We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ryozen(Higasiyama)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$177
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 17% below average rates

    The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Hotel Sunline Kyoto Gion Shijo(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
    US$98
    US$91
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    US$77
    US$48
    Rakuten Travel
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Orient Gojozaka(Higasiyama)(Great Value!)
    Free cancellation until 23/07
    US$78
    US$72
    Orbitz.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Kamuroan(Higasiyama)
    US$288
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Ryokan 
    Tamahan(Higasiyama)
    US$399
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Breakfast
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Guest House Yamato(Higasiyama)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Internet
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (2 628)
    Filter reviews
    2 628 results
    Traveller rating
    1 561
    784
    201
    56
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1 561
    784
    201
    56
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumcomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxibeautiful hotelconcierge desktrain stationthe general managertouzan bara short taxi ridewet roomzen gardenken yokoyamatrattoria settedeluxe roomguest rooms
    Filter
    Updating list...
    18 - 23 of 2 628 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    The service part of hotel is 4 stars including front desk, concierge, bartender in bar and people who get taxis and tell driver in Japanese where you are going and restaurant staff.
    However, the property deserves 3 stars. First, breakfast for Hyatt members is discounted to $30+ dollars!!! We just came from Conrad Hilton in Tokyo and their member FREE breakfast is actually better than this one. There’s no pool no jacuzzi. The restaurants and bar are pathetically boring. There’s No vibe and thus not very encouraging!!! It’s a nicely decorated hotel but there’s no lively feeling. They need music!!!!!! They have a geisha in training for 10m but that’s a performance in which a few minutes is good enough. Management need to b a bit more business minded and create energy in hotel bc there is none.
    The room is small and the mattress hard.
    Again we’ve been lucky to get complimentary upgrades for our other hotels but not this one.
    Average property w good service.

    Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank MiloMiami
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    The hotel can be reached via a 700-1000 JPY taxi ride from JR Kyoto. It is also along the #206 inner city bus route which passes several tourist attractions. The Western breakfast buffet selection was limited; whereas the fish from the Japanese set was overcooked on 3 of the 4 occasions we tried it. Dining options around the hotel are limited, with only a Mac and 1-2 Japanese restaurants about 15 mins away.

    • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SINWSSS
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    The staff are lovely and helpful. They couldn't have been better. The rooms are fine, though the step up and down from the shower to the sink area caused some problems in the dark at night and there was no way to leave the area lit without the whole room being lit up. The breakfast service was very poor—quite surprising compared to our other experiences in Japan and unlike the rest of the staff at the hotel. The buffet did not have a very good selection. When we could get the waiter's attention it took a long time for our ordered food to arrive. The tables were not cleaned off properly between guests. The kitchen is open to the dining room which created a problem for one of us who has asthma and found the smoke bothersome. Room service food sat in the halls overnight creating a bad odor. I would try to find a different hotel in Kyoto next time. It might cost more but it would be worth it.

    • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Rebecca K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Hotel is very nice and staff has been fantastic. I must say that the quality of the breakfast is superb compared other local chain hotel. Set in a very quiet environment, the perfect place to relax and recharge.

    • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
    Thank nairmd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Enjoyed a wonderful stay here. Rooms were modern and comfortable. Had a daily Maiko performance followed by a photo taking session. Great touch. The dedication to great service is demonstrated when I requested for early check in 3 hours before check in time, as my Wife was unwell so she could rest. Was informed that the room we booked would not be ready at time of check-in but they will make another room available for her to rest while they get our room ready. Great thoughtfulness for their customers.

    • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
    Thank Tan837
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews