We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
293
25
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
25
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskariega rivergame reserveboat ridenarina trogonbird lifesouth africasmall boatlion cubswonderful experiencetwo nightsmoment you arriveclose rangeour night stayhis jobhis passionfinal stopamazing days
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018

We stayed three nights at Forest Lodge and were lucky enough to have two of those on our own. The boat trip up river to the lodges was a wonderful introduction, to be greeted by a delicious buffet lunch and then escorted to our 'tent' (we had No.6 overlooking the river) before the evening game drive. The tents are large, with rustic wood furnishing, sofa and armchairs, plenty of storage, a large bathroom with outdoor shower and a stove for cool evenings. The food was excellent, our guide, Cameron, was very knowledgeable and informative, and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

We saw lots of wildlife but this is not the place to see massed iconic big game as you do in east Africa, where we have also been on safari. All these eastern Cape safari lodges are relatively new creations, cover a relatively small area and are constrained by fenced public roads and other safety rules. The lions at Sibuya, for example, are in an enclosure of their own and are fed with meat thrown by catapult. Still, we were able to watch the antics of two delightful lion cubs, and watch their father mating with another female. We also saw buffalo, elephant and white rhino, so four of the big five, as well as other animals.

While big game numbers are few, Sibuya is fantastic for its huge variety of birdlife (we spotted 65 different species, with Cameron's help), the clouds of beautiful butterflies, including three types of Swallowtails and the African Monarch, carpets of colourful flowers, along with the stupendous views. We had fun filling in the checklist of what we saw and the only negative I can think of for Sibuya is that it does not have a good butterfly identification book!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Cloech
What a lovely informative Review - Cameron will be delighted at the personal mention - thank you for the kind words!
It's great to hear that you liked the newly replaced Tent 6 - it unfortunately burnt down last year & we had a hectic time getting it re-built & furnished before Season kicked in! The outdoor shower was a new idea & has proved a very popular & romantic addition...
February is the month of butterflies & there were truly 100s around - a gorgeous sight! Many varieties of Swallowtails & the fast-flying Green-veined & Pearly Charaxes (candiope) on the forest margins...a specialist butterfly book is really 'a must'...I'll have to invest in one for the Camps! The existing books are possibly too general.
I think you must have missed the exciting arrival of 'the little-big surprise' - a baby ellie that nobody anticipated!
We hope you have fun recounting your memories of Sibuya & that you'll return to re-live them.
Wishing you happy days. Carol, Cameron & the Forest Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Stunning from start to finish - the exhilarating boat ride to camp and the game drives with knowledgeable approachable rangers . Superb accommodation and excellent food and drink - an unforgettable experience .

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hi James H
Thank you for the lovely Review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your multi-faceted 'Sibuya Experience' & hope you'll return one day soon to re-live the memories!
Best wishes for 2018.
Carol & the Sibuya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We stayed at Bush Lodge as a final stop before returning home to Switzerland. This was our first time in South Africa. We had a wonderful time at Bush Lodge. Megan and Iris were very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere at Bush Lodge was amazing and we were spoiled the whole day. Daniel was our ranger. He is a fine person and he really did a great job! He knows a lot about the animals and the nature. We had a wonderful time with him. We could totally switch off and enjoy the time. THANK YOU.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank JoliRupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello JoliRupp from a very hot Sibuya!
Thank you for the lovely Review! It's always great to hear that our guests are able to switch off & allow us to spoil them! Daniel & the Bush Lodge Team will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed their attention - thank you for the kind words!
We hope that one day you'll return to experience more of our wonderful country & will return to visit us at Sibuya to enjoy our magnificent wildlife & scenery.
Best wishes from Carol, Daniel, Megan, Iris & the Bush Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

I spent 2 nights here with my husband and 7 and 8 year old sons. We had the most amazing time. The accommodation and food/service is exceptional. I think the river being there (stayed at river lodge) adds an extra dimension to the safari. We loved the boat trip there on the ginger express( thanks Kent!) and our own kayaking. Christian was our ranger. He was first class. So much knowledge and had a fantastic way of talking to the children. We saw 4 of big 5( elusive leopards) and so much more besides. Was such a wonderful time of year with so many of the animals having recently had babies (those lion Cubs!!!). We met some really lovely people and loved eating /sitting round the fire as a group. This is an excellent safari lodge for children...lots of games and books for chill out time. The food was so nice ....best breakfasts of my holiday! Thanks to all the staff who with lots of little extras made our safari out of this world!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank jo723611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Greetings Jo723611 to you & the family
What a wonderful Review - it's always so rewarding to know that we scored an 'out of this world!' comment - thank you! Christiaan & the rest of the River Camp Team will be thrilled - as will be the 'Ginger Ninja' - Kent, who did your river transfer.
I'm sure you enjoyed all the babies - at this time of year they're plentiful & quite delightful with their antics! Added very recently are two of the most adorable little giraffes - Christiaan was the first to spot them when they were so new that both still had their umbilical cords attached!
Lisette will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed her meals as pleasing everyone is a huge challenge.
Wishing you all a fabulous adventure-filled 2018 & hoping that one day you'll return to re-live the memories at Sibuya...
Carol, Christiaan & the River Camp Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Because we booked so late in the month, we had to move around a little, but I was grateful we could stay at all. First night we stayed at River Camp, next night Forest Camp, and then back to River Camp -- and I'm so glad we got to see both! Forest Camp's tents are a bit more rustic than River Camp's which really aren't tent-like at all. :) Both are luxurious, and Forest Camp's lodge was just magical at night. Forest Camp was also kid-free, which was kind of nice in the evenings. At river camp we experienced both really well-behaved children (a lovely Swedish family) and some young boys from another family who where a bit more...rambunctious... at the table.
River Camp's ranger, Patrick, was super fantastic, and the food was good. Everyone across the board was friendly and interesting and we met fun people on the game drives. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol f, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hi Kim F
Thank you for taking the trouble to post such a lovely Review - it's great to hear that you 'didn't want to leave!' - maybe next time around you'll stay for longer.
I'm happy to hear that you appreciated both River & Forest Camps because the ambience is very different in both, so from that point of view, you were lucky to have the double experience!
If you enjoyed Forest Camp at night - you would be enthralled to see it transformed & decked out with tiny fairy lights for a wedding - so very magical & romantic!
Wishing you many happy days in 2018.
Carol, CJ, Cameron & the River & Forest Camp Teams.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews