We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and complete luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oyster Box Beach House
Ranked #2 of 11 Kenton-on-Sea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2015

The house was built for luxury. The staff are exceptional in making you feel at home and cleaning the property. Breath-taking views. Private beaches nearby with rock pools and caves to entertain the little ones. Fire pit for chilly evenings and enclosed additional braai area for windy nights. Absolutely every weather condition has been catered for. A definite must for anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FionaBosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2015

Impressive hotel and decor. Very good bedroom overlooking the lighthouse and sea. Very well appointed. Very good dining options and the Grill Room is highly recommended and we considered excellent. Very smart area

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We had booked the Oyster Shack (opposite the Oyster Box - just no seaview) as the last stop of our Garden Route road trip from Cape Town to Kenton and it was perfect. What a lovely place; extremely comfortable, beautiful and private. Lovely little pool, nice garden and a peaceful patio. Very suitable for kids; jungle gym, pool (with poolnet) and even beach toys and umbrella are provided!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLMaaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

The accommodation, the view and the service were all excellent!
Even our supper was arranged and we had salads and a braai.
It was all done very professionally.
The view is exceptional.
The beds vey spacious and comfortable.
A great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

If you could use the term 'superlative' as a superlative, then that would describe The Oyster Box Beach House in Kenton on Sea.

We'd booked the Oyster Box as the last stop of our Garden Route road trip from Cape Town to Kenton. Having high expectations from the website and previous reviews, we were looking forward to relaxing in style for a couple of days... Little did we know what awaited us.

Check-in was a seamless experience, and nothing was too much trouble for Louise and Sara our hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble (breakfast requests, horse riding, laundry etc).

Word's don't really do justice here, but from the moment we stepped through the door, we didn't want to leave; luxury 5 star furnishings (two of us stayed in the suite which was absolutely stunning), a kitchen and lounge area that was born for entertaining (which we made much use of, cooking on the outside braai and entertaining friends whilst consuming the most amazing wine from the honesty bar), and an outside area and view to die for.

Two days was simply not enough and needless to say, we'll be back in the near future for a longer stay.

If we could keep this place secret we would!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_000_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
32,6 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
22,5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
9,7 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
23,5 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
1,5 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve: 4 -Star Luxury Tented Camps and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Box Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Box Beach House

Address: 19 Elliot Road, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: R 2 242 - R 2 474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Box Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated and well-equipped modern beach house with some of the best views on the South African coastline. We offer both bed and breakfast or self catering accommodation for up to 8 guests. Located in Kenton on Sea in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. We have been graded as a 5 star self catering house by the TGCSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oyster Box Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing