We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
83
4
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
4
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful houseoystersupstairs suiteholiday houseunsurpassed viewsprivate loungebath saltsbushman's rivercoffee machinemagical placesmall poolhome away from homesouth africalouiseshackkentonproperty
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Impressive hotel and decor. Very good bedroom overlooking the lighthouse and sea. Very well appointed. Very good dining options and the Grill Room is highly recommended and we considered excellent. Very smart area

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We had booked the Oyster Shack (opposite the Oyster Box - just no seaview) as the last stop of our Garden Route road trip from Cape Town to Kenton and it was perfect. What a lovely place; extremely comfortable, beautiful and private. Lovely little pool, nice garden and a peaceful patio. Very suitable for kids; jungle gym, pool (with poolnet) and even beach toys and umbrella are provided!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLMaaike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

The accommodation, the view and the service were all excellent!
Even our supper was arranged and we had salads and a braai.
It was all done very professionally.
The view is exceptional.
The beds vey spacious and comfortable.
A great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

If you could use the term 'superlative' as a superlative, then that would describe The Oyster Box Beach House in Kenton on Sea.

We'd booked the Oyster Box as the last stop of our Garden Route road trip from Cape Town to Kenton. Having high expectations from the website and previous reviews, we were looking forward to relaxing in style for a couple of days... Little did we know what awaited us.

Check-in was a seamless experience, and nothing was too much trouble for Louise and Sara our hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble (breakfast requests, horse riding, laundry etc).

Word's don't really do justice here, but from the moment we stepped through the door, we didn't want to leave; luxury 5 star furnishings (two of us stayed in the suite which was absolutely stunning), a kitchen and lounge area that was born for entertaining (which we made much use of, cooking on the outside braai and entertaining friends whilst consuming the most amazing wine from the honesty bar), and an outside area and view to die for.

Two days was simply not enough and needless to say, we'll be back in the near future for a longer stay.

If we could keep this place secret we would!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_000_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Oyster Box exceeded all expectations in every way! An aesthetically beautiful and extremely comfortable and safe property with every 'extra' you could imagine. For a self-catering apartment I was blown away to discover that breakfast was included. Our cook and her assistant were a delight and at a moments notice prepared and cooked an amazing vegan breakfast leaving behind a bowl of fruit and the house clean and tidy on their departure. The kitchen is very well equipped with one of the best selections of kitchen tools and equipment that I have seen in a rental property. Add to this the American style Fridge/Freezer, a large freezer in the garage for guest use, an Ice Machine, quality pod coffee machines a separate fridge with optional drinks and comfortably large tables and chairs both inside and out, what more could you want? The Braai and outdoor furniture ensure that the comfort level is maintained outside as well as in. With exquisite views from all rear aspects of the property and a secluded wind-free sitting area at the front, every eventuality seems to be catered for. After sundowners we enjoyed the sumptuous furnishings and movie on the large HD TV. Before bed a relaxing bath with the Aromatherapy Bath Salts provided ensured that a good nights sleep ensued. Maybe the complimentary chocolates and sherry aided this too. The beds were extremely comfortable with good quality high thread count cotton, fans and windows with discrete security bars ensured a comfortable environment for sleeping. Spotlessly clean, elegantly and tastefully furnished, well equipped and with the most professional and courteous of management I truly have to say this is the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in. I could not recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have amazing views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews