We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
428
93
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
93
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside suite chocolate room writers room small hotel lovely hotel durdle door wine cellar lulworth cove scallops allocated parking daily specials superior room car park elevated position garden room steep climb dorset apple cake
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Having very much enjoyed a few nights at Limestone 2 years ago we returned this August for a few more nights. The food was again at a very high standard and the staff combined an excellent combination of friendliness and professionalism. Due to the popularity of the hotel and being late in making a booking for mid-August we had a standard room. The room was well decorated, with a good shower room / toilet en-suite and a very comfortable bed. The only negative in an otherwise very enjoyable stay was the compactness of the room. Perfectly adequate for a night or two, but ideally we should have booked a larger room (had one been available) given the length of our stay.

Room tip: If staying more than a night or two consider discussing with the hotel the room sizes before booking.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing to return to Limestone.

I am delighted you enjoyed another stay with us and the food and staff lived up to your previous expectations. I do agree with you that our standard rooms are fairly compact. They do all feature king size beds & en-suite showers but there is not a lot of floor space. As you said, perfect for a night or two but our superior rooms are much more appropriate for longer stays.

Thank you once again for your review and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another well deserved break.

Best wishes,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We had a smashing three nights at the Limestone. The Garden Room was light and spacious with a comfortable bed and a great shower. The restaurant was very good: High quality food, prompt service, good wine selection (how many places stock Lebanese wines?) and not outrageously expensive.

Every one of the staff we met were friendly and went out of their way to help; buying in Marmite when I requested it and fitting us in for dinner at (very) short notice.

Highly recommended. We will be coming back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SJandSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Limestone Hotel & Restaurant.

I am delighted you enjoyed your 3 night stay in our Garden Room and also enjoyed the restaurant. The Lebanese wine is definitely one of the hidden gems on the list and one of my favorites.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Spent two nights at this lovely little hotel. Perched on a small hill offering stunning views of the Dorset coast, and a 10 minute stroll into Lulworth Cove. We had a small double at the back of the hotel (no view to mention but that's reflected in the cost), cosy and comforable with tea & coffee making facilities along with some local fudge to sample, a very nice touch. Staff are friendly and attentive. Breakfast was very good, with both hot and cold food on offer and plenty to choose from. We ate in the restaurant one evening and while it was nice, it didn't quite live up to our previous visit (but don't let that put you off) We would definitely recommend, am already looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to return to Limestone Hotel & Restaurant.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and found our standard rooms to be cosy and comfortable. It is always nice to read when a guest notices the extra touches such as the homemade fudge, our chefs make this in house and is always available for a sweet treat on the go.

Thank you once again for your good review and kind comments. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Limestone for another well deserved break.

Kind regards,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Couldn’t fault the hotel or staff at all. If your looking for a lovely little hotel for a break, this is the one to go for. The breakfast was faultless. We also booked to have dinner. The whole dinner was amazing. You can tell the food is all fresh and local. The staff were very attentive. From the check in to check out I couldn’t fault anything about it. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank laurahU9407FJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your excellent review of Limestone Hotel & Restaurant.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and I am proud to provide a comfortable and welcoming hotel for our guests to enjoy this beautiful part of Dorset.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We wanted somewhere that allowed dogs. Luckily here there was two rooms that allow dogs. We went in the garden room. It was very tastefully decorated. Tea and coffee facility on offer in the room, with a lovely touch of some fudge! The rooms were very clean. The good thing for us, as we had the dog, was the door out to the garden from our room. In the middle of the night being able to let the dog out for a toilet without having to go through the hotel was a god send. ALL of the staff we came across were exceptionally pleasant and happy to assist. Dogs not allowed in the restaurant, it was nice and sunny so not a problem as we ate outside. Short walk to the sea, perfect location.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward W, Owner at Limestone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear reviewer,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Limestone Hotel & Restaurant.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in our Garden Room and found the room to be 'dog friendly'.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Edward J Wilkes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews