We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
121
27
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
27
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool ukhozi lodge our honeymoon huge bed kariega game reserve drive times restaurant staff hot towels guide juan fellow guests fantastic experience out of this world night safari stayed for nights including lions bbq night herd of elephants
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We would like to thank everyone at Ukhozi Lodge during our stay Aug 16th thru 19th August.
Chellee our Ranger, Glad you were driving. Craig for Rugby Union chats over a cold one.
All the ladies in the Restaurant and Housekeeping.Thank you all.
Brilliant stay,Great suite,Great food and Exceptional game drives.

Glyn & Marion Edwards
Swansea NSW Australia

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

We spent our first two days in South Africa at Kariega and it was unforgettable.
We experienced the beauty of the nature, we had the chance to meet animals in their environment and to stay in a peaceful and beautiful place. Everything was perfect and natural. All is great at Kariega. The staff was really nice and gave us a huge welcome, food and accommodation simply amazing. We feel like at home.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tracynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in the all inclusive part of Kariega Game Reserve, Ukhozi Lodge. It was definately 5 star with fantastic large comfortable rooms and a wonderful view from the balcony. The food was excellent with choice every time and always delicious and always helpful and friendly staff.
Onto the game drives which were led by Victor, who was our ranger for the duration of our stay. He was a brilliant ranger with such vast knowledge to share and made every game drive special in it's own way by either being the first to track the elephants one day or finding a herd of elephants that actually walked straight past the vehicle!!! We also were able to walk towards two elephants in the west side of Kariega with Victor and other rangers which was incredible and got the heart pumping!!! We also were able to be lucky enough to witness the lions eating their kill which was amazing and gruesome!! We weren't expecting to be able to get so close to the animals but we were thoroughly pleased we were bale to!! Definatley recommend Ukhozi Lodge as a honeymoon destination or a place to celebrate a special occassion.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 846HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve - Ukhozi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Hi Heather,
We are so pleased to read that you had a great honeymoon at Ukhozi Lodge. Even though we are graded four star we try to give each guest a five star experience and we are so happy you gave us a five star review. Your safari experience sounds fantastic! We are so privileged to offer guests close-up wildlife experiences both game drives and during walking safaris. We hope you enjoy the happy memories of your honeymoon for many years to come. Please come back and celebrate your anniversary with us soon! Kind regards from all at Kariega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Ukhozi Lodge with our children age 12 and 17. What an experience! We enjoyed every moment of our visit. I were a bit anxious that two game rides every day would be a little bit too much, but I were completely wrong. It was freezing cold and windy, but we experienced so much with our fantastic ranger, Juan, that the wind and cold did not affect us. We met the lions several days, and had a great evening with the elephants. One giraffe was in fact inside the camp area, and we met him for breskfast one morning and for lunch.We also appreciated very much the company of the other family which we shared the car with. The kudu and ostrich meal we had for dinner was some of the best meals we had in South Africa. We'd love to come back, especially when the temperatures are a bit higher. An advice for July- visitors is to bring warm clothes, woolen sweathers and a windbreaker, gloves and a warm caps. It is difficult for Europeans to imagine how cold it can be in Africa during the European summer..

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Linusmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

From arriving at the lodge everything ran like clock work! the lodges are amazing and gave an African feel very spacious and even tho we didn't use the plunge pool defiantly a nice touch.Each drive was different from last with Imogen our ranger,she had fantastic knowledge and answered every question we had on every animal,bird and wildlife.The food was amazing and everything in your mini bar is complimentary.Me and my partner both had massages and they were excellent! We seen every animal we had hoped yo see and more.Will defiantly be recommending the reserve to all our friends and family,thanks Imogen and all the staff keep up the good work :)

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank sarahd164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews