We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Nearby Hotels
The House Quarters(Kenton-on-Sea)
US$129
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Manor B & B(Kenton-on-Sea)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 198
US$1 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 813)
Filter reviews
1 813 results
Traveller rating
1 427
290
65
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 427
290
65
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgekariega game reservesafari experiencesettlers driftukhozi lodgethe riverexcellent experienceprivate poolwhole experiencenatural environmentour honeymoonwild animalscape townhis knowledgeblack rhinofrom start to finishbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1 813 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Just returned from a five night stay at Kariega Main Lodge.

We were very fortunate to be allocated the best guide JP for our stay. JP made every game drive and activity great fun as well as being informative. His passion for wildlife conservation is a credit to Kariega. He even laughed at our corny jokes!

A special mention to Wilmie for also accompanying us on some of the game drives and bush walks, her enthusiasm for the natural world is infectious. Wilmie is doing a great job training JP to the next level.

We were also very lucky to have two lovely couples on our vehicle – great company.
Our chalet was spacious, clean and comfortable.

The food in the restaurant was tasty and plentiful and all the staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble – we definitely received service with a smile.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

Safari at Kariega was really nice! our Ranger Talent was very nice and had good experience!
the rest of the Main Lodge was not ok for us according to the pricelevel!
toilets were not clean, waiters were not asking if we want to drink something on the terrasse!
also food did not taste very good...restaurant too big and noisy! not very cosy.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E7137ZAnicolep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay at Kariega Main Lodge. We really pleased that you enjoyed your safari experience and have passed on your thanks to ranger Talent. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy all of your experiences and that there were issues regarding cleanliness and service. We have taken these up with our relevant teams and really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience us so that we can improve.

We believe that we offer a safari experience at very fair rates. The cost at Kariega includes all meals and safari experiences. On average 4-star hotels in Cape Town charge half the price for room and breakfast only. Your visit was during our peak season and thus our restaurant was full of people, of excitedly discussing their close-up safari experiences!

Thanks again for visiting and for posting your comments. Please follow our blog and social media channels for updates. With kind regards from all at Kariega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The game viewing and our Ranger JC where 5 star plus. See the big five and much more.
Accommodation are very nice, we stayed close to the main building at the River Lodge.
Only compainded was the food quality and freshness , not so much breakfast and lunch,
That was ok but the dinner was cooked to order and never came the way we ordered.
Some people felt unwell in our group and 2 got quite sick.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ulli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Ulli,
Thank you for adding your review. We are very sorry that two people in the group were unwell. We have checked with the lodge team and can confirm that this was not related to the food at the lodge. We are sorry that your dinner did not come as you ordered. We have also fed this back to the chef and impressed the importance of ensuring that guest requests are fulfilled. We have also forwarded your comments on to ranger JC. With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We were blown away by the amazing service, breath taking views, delicious food and abundant wildlife.
Outside of game drives we were able to canoe along the river, go for boat rides, relax or enjoy the spa.

Would highly highly recommend this holiday destination.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hughv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

the service of staff was very good. Unfortunately you should not advertise your game reserve as wheelchair accessible. The reserve looks more as a zoo but surrounding is very nice. the rooms have nice views, but as described above not accessible for a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank myriamo659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Myriam,

We would very much like to hear from you as we do not advertise our game reserve as wheelchair accessible and we need to urgently find out where you saw this advertisement to correct this as a priority.. Please can you contact our General Manager Mr Alan Weyer on alan@kariega.co.za.

Additionally, Kariega is a 10,000 hectare wilderness area and not at all like a zoo. The conservation project started 25 years ago and is an inspiring and gradual tale of the complicated merging of 15 different farms - arguably the most accomplished conservation project in the Eastern Cape. The reserve is a safe haven for wildlife, including critically endangered rhino and lion. Many wilderness areas in Africa may be larger or have been in existence for many more years but we want to share the story about how conservation can be built from the ground up in a world where wilderness areas are shrinking and wildlife is being killed instead of protected.

We look forward to hearing from you via email. With kind regards from all at Kariega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews