We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$605
US$581
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$731
US$692
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The House Quarters(Kenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Intaka Bird Lodge(Kenton-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
7
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We spent one night in Stellas and Dougs home and met the best host we can Imagine. Our stay was perfect - more than a warm welcome including tips for Dinner and our Trip, an amazing view, a great room with everything you need for a stay and the best breakfast we had in South Africa!

If we visit South Africa for a Second time we will definitly come back again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Owner at Makarios on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Maren and Steffen, It was a pleasure hosting you and we certainly enjoyed your company. Enjoy the rest of your trip and travel safely back to Germany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Our young family stayed in Stella's and Doug's beautiful home over the weekend. A touch of paradise overlooking the Bushmans river from above. Very friendly and caring hosts who could not do enough to ensure that our stay was comfortable. Best of all was the welcome and care shown to our daughters, who were in tears when we said our farewells.

Will definitely return.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank nkinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Owner at Makarios on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Nic and Christine, thank you so much for these positive and encouraging comments.
We look forward to your next visit.
Doug and Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Doug and Stella must be complimented on their superb establishment. They were very hospitable and friendly hosts and we enjoyed sundowners overlooking the river and wild bush.
Our room was beautifully decorated and the big sliding doors opened onto a balcony with lovely river views. Waking to this view in the morning and the the birds was special.
There are so many good reasons to return again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidBo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Owner at Makarios on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you David for your kind words. Your review certainly encourages us.
It was a pleasure for us to host you and Carol. We certainly hope that you will return.
Doug S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Owner at Makarios on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, Owner at Makarios on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews