We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 017)
Filter reviews
1 017 results
Traveller rating
623
248
81
34
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
623
248
81
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel afternoon tea drawing room extensive grounds banks of the river dining room course dinner riverside building first class the general manager every member of staff public areas high standard lamb lovely room bed and breakfast short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1 017 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2020

Stayed here for a few days break with friends and what an absolute delight. A beautiful place right on the River Tay, fabulous grounds and very picturesque.

Every member of staff we came into contact with, was polite, helpful, informative and worked hard to please and ensure our stay was enjoyable.

We booked the à la carte menu for dinner and the food, every course, was absolutely delicious. We could not fault the food and wine; the quality of the food was of a high standard and we were impressed at every course. Credit and congratulations must be extended to the chefs and team as the menu, food and presentation was truly remarkable.

From a covid perspective, the hotel has thought this through and implemented robust procedures and systems to maintain safety as far as possible. We felt safe and assured that appropriate care and standards had been set and certainly observed staff complying with them consistently.

The room we stayed in was large, airy and the bathroom spacious with a large roll top bath and separate walk in shower. The only thing that disappointed slightly was the too soft mattress and pillows on the bed, perhaps a personal preference but it did affect quality of our sleep. The chaise longue in the room was in character with the surroundings, however the fabric appeared dirty and didn't look attractive.

One of the group went on a fishing trip catching wild salmon in the River Tay, what a fantastic experience in a beautiful place.

Our recommendation: Highly recommend

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We had an absolutely lovely evening and overnight stay this week celebrating my parent's wedding anniversary. Dinner was utterly delicious and breakfast was fab too. The staff were friendly and professional and they had exemplary covid precautions in place. The decoration is a wee bit on the old fashioned side but the rooms are super comfortable with proper fluffy towels and quality bedding. We hadn't been to Ballathie for around 15 years but after our recent visit we will make sure that we don't leave it so long again.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenRJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Staff at this hotel made our stay very special. They were attentive especially given the Covid requirements which as a result did not really impact upon our visit adversely.

The hotel is set in extensive grounds which makes for good walking around the property and the view down to the river enhances the whole experience.

The dining experience I suspect is quite a draw for this hotel as it is excellent and for us it was an integral part of the whole stay.

If I were to stay again I would book a higher spec room, as in spite of the lovely public spaces, our room didn’t quite match as it was very small.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dmhLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

We were treated here from my parents for our anniversary. It’s the first time I’ve been afternoon tea and it was delicious.
Jalal and Mike made our day feel special as nothing was too much bother to them. From the choice of tea to the selection of sandwiches, mini burger sliders to the desert/cake selections it was wonderful giving a mix of traditional and some modern variations.
If this is what their afternoon tea tastes like I am definitely going to return for a meal some evening.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank thethomsons2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel! The grounds are maintained to a very high standard and our room had a beautiful view of the River Tay. During these precarious times the hotel has a one way system in place, hand sanitiser stations throughout and all staff wear face coverings. Despite these measures the place ran smoothly and the staff kept the ambience of the hotel. My only (teeny) criticism was that the only hot food available at night was evening dinner which was delicious but I couldn’t eat a 5 course meal 3 nights in a row. We had to go out for dinner one night then had sandwiches in the bat another! Not sure if it’s because of the restrictions that there is no other food available or if this is the norm. All in all a very relaxing enjoyable break and we’ll definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trixie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews