We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honneymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We visited Kariega in the first stint of our honeymoon. The only disappointment was that we had single beds! As a same sex couple this is happens frequently but I didn't expect it as our travel company specified that we were on honeymoon twice. That aside, what an amazing experience. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for guests. After each early morning and night safari, we were greeted by the staff holding a hot towel and a welcome drink. We stayed for 4 nights and the evening meals were excellent and accompanied by exquisite wine. On one of the nights, we were lucky enough to experience the staff singing and dancing which was very special. Our safari guide, Johann was very knowledgable about all aspects of flora and fauna with a good sense of humour. We were so lucky to see baby rhino sparring with dad, elephants, giraffes ,zebras fighting (seriously!), lions sleeping (they are so lazy!), ostrich and many more. If you are a twitcher you will not be disappointed!
There is a gym which is OK and is in need of a running machine.
We also experienced the spa and I would thoroughly recommend the treatments.
So all in all, a fantastic place which I hope to return to.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

We spent 4 nights at Ukhozi Lodge in September; as we were just at the beginning of spring the weather was quite changeable and we did get some rain - but that didn't stop any of the game drives. We went out twice a day with our guide,Rosie, who was great - very knowledgeable and determined to find the animals we all wanted to see! That included a day-old baby rhino, lions chasing baboons and elephants chasing lions - all in all, a great experience!

We were in Lodge 2 which was very comfortable with a beautiful view over the valley from the viewing deck. We didn't go in the plunge pool (much too cold) but I imagine it would be wonderful in the middle of summer. The food was excellent and the wine was very good and flowed freely at dinner each night.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We didn't want to drive whilst in South Africa and so the staff arranged transfers from Port Elizabeth for us at a very reasonable price. This was our first experience of a game reserve and we would highly recommend Ukhozi.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank screed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Good game viewing: saw elephant, lion, giraffe, zebra, other big 5, buck of all kinds. No leopard spotted for many years and we couldn't find the buffalo. Beautiful terrain but perhaps more animals needed as they were sparse in areas. Rooms nice. Food sometimes great, sometimes very average. Helpful staff but could do with some additional training to just give that extra personal touch. We enjoyed our time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LouiseMcHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Louise,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at Kariega. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable time and particularly enjoyed the game viewing and safari experience. We are sorry that you did not get to spend time with the buffalo or spot the ever elusive leopard. The terrain in our area does make them difficult to see. We try our best to serve tasty, varied and freshly prepared food and we are sorry that all meals didn't hit the spot for you. We do try our best!
We also have active and regular training with all our team members but also know that we can always improve. Thank you for the constructive feedback.
Kind regards from the Kariega team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely safari at Kariega, the first stop on our honeymoon and saw all their fantastic animals in their natural surroundings. Elephants making their presence felt was a highlight. Rosie our guide was so knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. By the end of it you feel like part of the furniture. Food was excellent - the springbuck and kudu steaks were especially good. Would recommend to anyone who wants a South African adventure - we went in their winter which is cooler so an extra few layers is needed and we saw all the animals and even did a night drive to see the hippos out of the water - if you get the chance, do it! No need to do any longer than 4 days.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank EddMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Edd,
So glad that you choose Kariega as your safari honeymoon destination and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you many years of happiness and hope that you'll come and celebrate at least one anniversary with us!
Kind regards from the Ukhozi team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our family of five stayed in two of the Ukhozi Lodge chalets for three nights and it was probably the highlight of our South African holiday and there were many during this first trip as a family to one of the most beautiful countries we have ever visited. The check-in process was speedy and although we were a little late arriving mid-afternoon due to a delayed flight to Port Elizabeth, we were still able to have "eats" and a cool drink before heading out on our first game reserve with our ranger, Gladman who was accompanied over the three days by Rayno who had just started work at Kariega. The chalets are gorgeous and well worth paying extra for - the massive bed, corner bath, furry bath robes and lovely toiletries plus the views from the deck were fantastic. There were complimentary drinks plus teas/coffees on offer also, all part of the package. The food was good if not gourmet and there was plenty of choice ranging from the everyday to the exotic (for us Irish, ostrich and antelope are exotic!), the service was attentive and courteous and essentially we had the place to ourselves since it was the winter season. We loved relaxing in front of the open fires as there was a decided nip in the air each evening although we also enjoyed lounging by the pool (too cold for a dip unfortunately) in between game drives. All the public areas were beautifully decorated and extremely well kept although the staff had to be on their toes in order to prevent the monkeys from raiding the buffet on occasion! The game drives each morning and afternoon were the main event and hats off to Gladman and Rayno who made each drive exciting and unique. There were so many special moments that we will treasure forever - spotting our first elephants in the wild drinking at a watering hole; the sight of two male lions ambling towards our Land Cruiser after a couple of hours trying to track them and us sitting still as rocks while one of them perambulated around the vehicle; the flora our rangers pointed out to us during our drives; the Secretary Birds marching across the plains in their black "leggings"; enchanted forests; scrubland; mountains covered in Euphorbia trees; sundowners and snacks with our entertaining and informative guides who were so patient with us even when we failed to distinguish between blesboks, water bucks and impala after five game drives; the hot towels and drinks when we arrived back after each drive - all of these are experiences and memories that we will treasure for the rest of our lives. We ran out of superlatives on day one and for our first game reserve ever, we definitely struck gold. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

SO happy to read your review! Especially as your TripAdvisor name is "supercritical"! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others via TripAdvisor. We are so glad you had a superb stay. Please come back!
Kind regards from the Ukhozi team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
8,6 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
32,6 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
10,5 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11,5 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
1,5 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
1,4 km away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#4 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge

Address: | Near rural route R343, Between Kenton on Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R 8 769 - R 17 735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kariega Ukhozi Lodge truly captures the romance and intimacy of Africa. Nestled in the bush you will discover 10 superbly appointed air-conditioned luxury suites crafted from log, each with a private plunge pool and deck offering panoramic views of the valley. The Lodge boasts unique African-style lounges, restaurant and boma with an outdoor pool. Located in the 10,000 hectare private game reserve with close-up viewing of rhino, elephant, lion, buffalo, zebra, giraffe, hippo and other incredible African wildlife. Bird lovers will enjoy sighings of some of the 280 species recorded on the reserve. The safari experience includes twice daily safari drives with qualified guides, guided walks and a river trip as well as all meals, local beverages and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing