We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 892)
Filter reviews
1 892 results
Traveller rating
1 498
298
65
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 498
298
65
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgekariega game reservesafari experiencesettlers driftukhozi lodgeexcellent experiencethe riverwhole experienceour honeymoonplunge poolnatural environmentwild animalscape townblack rhinofrom start to finishbuffet stylegreat fun
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 1 892 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Booked for 2 nights at this place it rained all day and night which is not the fault of the reserve. the problem I had was the food I have travelled thousand' of mile's to eat fish and chips or pizza. I could have saved money and gone to the end of my street.
You pay all that money and you get poor quality food .
In the evening we had roast pork this was handed out be the staff like war ration's just in case you had too much. In the morning the bacon was cold and when asked for toast they produced a pile from under the counter covered in a towel stone cold that must have been made the night before and the coffee Machine was brocken .
I had to leave after just one day because poor quality food had triggered my I.B.S.
It's a nice place but when you'r paying big buck's you want good food not fish and chip's I have been here before in good weather and the trips' are fantastic.

Room Tip: If it's raining don't go Book Ukozi the food is better there's a restaurant but it's closed until October
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi David,
We are really sorry that the rain impacted negatively on your safari experience. We have had three very dry years and so the rain is very welcome, especially for the wildlife. We are also sorry to read that you did not enjoy the food on your first day at Main Lodge. As you know from your previous visit, we offer a selection of buffet choices for all meals at Main Lodge. Our meals are all plated at our 4-star superior and 5-star lodges. We try our best to ensure that there is a selection of food available for the wide range of guests preferences. We are very sorry that you did not let us know about your IBS as we would have happily prepared specific food for you on request. I have forwarded your comments to our lodge and food and beverage managers, along with the comments that you posted on Google on 15 March. I have particularly noted that guests must be helped with the toaster, given fresh coffee and sufficient helpings at all meals. Guest feedback is very important to us and we do take this into consideration to help us improve all our services at Kariega. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We visited Kariega as the 2nd part of our trip to South Africa . It was truly unbelievable . We stayed at the Settlers Drift lodge . On arrival we were greeted with drinks and a very friendly welcome . The staff were fantastic . We were given a quick introduction to the resort and then met our 'Ranger' for the trip , Chris . What a guy(de) ! He knew everything - from the largest elephant to the smallest spider - his knowledge of the animals and surroundings was just truly remarkable . We were taken to our living accomodation - O.M.G ! What a place ! The tented lodges were fitted to the highest standard . Inside/Outside shower / views of the reserve - there was nothing more we could have wished for . The lodge was spotless . We had 2 drives per day , a 6am one and a 3/4pm one , each lasting between 3-4 hours . Continental breakfast before the early one and ful a la carte breakfast on return . The morning drive and the afternoon drives are different , purely becuase of the animals natural behaviour - it was fascinating ! Lions , Elephants , Rhinos , Giraffes , Hippos , Impala , Warthog , Zebra - i could go on ..... the Game Reserve was just fantastic . Lunch was a light brunch style buffet of the highest quality and evening meal was a la carte with 3 choice of starter/main and dessert . THe food was truly 5* ! Kariega is FAULTLESS ! It delivered everything we expected and a lot more ! You will not regret visiting

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LaurenceHaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

A fabulous lodge with such amazing and friendly staff. It was the perfect end to our honeymoon, despite some bad weather the first day or two. We were looked after very well and given a complimentary massage and a private dinner as we were honeymooners. Thank you, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Just visited Settlers Drift for 4 nights. Amazing Place. Staff great. Game Ranger Chris was fantastic, cannot thank him enough. He made our stay unforgettable. Seen all animals and visited beatiful picnic spots. Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrequentFlier758883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Friendly staff. If you’re unlucky enough to be there when it’s raining prepare for a miserable trip. All jeeps are open top and you’re provided with smelly damp ponchos that don’t close and damp blankets.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmcinerney2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We are very sorry that you had rain during your stay with us at Kariega. You may not know that our area is experiencing a long and severe drought and, although rain makes for challenging safaris, we desperately need the rain. We advertise that all our vehicles are open and without any roof covering. We feel that this ensures a completely unobstructed safari experience with no poles and roof to obscure any views. However, this does mean that we need to have very good ponchos. We have invested in good quality gear and we sincerely apologize that you were given items that were damp and did not close correctly. We have sent your feedback to our ranger team as this is not acceptable. We're glad you enjoyed our friendly team and our apologies for the lack of dry gear. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews