We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little cottage in an idyllic setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mojzilla
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Smithy for an extra long weekend and wish we could have stayed the whole week. What an absolutely wonderful place. The cottage itself is very nicely renovated and spacious enough for 2 people and a dog. It has lovely slate floors throughout, a good-sized living room, dining area and a workable open plan kitchen, fully stacked with all the necessary gear just in case you can’t tear yourself away from the beautiful view to take the short walk to the village and the couple of excellent places to eat/drink. In addition, it has a large porch area with a table and chairs so that, even if it rains, you can sit outside and enjoy that amazing view. If you're looking for a place to wind down and recharge look no further. I highly recommend this place.

Location
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're delighted to hear that you loved the cottage and the views and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
1 review
“Convenient Seclusion”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The smithy is tucked away in an old mine site on the side of the valley. Set amongst the trees with great views of the valley and river below this place made for a really lovely weekend getaway.

Tucked round the corner of the valley (out of view from the cottage) only 10/15mins walk away is the village of Calstock - with options for food and the usual local shops and a train station - allowing you to escape the car if you want to.

The accommodation was comfortable and just what we wanted and the owner helpful and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, the views and seclusion and the convenience of the nearby village of Calstock. We look forward to seeing you again in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan B
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful relaxing place, an oasis in my busy life.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A lovely secluded place with beautiful views of the Tamar valley within walking distance to local pubs, what more could you want. The accommodation was comfortable and well finished with lots of extra touches that make your stay special. We received a warm and friendly welcome and can't wait to go back. There is loads to see and do nearby but you feel away from it all, ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Smithy and appreciated the accommodation, seclusion and views and the proximity to the village pubs. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of The Smithy. We're delighted you loved its location, the sounds of the birds and sheep and were able to switch off, relax and unwind. We're also pleased to hear you appreciated the hand made soap and fudge! We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StephenE2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Smithy was charming and the location just superb. So quiet with lovely views yet only a short stroll to the village. The dogs loved the woodland walks as well. The cottage was ideal, with loads of character and was well equipped. It was a pleasure to meet Nick and I am sure we will be back in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in The Smithy, the views and location and that your dogs enjoyed their holiday too! We very much hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing