We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of duvale barn

duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 42
Bampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maggiemum
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with a large family gathering its was our first time at Duvale Barn but hope to return,it was absolutely perfect for our family we had all ages from little ones to great great grannies and everything in between Plenty of room to spread out two large lounges with big settees plenty of seating each room had its own television so saved any squabbles The garden is totally enclosed so no worry about dogs and little ones going on the road which runs adjacent to the property. The ground and the lake were lovely to stroll around affording a bit of peace and quiet if you felt the need. yes it does require a bit of updating which we understand is ongoing. We had a problem with a wasp nest, when reported to the owners was promptly and courteously dealt with that day. Plenty of combinations with bedrooms and managed to fit in all the family in the very well .The bathrooms and showers were very clean and the family seemed happy with the arrangements. Went out most days Tiverton ,Bampton the canal etc, some family members took the children up to the north coast about a hours drive away. We had a lady to do some catering for us(Mandy) she comes highly recommended very good value for money and first class food. which was hugely enjoyed.
We do a big family holiday every other year and in my opinion this was the most comfiest and laid back property we have rented .hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The laid back informal atmosphere.
Liked least: Nothing it was ideal
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class week”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

What a fabulous house for our 2yearly family holiday , there was 33of us with grandmas teenagers and grandchildren and we found the house accommodated us very well plenty of bath rooms or showers and a enclosed garden for children and dogs.
We had a lady do our cooking for 4 nights and we could not fault her and very reasonable her name is Mandy Harding and Rosena will give you her no.
We hope to return in 2 years so it must have been good.
If you expect a up market house you will be disappointed but if you want somewhere to relax and the children to have a good run around then this is the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that you did not have to wory about the children breaking something
Liked least: The couches
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stag venue”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Duvale barn was the right choice for our Stag-do. It's in a lovely part of the world and in a wonderful setting, surrounded by green. There was plenty of space for sleeping in comfort, and plenty of room inside for cooking/eating/hanging out, as well as a lovely outside space, away from the other properties, with picnic tables for us to enjoy the weather and the BBQ. Rosena, the host, was very helpful and answered all the questions we had quickly and kindly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space was great, and allowed us to throw a ball around and have a BBQ without feeling surrounded by other properties.
Liked least: With twenty-odd people showering in the morning there were some difficulties with water pressure - to be expected.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaEss
Willand, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic 70th Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a family group of 20 including 7 young children from 2 - 8 yrs and it was lovely to have so much space inside (it is February!) for the children to run around in. There is a good sized, fenced garden with a gorgeous outlook to the lake for when it is a bit warmer.

The living rooms are very spacious with plenty of sofas for everyone to lounge around in. The living room leading out to the garden was a lovely room to spend the day relaxing in. The kitchens are very well equipped - two dish washers are brilliant! And plenty of crockery, glasses etc to go in them.

The bedrooms were all comfortable - everyone slept well. The duvets were warm and there were plenty of pillows. The downstairs bedroom is ideal for anyone with mobility issues. Oh, remember to bring towels.

The whole barn was clean, warm (central heating and log fires) and Rosena was so helpful and friendly through the booking process and during our stay.

Duvale Barn was a great location for Mum's 70th Birthday celebrations and we would definitely love to return for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy, cosy accommodation that you feel relaxed in.
Liked least: The odd cobweb.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivorguive...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for groups with children!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We celebrated our friend's 40th birthday weekend here with ages ranging from 2-quite a bit older...
The children LOVED it! There were so many nooks and crannies for them to hide in and separate wings for them to go to when, for example, the boys wanted to get away from the girls...
The separate wings also played a great part in separating those who wanted to enjoy the gift of sleep and those who wanted to er- enjoy- the gift of time courtesy of early-rising children
Rosena was lovely and laid back. I was going to say 'throughout' but unless you wanted to speak to her, she just let you get on with it, which was fantastic- could properly relax.
Such a great place. Would happily go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing