We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 812)
Filter reviews
1 812 results
Traveller rating
1 426
290
65
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 426
290
65
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgekariega game reservesafari experiencesettlers driftukhozi lodgethe riverexcellent experienceprivate poolwhole experiencenatural environmentour honeymoonwild animalscape townhis knowledgeblack rhinofrom start to finishbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1 080 - 1 085 of 1 812 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Definitely an amazing experience. My wife and I stayed at the brand new Settler's Drift Lodge and it was first class. Well worth the additional cost. Our Ranger, Wayne, was extremely professional and courteous. Amazing place all around.


  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinacF2318LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Decided to celebrate my 50th Birthday at Kariega with friends and Family. We stayed at The Homestead and had the most memorable experience. The food, hospitality and game drives were superb. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mtrzebiatow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015

Happy Birthday! We are so glad that you enjoyed your celebration at Kariega Homestead private lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back again with family and friends.
With kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed already 5 times at Kariega in the last 2 years and we will visit it again. We can only recommend it. Nice service, friendly and helpful staff. Very nice location and every time an unforgettable safari experience.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank florianw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Our last 3 day stop en route along the Garden Route and what a way to end our trip. We arrived late and only just made our afternoon game drive with Jo - rainy, cold and totally not what we had expected. By the end of the drive, the rain had stopped and we had encountered white rhino, water buffalo and a host of antelope - smiles were back on our faces. Our Ranger guide Jo was excellent and made for a relaxing atmosphere even before our drink stops. Our room was very comfortable with great views across the reserve and the food was tasty and plenty. Restaurant staff were also very friendly with quick service. A great way to end a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CWVE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Our family of 12 had the privilege and pleasure of spending 2 nights at Kariega's Homestead where we celebrated my 80th birthday. What a wonderful experience. The accommodation, service and food and the game viewing were outstanding.
But mention must be made of the Kariega people who made it so wonderful. Sarah (manager); Travis (ranger); Jessie (cook) and Netti, Ntoshi and Felicia all made our visit truly memorable.
Kariega....surely a GEM. Thank you for making my 80th so memorable.

Room Tip: Great hospitality and wildlife.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adambage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews