We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Herring House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Winterton beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sezill
berko
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Ideally located just a few minutes walk from the beach & for exploring the East Norfolk coast.
The upstairs lounge was full of character, although it did get very hot at times so we had to adjust the radiators & open the skylights.
The cottage was clean & perfect for us, our teenage daughter & dog.
Sadly we didn't have a great meal at the local pub on our first night so did not return but enjoyed the fish & chips from the local take away.We would also recommend the Boathouse & Ingham Swan.
We had some great long dog walks along the beach & dunes and had the added bonus of seeing more than 100 seals on the beaches just north of Winterton on Sea which was amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & lounge in the property
Liked least: lack of glasses & cups & dishwasher did not clean very well! I told Jan it needed salt & rinse aid & she said she would fill so hopefully it will be ok for future guests as we had to wash everything by hand before we could use it!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney101...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank You Again Richard”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Herring House lovely barn had a great 7 nights enjoyed it very much shame about the weather I'm sure we will be back to winterton next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All amenities.
Liked least: could not find fault
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahrj73
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday cottage and great location”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have just returned home following a wonderful holiday at herring House with my husband and two boys aged 9 and 13. The cottage was clean and comfortable (took a while to get used to the water temperature) and in an ideal location for the beach and other attractions. Winterton on Sea is absolutely gorgeous with everything you need. Its difficult to see from photos what the beach is like. It is amazing - perfect sand to build sandcastles (or trains - we took a shovel!) with a fantastic cafe - and really quiet - which we were surprised by. We're hoping to come back next August with friends - Richard - can you put the August prices online please? The locals are extremely friendly and the local pub and chip shop serve amazing food. Although there is no where to store bikes we took them with us and they were fine locked up in the front. Ideal for a couple of bike rides on the dunes, and cycle rides further afield. One of the best places we've stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking distance to the beach
Liked least: water temperature - difficult to get it right. Wouldnt recommend for pets as light carpets.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate holiday home in a friendly village”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We would certainly return to Herring house. It was all immaculately clean and everything you needed was there. The village was really lovely, the pub was great especially being dog friendly and a wonderful beach five minutes walk down the road. I hadn't realised Richard did not live close by and the arrival time therefore was important, as we travelled over 300 miles it was difficult to estimate so do provide a mobile number.

Thank you for the lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csmith70
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb barn in relaxed, laid back quiet location”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here recently at half term, our first trip over to Norfolk. The barn is lovely - we like to stay somewhere as comfortable as home, and it was brilliant in that it ticked that box and had wonderful character to boot - the exposed flint walls and high ceilings, just lovely. The barn was exceptionally cosy as the temperature cooled off in the evenings, and our boys slept like logs in the bunk beds. It's very close to the beach - the boys went off for early morning fishing trips at the beach and met the local seals. Kitchen supplies met all of our needs. Winterton is a quiet gem, a haven for families (lovely sandy beach) and dog lovers (dog friendly beach), close to The Broads. Pub very child friendly - and packed. The beach café food is delicious - especially the crab sandwiches. Ideal base for exploring North Norfolk and The Broads. We hope to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing