We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two great days at a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Weilheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two great days at a great place”
Reviewed 9 September 2015

From booking process to check-out very professional! The chalets are generous in space and well equiped. A great location with lots of animals and experienced staff and rangers. Highly recommendable!!

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank alexander2015525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    247
    58
    18
    10
See reviews for
452
790
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Definitely an amazing experience. My wife and I stayed at the brand new Settler's Drift Lodge and it was first class. Well worth the additional cost. Our Ranger, Wayne, was extremely professional and courteous. Amazing place all around.


  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christinacF2318LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Decided to celebrate my 50th Birthday at Kariega with friends and Family. We stayed at The Homestead and had the most memorable experience. The food, hospitality and game drives were superb. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mtrzebiatow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Happy Birthday! We are so glad that you enjoyed your celebration at Kariega Homestead private lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back again with family and friends.
With kind regards from the Kariega team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed already 5 times at Kariega in the last 2 years and we will visit it again. We can only recommend it. Nice service, friendly and helpful staff. Very nice location and every time an unforgettable safari experience.

  • Stayed September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank florianw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Our last 3 day stop en route along the Garden Route and what a way to end our trip. We arrived late and only just made our afternoon game drive with Jo - rainy, cold and totally not what we had expected. By the end of the drive, the rain had stopped and we had encountered white rhino, water buffalo and a host of antelope - smiles were back on our faces. Our Ranger guide Jo was excellent and made for a relaxing atmosphere even before our drink stops. Our room was very comfortable with great views across the reserve and the food was tasty and plenty. Restaurant staff were also very friendly with quick service. A great way to end a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWVE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
4.2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
39.2 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
349 reviews
33.5 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
51 reviews
31.7 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 29 in Grahamstown
1 145 reviews
8.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges

Property: Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Address: R343 | Between Kenton On Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Price range (per night): R6 885 - R9 821
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kariega Game Reserve is a 10,000 hectare Big 5 malaria-free private game reserve in the Eastern Cape region of South Africa. The safari experience combines close up Big 5 game viewing, an expansive variety of fauna, flora and birdlife, a landscape spanning 5 eco-systems and dramatic views and vistas. Kariega Game Reserve has five safari lodges. Main Lodge consists of 21 separate log chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms, lounge and private balcony; River Lodge has 10 suites and is located on the Bushman's River; Ukhozi Lodge has 10 spacious suites, each with private pools and great views; Settlers Drift Tented Lodge has 9 modern but intimate suites surrounded by natural bush and overlooking the Bushman's River wilderness area and lastly the Homestead private lodge is perfectly suited for families or groups of friends of up to 14 people. Rates include accommodation, meals, morning and evening game drives with your experienced guide, walking safaris and a river trip. Fishing, canoeing and other activities can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariega Game Reserve Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Kariega Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing