We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robin V

Awesome first safari experiece

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 09 Nov 2023via mobile
For a first safari this was more than expected! Hearing a lot of stories about other game reserve, this one is very green. To get at the lodging you’ll need a boatrip first! And there is were the party started! Some drinks to get in the mood together with some nice sight-seeing stories from Calem and Lynique. After 45 min, deep on the river/ forest there was our main basecamp. Not so very basic at all. Only the solar power and no mobile internet. Lodging in the tent was pure luxury! This game reserve was in our honeymoon journey across South-Africa due And even that the staff knew (kudos Lisa)! We had a great first evening with a romantic table at the fireplace with some sparkling wine. What a treat! Cruising between the animmals was a superb experience! Our ranger Calem explained everything - highly trained and experienced! Between the morning and afternoon game driving there was some time to relax or even do some fishing! Another great experience with JP, who knows his fishing and snakes! Breakfast, lunch and diner are on top level. Leon knows his braai!
Do we saw the big 5? No, 3 out of 5 isn’t that bad at all. The experience it elf and the great reserve of Sibuya topped it all together with this great staff!
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Before you go on the boat to begin your journey, make sure you text your family/friends. There is...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve, responded to this review
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Greetings & Congratulations to the newly-weds!
Thank you very much Robin for the great Review - we're so honoured that you chose Sibuya as a honeymoon destination! We did our best to make it an exclusive romantic experience so it's great to know that you enjoyed & appreciated the small personal touches which made your stay memorable.
Maybe one day you'll be back to make more special memories...
Wishing you both happiness always.

Carol, Calem, Linique, Lisa, Pj, Leon & the rest of the Forest Camp Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 595
  • Priceline
    R 1 595
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 595
  • Vio.com
    R 1 591
0.4 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 765
R 727
  • Priceline
    R 765
  • Agoda.com
    R 765
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunwerkin Self Catering
R 1 300
    0.5 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
    Entrance to Woodlands Reception
    R 865
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      R 865
    2.6 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
    Free parking
    Pool
    R 1 900
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 900
    0.4 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
    R 2 180
      1.2 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
      R 15 140
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Booking.com
        R 14 800
      • Expedia.com
        R 14 740
      • Priceline
        R 14 800
      10.0 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
      Free parking
      Pool
      R 15 140
      R 14 800
      • Expedia.com
        R 14 991
      • Hotels.com
        R 15 140
      • Priceline
        R 14 800
      10.7 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
      Free parking
      Breakfast included
      R 12 540
      R 12 200
      • Hotels.com
        R 12 540
      • Expedia.com
        R 12 417
      • Agoda.com
        R 12 200
      11.2 km from Sibuya Game Reserve
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Kenton-on-Sea
      Reviews (73)
      Filter reviews
      73 results
      Traveller rating
      60
      11
      2
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      60
      11
      2
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews kariega river boat trip camp forest tent kenton rhino game bushveld ranger safari lodge banks buffalo fires
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 73 reviews
      Reviewed 29 June 2023

      In celebration of my wife’s birthday, my wife and I decided to go on a safari and spend 2-nights at Sibuya Forest Camp. After receiving a warm welcome at Sibuya’s Reception, which is situated near the Kariega River mouth in the small seaside town of Kenton-on-Sea, we were transferred to the forest camp by boat, which took approximately thirty-minutes. The boat trip was an enjoyable experience, and certainly a unique way for us to arrive at our destination.
      Our luxurious secluded tent, situated on the banks of the Kariega River, within the indigenous forest, was extremely spacious and clean, with a comfortable king size bed, relaxing lounge area, en-suite bathroom, as well as a private deck, with lovely views of the river and bushveld. For the chilly evenings, the fireplace in the tent was put to good use.
      The Forest Camp main lodge, connected to the tents by wooden walkways, has appealing facilities, including the open plan dining, lounge, and bar areas, with a large outdoor deck area with a centre fireplace. The fires lit in the evenings really added to the pleasant ambiance of the camp.
      Miles the manger was excellent, ensuring that everything was handled perfectly to ensure a memorable stay. The other staff were very attentive, efficient, and friendly, and went out of their way to ensure that at all times we were well looked after. The head chef Saaz was exceptional, as the food was superb, and our specific dietary needs were well catered for. The complimentary sparkling wine, and scrumptious chocolate birthday cake that my wife received for her birthday was greatly appreciated.
      Our ranger Jono was professional and knowledgeable. During our stay we had the exclusive use of our own game vehicle which was a real bonus. The refreshments provided on the game drives were delicious, particularly the snacks and “bush brew” (coffee, hot chocolate and amarula) in the mornings, and the sundowners in the afternoon.
      We had fantastic sightings and saw lots of game, including four of the big five, elephant, rhino, lion, and buffalo.
      Overall, we had an excellent safari at Sibuya and definitely hope to be back again.

      Date of stay: July 2022
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank westonc
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

      Greetings 'Westonc'
      My response is somewhat belated because your Review has for some reason, only just popped up on our site! Apologies! & many thanks for the glowing report - we very much appreciate the support & I know Miles & the Camp staff will be thrilled at your kind words!
      The Reserve is looking wonderfully green after very good rains & there are babies arriving daily - what a sight offering so many great photographic opportunities!
      Hopefully you still have happy memories of your very special Birthday stay at Forest Camp & will return to make more!
      Best wishes from Carol & the Forest Camp Team.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 December 2021 via mobile

      Big shout out to Luke our Ranger for the day trip!! We’ve been a few times, and always have a great day. We missed the elephants, but so much more to see and getting up close to the rhino is always such a special experience! It stands out from other safaris by combining the river trip with the game drive. Hope to be back soon!

      Date of stay: December 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Archybald
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

      Greetings Archybald - thank you for the great Review - Luke is going to be thrilled when I pass it on!
      We so enjoy hearing that our guests have shared our enthusiasm & passion i- thank you for supporting our little piece of paradise with return trips!
      Maybe the magic is in the name 'Sibuya' - meaning 'we will return'!
      We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
      Very warm wishes for a happy, healthy 2022.
      Carol, Luke & the Team.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

      We had an absolute fun, amazing and unforgettable experience.
      Kent is/was out-and-out by far the BEST Ranger EVER!
      He set the standards very high for other Rangers.

      I highly recommend this place, to enjoy, switch-off, relax, energise and refuel.

      The staff is Affectionate, Adventurous, Enjoyable, Fun, Friendly, Compassionate and Helpful.

      Thank you for such an astonishing and memorable adventure.

      Room tip: Be comfortable and enjoy every single moment Bathing suits for canoeing and swimming Binoculars is a MUST Switch off your cell phone
      Date of stay: September 2021
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank NielaEngel
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2021

      Hello 'NielaEngel'
      Thank you for these wonderful praises - we're all thrilled - especially Kent!!
      It's always incredibly rewarding for us to receive such a positive response to a 'Sibuya Experience' - makes us smile & smile - because then all the hard work & passion is acknowledged & it means we've achieved what we set out to do & that is to give our guests the best, most memorable time ever!
      Thank you for the recommendation - your support is invaluable & we hope to welcome you back one day to relive the memories!
      Warm wishes from Carol, Kent & Team Sibuya

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 16 August 2021

      Note: I originally posted this onthe Sibuya River Camp page but we actually stayed at Forest Camp. Due to Covid, it was the only one open, but I think this was the best location for us anyway! River Camp is geared toward families with younger children. We did have "kids" with us, ranging in age from 13 to 19. Forest Camp was great for all of us.

      I loved this place! It reminded me of Maho Bay on St. John (now closed) but with much better accommodations, plus in South Africa! Hopefully someone who reads this will have also been to Maho Bay… . It was quite chilly at night as we were in South Africa in their winter and also just a chilly week, but the “tents” (tents is not exactly what they are as they have nice flooring, full bathrooms, normal furniture, etc.) were still cozy with fires and hot water bottles that the staff placed in our beds before we went in for the night. The staff are just lovely and so helpful. The food was fantastic — every single meal — and they accommodated our dietary restrictions. I loved kayaking on the river and I’m sure we would have gone swimming in just a bit warmer temperatures. We saw so many animals on our safari drives every time and loved our guide (Jono), who was informative, entertaining with lots of stories, super patient with all of our questions, and a great driver! I very much recommend this place.

      Date of stay: July 2021
        • Value
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank lisasZ8361PH
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

      Hi lisasZ8361PH
      What a great Review - thank you! We're all thrilled to hear that you loved Forest Camp because we love to share it & are so rewarded when our guests appreciate it & our warm hospitality. We do our very best to make everyone comfortable & hope they leave feeling like members of our extended 'International Sibuya Family' - with happy memories to last a life-time!
      Jono will be thrilled at the personal mention & Doug will be very happy to hear that 'the food was fantastic' - thank you for the kind words - I'll certainly pass them on to the Team.
      'Sibuya' means 'We will return!' - so we look forward to welcoming you back!
      Best wishes for health & happiness for the remainder of 2021.
      Carol, Jono & the Forest Camp Team.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 20 July 2021

      We stayed in the Forest lodge and loved it! We saw the River lodge (more geared to younger families) and the Bush lodge (fancier with AC and real rooms) but we had the best experience. The Glamping Tents are equipped with wood burning stoves full bathrooms and showers (baths too) and porches and river views. The food was incredible and service amazing! The guides were all helpful and knowledgeable and we had Jonno (Johnathan ) who was a rock star. The river rides day and night combined with the morning and afternoon (and night) game drives were amazing. We saw 4/5 of the big five up close (no Jaguar) and loved every minute. The cold July nights were warmed by big fires and hot water bottles and it just added to the adventure. Highly reccomend the Forest Camp.

      Room tip: Forest camp for large families and parties, Bush camp for fancy, RIver for small kids.
      Date of stay: July 2021
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank 345tripps
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      carol fox, Owner at Sibuya Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

      Greetings 345tripps
      What a great Review - thank you - we really appreciate the support & are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Forest Camp with the Team! Jono is delighted at the personal mention & asked me to tell you how much he enjoyed sharing Sibuya with you!
      Happy to hear that you had good game viewing. After a very harsh drought, we've had lovely rains so the animals & Reserve are looking magnificent. A little correction - we do not have Jaguars but Leopards - which are just as elusive!
      We hope you enjoy your memories & that you'll be back one day to re-live them.
      Best wishes for a healthy, happy 2021.
      Carol, Jono & the Forest Camp Team.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews