We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Hotel Ichiei(Naniwa)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dotonbori Hotel(Dotombori)
US$137
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3 650)
Filter reviews
3 650 results
Traveller rating
2 065
1 195
252
83
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 065
1 195
252
83
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationkansai airportthe executive loungenamba parksexcellent locationdepartment storeconvenient locationswissotel nankaidirect accesstop floornespresso machineshopping mallhotel lobbywithin walking distancepillow menunamba areabuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 3 650 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and I expected a lot from a Swissotel but from the moment you arrive you feel like you are in a military camp - so many ridiculous rules!
In the first hour of arriving I was ordered to stand in line near reception, saw another guest told to ‘sit down’ and another lady who dared move from the queue at reception to the desk was told “I’m not ready for you yet, I’m still busy. But you can stay there”. Then there’s the ridiculous rule about no child under 6 being able to go to the pool, and then the restricted time a child over 6 can use the pool and then the rule about no using the pool if you have a tattoo and then “wear a swim cap or you can’t swim!” Exhausting for a holidaymaker. Help!!!
The rooms aren’t flash (we had to move rooms 3 times as the smell of tobacco was so overbearing) and then the stained carpets and walls were really unimpressive.
The saving grace from my 24-hours in so far is the breakfast - million dollar views, great food and warm, friendly and professional staff - front of house reception team should take note! Perhaps they can train the reception team on customer service in the hospitality industry.

So much opportunity but they’ve missed the mark severely in a number of areas. Very disappointed overall.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AinsLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Osaka_Mgt, Director of Quality at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AinsLou,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking your time in sharing your feedback. It is with great concerned that I have read your comments and I apologize for the unsatisfactory service you have received. Please rest assured that your comments were shared amongst our teams and we will conduct more trainings on services and attitudes to ensure our guest expectations are met.

I also took note of your remarks pertaining to your experience at our Pürovel Spa & Sport, and I am sorry for the inconvenience you have encountered. The swimming caps are required for safety reasons and tattoo policy are mainly for cultural reasons. All swimming pools, public baths, hot springs and gym facilities have indeed a very strict no-tattoo policy which we need to adhere. But in some cases, we allow certain flexibility and guests who can hide small tattoos with a skin tone tape can access our facilities. However, for much larger tattoos, or the ones that are easily visible, we cannot make exception and we always kindly ask our guests (including our Japanese guests) to refrain entry to our Pürovel Spa & Sport facilities. We feel sorry for the disappointments during your visit and we certainly will look into this issue with in order to find a more flexible solution. Furthermore, we have changed the children usage hour to 9am-18:00pm everyday starting from July 15th.

Despite of your concerns, I am still glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and the service level. I will be sure to pass your compliments to them. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your confidence.

Kind Regards,

Christophe Arts
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived early and were given priority checkin and access to our room at 11.30.
The room was lovely and there was a box of macaroons waiting for us.
We were given free access to all the amazing gym and pool facilities and a requested late check out of 1.30.
Breakfast on the 36th floor was a feast to behold.
Staff were wonderful. A perfect last night in Japan.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Boorowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Osaka_Mgt, Director of Quality at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Boorowa,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor. It’s a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived. Also, your very kind comments prove that we succeeded in offering you high-quality services that met your expectations and we look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel!

Kind Regards,

Christophe Arts
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was Great location is perfect . Though air-con is still a problem as before was not addressed even with commitments to look into it . Hopefully next stay would have different experience.staffs are fantastic very professional, helpful, attentive. Near food shopping all sorts of stores

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Abraham913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Osaka_Mgt, Director of Quality at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Abraham913,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your experience with us. I very much appreciate your positive comment regarding the service level of our team member. We always do our best to provide a memorable time to our guests and i am glad that we met your expectations. I also took note of your remark pertaining to the air-conditioning which have been shared amongst our housekeeping team. We do look forward to welcoming you back for better comfort.

Kind Regards,

Christophe Arts
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Excellence location as the hotel is located on the top the train station directly from airport and close to Shinsaibashi (心齋橋) as well. Also, there is a 6.1 level of earthquake happened when I was stay there and they were provided the updated information as much as the can.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bibi1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Osaka_Mgt, Director of Quality at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Bibi1996,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I am happy to learn that you were able to take advantage of our hotel location, directly on top of the Namba Train and Subway Station which makes it the perfect home base to visit all various fantastic places around Osaka. I also appreciate your compliments about our team members during the earthquake and we are most especially glad that our guests and colleagues were safe. I will make sure to pass you comments to the team and we look forward welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Christophe Arts
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Excellent location with easy access to trains (airport & Koya line) restaurants and shops. Very friendly staff and helpful concierge that help us confirm restaurant bookings. Room is very clean and decent size for Japan.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank M9237GZrebeccal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swissotel_Osaka_Mgt, Director of Quality at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear M9237GZrebeccal,

Thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Nankai Osaka and for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate your kind comments, most especially about our Concierge team which will be an encouragement for them to continue creating unique experience for our valued guests. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again whenever your travel brings you back to Osaka!

Kind Regards,

Christophe Arts
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews