We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Classic-yet affordable

This is not the most sceneic of trains, but many have a timeless feel about them. My first ride was... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2018
Acesilva
,
Osaka, Japan
INTERESTING

The Hankai tram/streetcar itself is very interesting for those interested in the old, outdated... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2016
Bruce T
,
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Read all 110 reviews
  
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
36
61
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
61
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennoji station day pass shrine ride osaka
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This old tramline is a timetrip. Unfortunately the oldest carriages were towed to the scapyard recently. There are several lines. One leads from Tennoji Eki Mae to my favourite Sumiyoshi Jinja in Suminoe-ku. A ticket costs 200 Yen, regardless how many stops you travel.

Date of experience: March 2016
2  Thank Ralf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I went to Ebisucho station of this Hankai Line. The trains are running on the road while the Metro (Subway/ Tube) network are well developed in this Osaka City. I liked this old fashioned train and station in the urban Osaka.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

An old-school tram/streetcar for those who are interested in those kinds of things and an interesting way to get to Sumiyoshi Shrine.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank htodd503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

I like trams, as they're a mode of transportation not available at home, so I was keen to take at least one trip on the Hankai Tramway. I took the Hankai Tramway to get to Sumiyoshi Taisha. The tram station is just outside Tennoji Station, opposite Abeno Harukas (watch for the signs closely). You may use your Icoca card to pay. Get on from the back of the tram and get off at the front, and pay only when leaving. Alternatively, buy a day pass and hop and hop off the tram line for sightseeing. There are 2 lines - the Hankai line (which goes to Hamadera), and the Uemachi line.

What's significant about the Tramway is that it is the only tram system in Osaka and it takes you away from central Osaka. The sights and buildings change along the way, and you get to see another side of Osaka that you cannot see when taking the subway or JR. The apartment buildings are smaller, shorter, and it feels more intimate and less impersonal. In fact, based on other reviews, there's quite a few cute cafes to be tried, all of which are near the tram stations, but unfortunately, I did not have the chance to try them.

The Hankai line enters Sakai - the city famous for knife-making - so if you are a kitchen enthusiast, this is one way to do some sightseeing and buy some excellent knives along the way.

Depending on what you actually want to see, a possible itinerary is: Shitennoji Temple - back to Tennoji station and transfer to Hankai Tramway Uemachi Line - Sumiyoshi Taisha - transfer to Hankai line to Ebisucho station for Shinsekai.

Alternatively, take a whole day out and go tram-hopping (something I wish I did).

For tourists, English maps and routes are available on the Hankai website.

Date of experience: September 2015
10  Thank butterpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews