers, along with the stupendous views. We had fun filling in the checklist of what we saw and the only negative I can think of for Sibuya is that it does not have a good butterfly identification book!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning from start to finish - the exhilarating boat ride to camp and the game drives with knowledgeable approachable rangers . Superb accommodation and excellent food and drink - an unforgettable experience .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Bush Lodge as a final stop before returning home to Switzerland. This was our first time in South Africa. We had a wonderful time at Bush Lodge. Megan and Iris were very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere at Bush Lodge was amazing and we were spoiled the whole day. Daniel was our ranger. He is a fine person and he really did a great job! He knows a lot about the animals and the nature. We had a wonderful time with him. We could totally switch off and enjoy the time. THANK YOU.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank JoliRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello JoliRupp from a very hot Sibuya!
Thank you for the lovely Review! It's always great to hear that our guests are able to switch off & allow us to spoil them! Daniel & the Bush Lodge Team will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed their attention - thank you for the kind words!
We hope that one day you'll return to experience more of our wonderful country & will return to visit us at Sibuya to enjoy our magnificent wildlife & scenery.
Best wishes from Carol, Daniel, Megan, Iris & the Bush Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here with my husband and 7 and 8 year old sons. We had the most amazing time. The accommodation and food/service is exceptional. I think the river being there (stayed at river lodge) adds an extra dimension to the safari. We loved the boat trip there on the ginger express( thanks Kent!) and our own kayaking. Christian was our ranger. He was first class. So much knowledge and had a fantastic way of talking to the children. We saw 4 of big 5( elusive leopards) and so much more besides. Was such a wonderful time of year with so many of the animals having recently had babies (those lion Cubs!!!). We met some really lovely people and loved eating /sitting round the fire as a group. This is an excellent safari lodge for children...lots of games and books for chill out time. The food was so nice ....best breakfasts of my holiday! Thanks to all the staff who with lots of little extras made our safari out of this world!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank jo723611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Greetings Jo723611 to you & the family
What a wonderful Review - it's always so rewarding to know that we scored an 'out of this world!' comment - thank you! Christiaan & the rest of the River Camp Team will be thrilled - as will be the 'Ginger Ninja' - Kent, who did your river transfer.
I'm sure you enjoyed all the babies - at this time of year they're plentiful & quite delightful with their antics! Added very recently are two of the most adorable little giraffes - Christiaan was the first to spot them when they were so new that both still had their umbilical cords attached!
Lisette will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed her meals as pleasing everyone is a huge challenge.
Wishing you all a fabulous adventure-filled 2018 & hoping that one day you'll return to re-live the memories at Sibuya...
Carol, Christiaan & the River Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
10 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
21,1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
31,2 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22,1 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
21,7 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
11,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge

Address: 39 Eastbourne Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R 5 639 - R 8 847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big 5 Sibuya has more navigable river than any other game reserve in South Africa. The unique experience starts immediately with a 45 minute boat transfer from the village of Kenton-on-Sea to River or Forest Camp - luxury en-suite tented accommodation nestled in riverine forest and constructed in an environmentally conscious manner. Luxurious Bush Lodge, situated just outside the main Reserve in a pristine indigenous forested valley, is accessed the same way and then guests are transferred by game drive vehicle to the Lodge. All buffet-stlye meals & beverages are included - as are canoeing, fishing, swimming, birding etc. Add-on activities at a nominal extra rate include massages, horse riding on the beach and golf. An abundance of wildlife from Elephants to Otters and prolific bird life await you. Guests are hosted and guided by a team of experienced knowledgeable professionals who ensure a memorable personalised stay which will leave you saying 'Sibuya!' - 'We will return!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sibuya Game Reserve And Tented Camp
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp Hotel Kenton-On-Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing