We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable cottage with perfect breakfast”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Smiddy Cottage

The Old Smiddy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smiddy Cottage
Welcome - Self-catering or B&B Come and relax in the Old Smiddy Lounge with open inglenook log fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The Old Smiddy Cottage
Welcome - Self-catering or B&B
Come and relax in the Old Smiddy Lounge with open inglenook log fire.
Enjoy candle light dining in the Old Smiddy Lounge
Enjoy cooking and eating in the large Country Kitchen
Country kitchen with antique pine dresser
It is always warm and cosy in the country kitchen with the AGA cooker.
Cosy room with log burner
Cosy room
Double bedroom with 'Jack and Jill' ensuite
Double or twin with 'Jack and Jill' ensuite
Downstairs twin next to bathroom
Come for Christmas!! Wonderful venue for a family Christmas
Old Smiddy back garden
Large fenced back garden.  Plenty of room for football or cricket!
Enjoy the garden, patio and BBQ
the Old Smiddy Cottage from the field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stanley, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ingolf G
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
“comfortable cottage with perfect breakfast”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stay there for two wonderfull nights. During this 2 nights, we had great conversations with her and probably the best breakfast during the whole week. Breakfast was served in the smithy room near the old fireplace.
We would love to return on our next scotland trip.

Thank you und maybe in one or two years we will see us again :)

p.s.: Don't forget the gap in postal codes ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the smithy room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Thanks for your review.
Pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Old Smiddy Cottage.
Do hope to see you again.
Vida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siracusa
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family Kitchen and fresh eggs every day
Liked least: The AGA (its a personal thing...)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David D
Scarborough,Qld
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cottage brimming with personality”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The old Smiddy cottage provided everything we were seeking,good sized and comfortable bedrooms,a marvellous country style kitchen with aga that constantly kept the house warm and a "great room" that provided comfort around a large open fire...the cottage is set in a lovely garden setting,and our host,Vida,went out of her way to ensure a pleasant and enjoyable stay...

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sueby_H
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and comfortable”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing support provided from Vida. Huge garden, with free range chickens, my cousin thoroughly enjoyed collecting and eating the eggs. Plenty of puzzles and games to keep us occupied in the evenings. Very warm kitchen, which was a godsend when trying to dry all of the wet walking gear (and dog) for the extended family. If you are looking for a sterile modern corporate holiday cottage, then this is not the place for you. However if you are looking for a place with plenty of charm, character and quirks, then this is the place for you.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce R
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm welcome to this characterful homely cottage”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. The cottage had so much character and we loved the kitchen with the Aga which made this a lovely warm place to share family meals. The owner was very friendly and gave good explanations to ensure our stay was trouble-free. Our 3 year old had great fun in the large secure garden and was keen to collect and eat the eggs. The location was perfect and we were within easy travelling distance of all the places we wanted to visit. A great place to walk from - path on disused railway line to nearby village just across the road - and to see red squirrels and deer. I would love to return and spend more time in this comfortable home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$168
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing