We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hearton Hotel Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Centurion Cabin & Spa Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$223
US$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Check in Shijo Karasuma(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coop Inn Kyoto(Nakagyo)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
228
305
84
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
305
84
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfree laundrythe main streetnishiki marketbig steparound the cornerhigh stepgreat bakerywalking distanceking roomcatholic churchtaxi standhotel entrancesubway stationsmall sizesized bedtozai line
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2015

If you want a clean, good-value hotel that is centrally located to Kyoto's best bars, eateries, shopping, funky backstreets, and walking distance from Gion (where the geishas work), you need to be here.

This budget hotel is about a year old and working well: Reception is 24/7 and the staff speak enough English to deal with most situations (they went out of their way to deal with one of mine that involved rental of a city bike and a credit card issue); place is immaculate; cleaning staff are fast and efficient; convenience store selling all the goodies you want including beer is literally around the corner on the main street.

My 5-star rating is based on relative value for money not luxury. This is NOT a luxury hotel: no breakfast or room service or dining; no pool; rooms are small and for sleeping in between jaunts outside into wonderful old Kyoto. Being a mid-priced place, you don't have to suffer either backpackers on beer busts or grotesque foreign luxury tourists complaining about the chocolates provided when their beds are turned down at night.

Room Tip: 618 was high enough to see in the adjacent temple courtyard and not facing main street; same would apply for the 3 floors above that.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkippyHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgmk2015, フロント at Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Dear Mr./Ms. SkippyHops

Thank you very much for staying with us at HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO.
We appreciate your detailed review on tripadvisor.

As you say, we don't offer any meals but there are many restaurants in walking distance. We can recommend good one anytime you need!
Our hotel was opened last October and we increased number of new rooms in this July.
We are improving our service and equipment to make your stay more comfortable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Thank you.

HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO
Front Desk
Kanae Matsukawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights in the King bed room.
The room was a decent size as was the bed, and also very comfortable! Room was clean, well laid out and we also had a nice view of downtown kyoto. The bathroom was ok, shower over bath with a shower curtain.
The hotel itself its very nice and the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The location is pretty well perfect, its close to everything you need.
Not very close to a jr station but there is a subway line just 2 mins walk from the hotel, one transfer (about 5 mins) and you're at kyoto station.. This was never a problem for us at all.
Overall it was a fantastic stay, I will stay here again without hesitation and definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank staticsteve89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgmk2015, フロント at Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Dear Mr. staticsteve89

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO.
We grealty appreciate your kind review and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is located in convenient place and you can get to most famous tourist spots by bus, subway, and on foot easily!
We have many information for exploring in Kyoto and help you to make a wonderful trip!

We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in near future.
Thank you.

HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO
Front Desk
Kanae Matsukawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We took the economy twin room, the size of the room was alright. The bed was big and comfy. The toilet was clean and new, like the bath tub. There's washer and dryer at the 2nd level of the hotel, free for guest use which was nice. The location of the hotel was not bad too, walking distance to Nikishi Market and many buses nearby to tourist spots. The staff could speak fluent English as well which was good.

Room Tip: non-smoking
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgmk2015, フロント at Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Mr./ Ms. vieon

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your kind review on tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel.

As you said, our hotel is located in downtown and there are many nice restaurants and shops in walking distance. You can get to many tourist spots easily as well by bus and train.
We will make a suggestion to make your trip more wonderful!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Thank you.

HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO
Front Desk
Kanae Matsukawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place - central, clean, excellent location and friendly staff. Room was larger than usual by Japanese standards. Good value at around £50 a night. Highly recommend. Good conveyor belt sushi nearby (on corner a few doors down).

Loved Kyoto - be sure to visit mountain temple and Inari shrine

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank suziec88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgmk2015, フロント at Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Ms. suziec88

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and sharing your kind review on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you could enjoy your stay in Kyoto.

As you say, there is a one of famous sushi restaurant nearby.
You can find many nice Japanese restaurants in Pontocho street as well.(only 5 minutes walk!)

In Autumn, many tourists come to Kyoto and enjoy beautiful red color of leaves.
We hope you will visit Kyoto and stay with us again.

HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO
Front Desk
Kanae Matsukawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Loved this hotel, stayed there for 2 nights. It's just a short walk from the subway, and very well located for local attractions, shrines etc
The staff speak english and are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is just off the street down a smaller road/lane way beside a 7/11, our taxi driver couldn't find it so we have to investigate ourselves.

The hotel is real nice, has free wifi, rooms are modern, clean and have a good bit of space.
Would recomend to friends to stay here.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor for a good view
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgmk2015, フロント at Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear Mr. Dave C

Thank you very much for choosing HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO.
We grealty appreciate your kind review and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel is located in convenient place and you can get to most famous tourist spots by bus, subway, and on foot easily!
We have many information for exploring in Kyoto and help you to make a wonderful trip!

We are looking forward to seeing you and your friends again in near future.

HOTEL GRAN Ms KYOTO
Front Desk
Kanae Matsukawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews