We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$1 198
US$1 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$637
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milkwood Manor B & B(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House Quarters(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makarios on the River(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitnall's(Kenton-on-Sea)
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
103
27
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
27
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolukhozi lodgehuge bedkariega game reservemini bar in roomdrive timesnight staynice groupopen planrestaurant staffspent three nights hereloved every minuteeach eveningprivate balconyincluding lionsfellow guestsan amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We spent 4 nights at Ukhozi Lodge in September; as we were just at the beginning of spring the weather was quite changeable and we did get some rain - but that didn't stop any of the game drives. We went out twice a day with our guide,Rosie, who was great - very knowledgeable and determined to find the animals we all wanted to see! That included a day-old baby rhino, lions chasing baboons and elephants chasing lions - all in all, a great experience!

We were in Lodge 2 which was very comfortable with a beautiful view over the valley from the viewing deck. We didn't go in the plunge pool (much too cold) but I imagine it would be wonderful in the middle of summer. The food was excellent and the wine was very good and flowed freely at dinner each night.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We didn't want to drive whilst in South Africa and so the staff arranged transfers from Port Elizabeth for us at a very reasonable price. This was our first experience of a game reserve and we would highly recommend Ukhozi.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank screed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Good game viewing: saw elephant, lion, giraffe, zebra, other big 5, buck of all kinds. No leopard spotted for many years and we couldn't find the buffalo. Beautiful terrain but perhaps more animals needed as they were sparse in areas. Rooms nice. Food sometimes great, sometimes very average. Helpful staff but could do with some additional training to just give that extra personal touch. We enjoyed our time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LouiseMcHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Louise,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at Kariega. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time and particularly enjoyed the game viewing and safari experience. We are sorry that you did not get to spend time with the buffalo or spot the ever elusive leopard. The terrain in our area does make them difficult to see. We try our best to serve tasty, varied and freshly prepared food and we are sorry that all meals didn't hit the spot for you. We do try our best!
We also have active and regular training with all our team members but also know that we can always improve. Thank you for the constructive feedback.
Kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely safari at Kariega, the first stop on our honeymoon and saw all their fantastic animals in their natural surroundings. Elephants making their presence felt was a highlight. Rosie our guide was so knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. By the end of it you feel like part of the furniture. Food was excellent - the springbuck and kudu steaks were especially good. Would recommend to anyone who wants a South African adventure - we went in their winter which is cooler so an extra few layers is needed and we saw all the animals and even did a night drive to see the hippos out of the water - if you get the chance, do it! No need to do any longer than 4 days.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EddMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Edd,
So glad that you choose Kariega as your safari honeymoon destination and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you many years of happiness and hope that you'll come and celebrate at least one anniversary with us!
Kind regards from the Ukhozi team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our family of five stayed in two of the Ukhozi Lodge chalets for three nights and it was probably the highlight of our South African holiday and there were many during this first trip as a family to one of the most beautiful countries we have ever visited. The check-in process was speedy and although we were a little late arriving mid-afternoon due to a delayed flight to Port Elizabeth, we were still able to have "eats" and a cool drink before heading out on our first game reserve with our ranger, Gladman who was accompanied over the three days by Rayno who had just started work at Kariega. The chalets are gorgeous and well worth paying extra for - the massive bed, corner bath, furry bath robes and lovely toiletries plus the views from the deck were fantastic. There were complimentary drinks plus teas/coffees on offer also, all part of the package. The food was good if not gourmet and there was plenty of choice ranging from the everyday to the exotic (for us Irish, ostrich and antelope are exotic!), the service was attentive and courteous and essentially we had the place to ourselves since it was the winter season. We loved relaxing in front of the open fires as there was a decided nip in the air each evening although we also enjoyed lounging by the pool (too cold for a dip unfortunately) in between game drives. All the public areas were beautifully decorated and extremely well kept although the staff had to be on their toes in order to prevent the monkeys from raiding the buffet on occasion! The game drives each morning and afternoon were the main event and hats off to Gladman and Rayno who made each drive exciting and unique. There were so many special moments that we will treasure forever - spotting our first elephants in the wild drinking at a watering hole; the sight of two male lions ambling towards our Land Cruiser after a couple of hours trying to track them and us sitting still as rocks while one of them perambulated around the vehicle; the flora our rangers pointed out to us during our drives; the Secretary Birds marching across the plains in their black "leggings"; enchanted forests; scrubland; mountains covered in Euphorbia trees; sundowners and snacks with our entertaining and informative guides who were so patient with us even when we failed to distinguish between blesboks, water bucks and impala after five game drives; the hot towels and drinks when we arrived back after each drive - all of these are experiences and memories that we will treasure for the rest of our lives. We ran out of superlatives on day one and for our first game reserve ever, we definitely struck gold. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

SO happy to read your review! Especially as your TripAdvisor name is "supercritical"! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others via TripAdvisor. We are so glad you had a superb stay. Please come back!
Kind regards from the Ukhozi team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

A wonderful 3 night stay at this superior Lodge was the right time to catch most of the big five - leopards not there. If you ever wanted an 8 foot square bed this is the place with private plunge pool as well. Food was good and varied but the best bit is always going to be the Game drives. Made some really good friends as we bounced our way around Jurassic Park - you really did think that the film was shot there! Best of all was our guide Chrissie - she's the best!

Room Tip: They are excellent
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Join8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews