We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$713
View deal
TripadvisorUS$713
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$713
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 340)
Filter reviews
2 340 results
Traveller rating
1 885
346
72
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 885
346
72
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kariega game reserve safari experience settlers drift excellent experience the river whole experience private pool natural environment wild animals great safari our honeymoon cape town from start to finish his knowledge black rhino three days early morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 505 - 1 510 of 2 340 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Absolutely amazing place. Experiences and memories to treasure.

Having never been on a (family) safari holiday before we were unsure as to what to expect in terms of both the set up and the wildlife. We shouldn't have doubted anything. This place is something else. We are still buzzing. We stayed 5 nights at the Ukhozi Lodge.

Yes. The animals are there. And it's pretty awesome being a few feet away from lions, elephants and rhinos. But it's equally brilliant seeing some of the 'less fashionable' creatures close up. Warthogs are unintentionally hilarious; ostrich are huge; giraffes are gentle. The theatre of the plains and the scrubs plays itself out every day and just for a few days we were able to watch and feel like a small part of it.

But what makes Kareiga so fantastic is the people. The rangers take responsibility for your activities (& well being!) for the duration of your stay. They are friendly, encyclopedic and very obviously incredibly passionate about the widlife. We were lucky enough to have Rosie who is an exceptional person and proved to be a tremendous ranger. Special mention also to Imogen and Jordan (master lion tracker!). But within the reserve all the staff are friendly and relaxed. Ukhozi was so comfortable it felt like our home!

We wondered at first whether 5 nights would prove to be too long. It seems most stay for 2-3 nights. But for us 5 nights was perfect. We loved every game drive, every activity and every glorious sundowner out on the reserve.

Highly recommended. We loved it.

Room tip: Ukhozi was ace.wifi in the main lodge.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank mattyw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days early October and had the most amazing time! We were the first cabin you came to in the main lodge which was very large, with brilliant views! Our game driver rudi we cannot say enough about him, he made the trip more than we could have imagined his knowledge of the animal,plant life and surrounding area was so extensive. The food here was amazing something for everybody and all the rest of the staff were so helpful. We were lucky enough to do a boat trip and a walk through the bush which was brilliant, only thing we didn't do was take warm enough clothes, layers are a definite must but luckily the game drives do have blankets. Cannot recommend this place enough

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jadelc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Excellent in terms of the game drives, when every effort is made to see the various animals. However, the food could be better and the wine selection was poor. More activities needed during the day as we felt we were left on our own with nothing offered on 2 of the days.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GillianW196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Hi Gillian,
Thank you for your review of your stay at Kariega Main Lodge. We are so glad that you enjoyed an excellent safari experience. We are sorry that you did not enjoy any of our other many activities during the day. These are all included in your package: a river trip on the Kariega Queen, guided game walks, relaxing at the pool, a session at the gym, using the free wifi at Main Lodge, enjoying the scenery from the Main Lodge balcony or your private balcony in your chalet, catching up on a bit of Discovery Channel on the tellie.... With the early morning starts many guests like to just relax during the middle of the day. We also offer a spa and curio shop. We have given your feedback to your ranger to ensure all this is communicated to guests. Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards from Kariega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

These two days at Kariega were an unforgettable event for us. Imogen was our guide for the safari tours and she did a fantastic job. Many thanks to her and all the helpful and friendly stuff of Kariega.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gerryfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We were here on our Babymoon and Kariega certainly made it one we will never forget! It was an amazing experience assisted by their wonderful staff (especially our ranger Chris!) and 5 star facilities. Thank you Kariega!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katieoneill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews