We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 888)
Filter reviews
1 889 results
Traveller rating
1 497
296
65
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 497
296
65
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgekariega game reservesafari experiencesettlers driftukhozi lodgeexcellent experiencethe riverwhole experienceour honeymoonplunge poolnatural environmentwild animalscape townblack rhinofrom start to finishbuffet stylegreat fun
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 1 889 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

A fabulous lodge with such amazing and friendly staff. It was the perfect end to our honeymoon, despite some bad weather the first day or two. We were looked after very well and given a complimentary massage and a private dinner as we were honeymooners. Thank you, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Just visited Settlers Drift for 4 nights. Amazing Place. Staff great. Game Ranger Chris was fantastic, cannot thank him enough. He made our stay unforgettable. Seen all animals and visited beatiful picnic spots. Defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FrequentFlier758883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Friendly staff. If you’re unlucky enough to be there when it’s raining prepare for a miserable trip. All jeeps are open top and you’re provided with smelly damp ponchos that don’t close and damp blankets.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmcinerney2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

We are very sorry that you had rain during your stay with us at Kariega. You may not know that our area is experiencing a long and severe drought and, although rain makes for challenging safaris, we desperately need the rain. We advertise that all our vehicles are open and without any roof covering. We feel that this ensures a completely unobstructed safari experience with no poles and roof to obscure any views. However, this does mean that we need to have very good ponchos. We have invested in good quality gear and we sincerely apologize that you were given items that were damp and did not close correctly. We have sent your feedback to our ranger team as this is not acceptable. We're glad you enjoyed our friendly team and our apologies for the lack of dry gear. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

A fantastic Game reserve & Settlers Drift was certainly up there in 5 star quality. The rooms were very spacious & everything you could ask for. No TV, however not needed! The food & wine was outstanding! However, There were too many scorpions & spiders in our rooms at night for our liking & the overall price was too much.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michel240879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Michel,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Settlers Drift. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your safari and stay with us. Thank you for your great feedback. We are very sorry that you found spiders and scorpions in your luxury tent. We have discussed this with the lodge manager and she sincerely apologises. We would have been happy to add additional checks if you had raised this with us during your stay. Our lodge team will continue with regular efforts to remove any insects found in the suites. We do want to let guests know that insects are part of the African bush experience. Our housekeeping team clear them out whenever they see them but it is possible for them return. The occurrence of scorpions in the rooms is rare. To our knowledge we have only had three cases of these being found inside in the three years that the lodge has been open. Most insects are not harmful.
Additionally, we do understand that a safari is most often the most expensive part of any African holiday. Running a 5-star lodge and a growing wildlife conservation area takes significant resources and we are grateful that you chose to assist with our conservation efforts.
With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We had a two night stay at Settlers Drift and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our tented suite was very luxurious with an indoor/outdoor all glass shower - which was a bit unnerving the first time!

We really enjoyed the game drives because as well as giraffes, zebra, wildebeest and antelopes we saw lions, white and black rhino, elephants and even a group of hippos swimming in the river.

We stopped for morning coffee and sundowners and everything was so well organised.

On the first evening after the drive our ranger Chris told us to grab a warm coat and then come straight back. By this time it was dark and the six of us were all driven in the safari jeep to a clearing on a dry river bed where a table lit by candlelight had been laid out for us and the chef did a BBQ for us plus there were salads and desserts and any drink you could think of which had all been specially transported there for us. It was such a surprise and a truly memorable experience.

The main lodge has a boma which is lovely to sit around under the stars while you have a night cap with your fellow guests.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Settlers Drift. Everyone was very friendly and the food was lovely and we would recommend the experience to anyone.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank viv20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews