We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
85
4
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
4
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful house oysters upstairs suite holiday house unsurpassed views private lounge bath salts bushman's river coffee machine magical place small pool home away from home south africa louise shack kenton property
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We had a fantastic stay at the oyster box beach house. We came to relax, unwind and getaway from the hustle and bustle of the big cities and this place did exactly that. We felt rehabilitated and restored in body, mind and spirit.

The house was exactly as shown in the photographs. We spent some days cooped up in the luxurious room which had an amazing river and ocean view, while other days we explored the lovely quaint little town that is Kenton on sea.

The breakfast offering was quite impressive and i must say that the ladies at the house know how to treat their guests.

Kenton on sea has amazing scenic views with magnificent rocky and sandy beaches. We had a lovely time at the Kusini spa and had great food at the local cafe's and restaurants. We also went horse riding on the beach which was wonderful to say the least.

Its definitely been one of our favorite vacations. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eciiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

What a wonderful long weekend we have just enjoyed in Kenton-on-sea at The Oyster Box Beach House. The photos on the website are amazing but nothing can do justice to the experience in real life. This has to rank as one of my favourite places in South Africa.

The views from the house itself are spectacular and we watched some amazing sunsets from the comfort of the patio. A short walk takes you down onto the beach at the Bushman's River where we enjoyed an evening picnic, watching yet another amazing sunset!

We were also crazy enough to wake up at 5.30am one morning to walk to Shelley Beach to watch the sunrise and then hurry back home to enjoy a welcoming cup of coffee while gazing out once again at the spectacular view.

The house itself is luxuriously furnished with everything you need and more. It is serviced daily and I must say a big thank you to Shona for her hard work making the beds and cleaning each day. It is truly a home away from home. Thank you too John, for your friendly smile! And lastly, thank you Sarah, for allowing us to accommodate one extra child.

We really did not want to leave and cannot wait to come back again. Its a special place!

Anna Miller (East London)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

An absolute treat to stay in the most luxurious house with the most magnificent view in Kenton. It has great accommodation - all rooms are spacious and are beautifully decorated . The open plan living space opens out onto a lovely outdoor patio and pool with the view. The kitchen is beautifully equipped for your every need. It's very difficult to leave and definitely one that you'll go back to again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 903sjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Dear Sarah,
The only negative thing was we didn't stay longer with you ... we pack too much in the day before and arrived too late, then an amazing breakfast and off to the next adventure... crazy we will stay longer next time ...
Thank you for your well appointed house, excellent service and for accommodating our late check in ...
Best regards Sara and Paul

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kayakandhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This place is simply amazing. The house and individual suites are fantastic. Beautifully furnished with every detail thought of. The breakfasts were lovely and Sarah and other staff spared no effort to make our stay really memorable. The location of the Beach house and views are really exceptional and I couldn't stop looking out over the river mouth to see how beautiful it is. There are also absolutely breathtaking beaches a short walk away, edged by sand dunes and , when we were there, totally empty except for the odd dog walker.
We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisePoole, Owner at The Oyster Box Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you very much for your review! We loved having you stay with us and hope to see you back at The Oyster Box Beach House next year.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews