We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view! No better way to wake up in the morning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oyster Box Beach House
Ranked #2 of 11 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This review is long overdue. What a beautiful house! Wish it was mine! The decor, the outside area, the short walk to the beach... everything was perfect. We also enjoyed the town itself. Sarah was a great host and took care of everything. Kids loved the breakfast and it was nice to share the table with the other guests. Gave us the chance to exchange tips on where to go/what to see. Book it, you will love it!

Room Tip: Both floors are spectacular! Doesn't matter which one you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 184Jessica_S17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017

We had a fantastic stay at the oyster box beach house. We came to relax, unwind and getaway from the hustle and bustle of the big cities and this place did exactly that. We felt rehabilitated and restored in body, mind and spirit.

The house was exactly as shown in the photographs. We spent some days cooped up in the luxurious room which had an amazing river and ocean view, while other days we explored the lovely quaint little town that is Kenton on sea.

The breakfast offering was quite impressive and i must say that the ladies at the house know how to treat their guests.

Kenton on sea has amazing scenic views with magnificent rocky and sandy beaches. We had a lovely time at the Kusini spa and had great food at the local cafe's and restaurants. We also went horse riding on the beach which was wonderful to say the least.

Its definitely been one of our favorite vacations. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eciiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

What a wonderful long weekend we have just enjoyed in Kenton-on-sea at The Oyster Box Beach House. The photos on the website are amazing but nothing can do justice to the experience in real life. This has to rank as one of my favourite places in South Africa.

The views from the house itself are spectacular and we watched some amazing sunsets from the comfort of the patio. A short walk takes you down onto the beach at the Bushman's River where we enjoyed an evening picnic, watching yet another amazing sunset!

We were also crazy enough to wake up at 5.30am one morning to walk to Shelley Beach to watch the sunrise and then hurry back home to enjoy a welcoming cup of coffee while gazing out once again at the spectacular view.

The house itself is luxuriously furnished with everything you need and more. It is serviced daily and I must say a big thank you to Shona for her hard work making the beds and cleaning each day. It is truly a home away from home. Thank you too John, for your friendly smile! And lastly, thank you Sarah, for allowing us to accommodate one extra child.

We really did not want to leave and cannot wait to come back again. Its a special place!

Anna Miller (East London)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

An absolute treat to stay in the most luxurious house with the most magnificent view in Kenton. It has great accommodation - all rooms are spacious and are beautifully decorated . The open plan living space opens out onto a lovely outdoor patio and pool with the view. The kitchen is beautifully equipped for your every need. It's very difficult to leave and definitely one that you'll go back to again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 903sjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Dear Sarah,
The only negative thing was we didn't stay longer with you ... we pack too much in the day before and arrived too late, then an amazing breakfast and off to the next adventure... crazy we will stay longer next time ...
Thank you for your well appointed house, excellent service and for accommodating our late check in ...
Best regards Sara and Paul

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kayakandhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
32,6 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
22,5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
9,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
23,5 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
1,5 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box Beach House

Address: 19 Elliot Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R 2 259 - R 2 493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated and well-equipped modern beach house with some of the best views on the South African coastline. We offer both bed and breakfast or self catering accommodation for up to 8 guests. Located in Kenton on Sea in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. We have been graded as a 5 star self catering house by the TGCSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oyster Box Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing