We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Chloe_r81
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A totally relaxing break. We both really enjoyed the no hassle stay in the smithy.

The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area.

Very short walk into the village.

Drive from the main road is shall we say interesting! But manageable. And if it had been closer to the main road the tranquility just wouldn't have been there.

Fully equipped kitchen. Loved having the log burner to keep us all toasty. (Just to note, there is also fully functioning heating in the smithy, but we decided to turn it off to take full advantage of the burner).

Only downside we found was that the sofa and bed weren't massively comfortable. But like many things it's a personal preference and so is an uphill battle to please all on this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review. We're delighted to hear you had a relaxing stay at The Smithy, enjoyed the tranquility and made good use of log burner! Following your comments, which were appreciated, we have replaced the mattress and repaired the base of the sofa, so both should now be much more comfortable!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not enough discount for regular visitors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation for The Smithy. We're pleased that you love Okel Tor Mine as much as we do and it's always lovely to see you and your dogs! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mojzilla
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at The Smithy for an extra long weekend and wish we could have stayed the whole week. What an absolutely wonderful place. The cottage itself is very nicely renovated and spacious enough for 2 people and a dog. It has lovely slate floors throughout, a good-sized living room, dining area and a workable open plan kitchen, fully stacked with all the necessary gear just in case you can’t tear yourself away from the beautiful view to take the short walk to the village and the couple of excellent places to eat/drink. In addition, it has a large porch area with a table and chairs so that, even if it rains, you can sit outside and enjoy that amazing view. If you're looking for a place to wind down and recharge look no further. I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review and kind recommendation of The Smithy. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your long weekend with your dog and appreciated the verandah, the views and the village pubs. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojzilla
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Smithy for an extra long weekend and wish we could have stayed the whole week. What an absolutely wonderful place. The cottage itself is very nicely renovated and spacious enough for 2 people and a dog. It has lovely slate floors throughout, a good-sized living room, dining area and a workable open plan kitchen, fully stacked with all the necessary gear just in case you can’t tear yourself away from the beautiful view to take the short walk to the village and the couple of excellent places to eat/drink. In addition, it has a large porch area with a table and chairs so that, even if it rains, you can sit outside and enjoy that amazing view. If you're looking for a place to wind down and recharge look no further. I highly recommend this place.

Location
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're delighted to hear that you loved the cottage and the views and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
1 review
“Convenient Seclusion”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The smithy is tucked away in an old mine site on the side of the valley. Set amongst the trees with great views of the valley and river below this place made for a really lovely weekend getaway.

Tucked round the corner of the valley (out of view from the cottage) only 10/15mins walk away is the village of Calstock - with options for food and the usual local shops and a train station - allowing you to escape the car if you want to.

The accommodation was comfortable and just what we wanted and the owner helpful and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, the views and seclusion and the convenience of the nearby village of Calstock. We look forward to seeing you again in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing